We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #20 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Great Service”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for my little brothers Army Graduation. It was a little farther away from Fort Jackson than others, but it was worth it When we checked in the staff was friendly and very helpful They were able to provide directions to and from Fort Jackson, as well as restaurant recommendations. The rooms were nice and we had no problems with our two rooms. The breakfast was a nice bonus. It was basic, but did the job. It was always stocked and clean. I would recommend this for anyone coming though the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MusicSarah11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapadia, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We want to thank you for staying with us and finding your stay a good one! Even though Fort Jackson s a little further some other hotels, we find that our value and service outranks those hotels closer to the base. Hope to see you again Soon, and we thank your Son/ Daughter for their Service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    162
    66
    27
    21
See reviews for
176
139
56
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moundsville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I just wnat to thank your staff for all that they did for us. The Housekeeping Staff is awesome!!!!
i reaaly appreciate all that you did for me. Rooms were very quiet.and very clean.
Breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Rooms very quiet and very clean.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Hotel Staff was very helpful and friendly HOTEL WAS SAFE. tHE BREAKFAST WAS GREAT.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapadia, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We want to thank you staying with us and finding our hotel a good stay for you! Thanks for sharing your overall views with us and others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

It is bizarre how many positive reviews there are for this place. This is by far the dirtiest hotel in which I have stayed. Yes, it is convenient to I-26, the decor is fine, and even the beds are comfortable - but the layers of dirt along the walls and where the bed meets the carpet, the crumbs and the trash on the floor and in the chair at the desk when we arrive, and, worst of all, the nasty toilet that we had to clean ourselves before using it indicate a pervasive lack of cleanliness missing from the reviews. If we hadn't arrived at midnight exhausted and without other lodging options, we would have fled that dump. In the morning the housekeeping staff did look angry to be at work and as if they hate the guests so it is no surprise that they couldn't care less about making sure the rooms are actually clean. But, the layers and layers of dirt are more about poor management than anything else. This place is comparable to a truck stop motel rather than a newly renovated hotel that values guests and customer service.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank fire100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapadia, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
I am sorry that you found our hotel, and your stay less than pleasant. It would of been nice to have you mention your displeasure prior to your departure so that we would have had the opportunity to fix perhaps what we fell short of.
We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Tim Fields
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubert, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Was a great place to stay. Outstanding! Clean rooms, great comfortable beds the bomb. The nicest rooms I have stayed in in years. Wish I would have had time to stay longer and used the pool. Management and staff are so kind

Room Tip: higher floors was nice.
See more room tips
Green Features: green leaders silver level, The best I have seen in years so comfortable
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapadia, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We are happy that you found our hotel a great place to stay. Outstanding! Clean rooms, great comfortable beds the bomb. The nicest rooms I have stayed in in years. Management and staff are so kind.

Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Where to start? Hotel looks half decent from the front, but the rooms are terrible. Old, dated furniture, sticky carpet, dark bathroom, noisy AC unit, dried 'things' on wall, peeling paint and dirty handles, no liner in ice bucket (with melted ice), no cups for coffee and the 'piece de restistance' a brown stain on my face flannel - possible skid-mark?

Only place I have ever stayed, where I left without a shower - that can wait til I get home.

Avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapadia, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We want to first say thanks for staying with us! Secondly we want to apologize for the shortcomings you have informed us while here. We understand that as a traveler each person will have expectations of their hotel. We can defend what you felt or how you felt of us, but we can apologize.

Thanks for staying and sharing your particular hotel stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My trip to South Carolina was the first I've done alone. Just like you, yes you reading this now; I went to Tripadvisor for reviews of places in the area. Clearly I went with this one. The reviews did not disappoint me.

(If this is too long, just scroll to the bottom for the recap. Haha)

Of everything I will review, there was one, itty bitty downside. I honestly over looked this because it wasn't important to me. But to others it could be. Some of the structure and furniture could stand for small update. It's honestly nothing horrible. A few scuffs on the tub, spots on the carpet, a scuff on the wall, and the fabric on the ottoman for the chair was tearing slightly. (This was just in my room, 104) The rest of the hotel was just fine.

Now! To what I would love to review. :)

-Staff: 5 stars. The staff courtesy started before I even arrived. I needed to change my check in/out dates, and they were more than accommodating to help me.(I wish I got all the staffs' names to better praise them. :( ) I arrived a half hour early for check in and the woman at the desk allowed me to check in early. She also helped me with locating different places around town as well, VERY helpful. The cleaning staff was very courteous when the "Do not disturb sign" was out. (Trust me, I've been to places where they just barge in regardless if the sign is out or not). They also made my check out easy and painless. :D

-Room: 4.5 stars. The room was fantastic. I'm rating as such for two reasons. One, the Very mild damages, and the sink placement. It wasn't actually in the bathroom, which confused me. It was just across from the bathroom door. Nothing wrong, just the first time I've seen it done that way. Haha. Otherwise, it was comfortable. The beds, oh my goodness. They are so comfortable, better than my bed back home. Plenty of places to put things. Nice TV with enough channels to browse through. Great internet as well. It did get a little buggy my last day there, but a lot of people had also checked in that day as well, and could be reason for the slow speeds.

-Location: 5 stars. Since I was here for personal reasons, I didn't really venture out to do activities around town. But it was in good location to a variety of fast foods, as well as nice sit down places. There's a Walmart Super center about 3 miles down Bush River rd if you need a few necessities. Right off the interstate, but I could never hear the cars. That's a plus!

--- RECAP ---
Friendly, helpful staff. Wonderful beds. In a good location right off the interstate.
You're going to love staying here. I will most definitely be staying here again next time I visit the area.

-Guest in Rm104

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinkieChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapadia, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We are glad to see that you a fantastic stay but most of all glad that were able to share with others. We try our best to ensure a great stay for all of guests while also making sure that service is always most important. We hope to see you again here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We normally stop in Walterboro, but decided to drive farther on this trip. We called a few hotels in Columbia, but didn't make a reservation. We drove to the first hotel that seemed very isolated and run down from the outside so wet just turned around. We were going to the next hotel when we thought we would try the Comfort Inn because we have stayed at the one in Walterboro but it doesn't allow pets.
The front desk clerk was very friendly and courteous. The room was clean and had a fridge, coffee maker and microwave. I never sleep well in hotels so I can't really rate the beds. You enter the rooms from inside the hotel.
There was a funny odder in the hallway but we couldn't smell it in the room. The continental breakfast the next morning was pretty good by my standards because the last hotel I stayed at just had individually wrapped mini danish rolls.
This breakfast had coffee, cereal, muffins, cinnamon swirl bread, mini bagels, waffles you pour yourself, eggs, sausage patties, gravy, biscuits, juice, yogurt, hard boiled eggs. It makes the price of the room not as bad when you consider the breakfast.
The next morning the we encountered another very helpful and friendly desk clerk(could have been a manager for all I know)
The room came to $108 and change. This included taxes and $15 per dog($30).
I don't think I've ever paid that much for a hotel room(I know some people will think I'm crazy, but I'm cheap by nature) but when you have pets and want a nice hotel at the same time, sometimes you have to pay more.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Columbia. We will most likely stay there again when we travel north.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Candylady2m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapadia, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you taking the time to respond through tripadvisor, giving us your feedback as to how your stay went. We are so very happy that you had many good experiences while here and hope you share those expeeinces with ohters. We hope to see you again here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn & Suites
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia North East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Harbison Boulevard
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn at Bush River Road
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites at Harbison
Comfort Suites at Harbison
#29 of 94 in Columbia
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 911 Bush River Road, Columbia, SC 29210 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Columbia
#11 Business Hotel in Columbia
#18 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn of Columbia is located just off I-26 at exit 108A with easy access to I-20, I-126 and I-77. Minutes from downtown Columbia and the Columbia Metropolitan Airport. This pet-friendly hotel is brimming with many excellent amenities including a free Comfort Sunshine breakfast featuring hot Belgian waffles, free wireless Internet access, free USA Today, 24-hour coffee and tea service, airport shuttle, exercise room, seasonal outdoor pool, business center and banquet/meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Columbia
Comfort Inn Columbia
Columbia Comfort Inn
Columbia Days Inn
Days Inn Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing