We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel More Than Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This place was immaculately clean so much so that you could smell this upon entering the hotel. The room had new granite was clean, no musty smells in carpet, or on curtain lining in bathroom. They have placed money into the rooms with nice bedding, choice of pillow firm or soft, nice leather sofa, and plasma screen tv. The free continental breakfast will do, if you want a more substantial meal their are many conveniently located local restaurants near. The value for the money was definitely worth it. This was one of the best places I have been in a while, the work out room and business center were nice and well kept areas. There was a pool on the premise too cold to swim. Aneece very pleasant and accomodating especially since I have allergies to dust mold, and mildew which are usually very prevalent in hotels. The halls smelled almost of lacquer which meant to me that they doors and halls had either been recently varnished or wiped down. Cons train track right behind property, but it was no major deal was not disturbed by noise, well lit, comfortable and cozy property. One of the best Holiday Inn chains I have ever stayed in. I was thoroughly impressed, they also use bath and body works product in the room, and also offer a facial cleansing cloth to remove makeup, quite impressive. Wonderful property, would definitely stay again! The staff were totally accomodating even providing a map for restaurants in the area as we were there enjoying a wonderful jazz concert! This visit to the Hilton made it all worth it! Beds very comfortable, definitely a must go!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micki2271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiex C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay! We work hard to provide a clean and tidy hotel for your arrival and thank you for noticing all of the small details we attend to. Our beds and pillows are highly complimented and a guest favorite for sure. We are conveniently located several blocks from the Vista area restaurant district so there are plenty of options available for all meal types and appetities. Thank you for the compliments to our staff and housekeeping services as well, we are glad that your room was to your satisfaction and that the train did not disturb you. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again when you return to Columbia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed at 5 star hotels that were not as nice and friendly as this hotel. Great location , friendly staff and excellent value for your money Could not believe the front desk woman multi tasking and making it look easy and fun Will be staying here again when I am in the area I travel a lot and I am not easy to impress. This was the first hotel I have ever given a five star rating to Thank You for making a last minute trip amazing

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiex C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you Lisa R for the great review and rating! We are excited to hear we are your first hotel to receive a 5 star rating. The front desk staff thanks you for the kind remarks and comments you supplied. They work hard to make every guest stay enjoyable. We look forward to having you back again. Have a safe holiday travel and great new year!

Cera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I needed two nights lodging in Columbia within a short distance of the University. The Holiday Inn Express was fine, nothing special, nothing wrong. The breakfast wasn't great, the eggs tasted peculiar and everything, EVERYTHING, was served in throwaway plastic. But, the surroundings were pleasant and the staff was very accommodating. Under similar circumstances, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VermontMoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiex C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us while you were here visiting the University. We are sorry to hear that the scrambled eggs were not to your liking and will look into this. In reference to everything being served in throwaway plastic I am assuming this is reference to the plastic silverware, plates and cups. Holiday Inn Expresses provide these items to be disposable to accommodate to all guest so those who are in a rush in the early morning may take the items on the go. We hope you have safe travels for the holiday and come back again soon.

Cera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at this Holiday Inn for the second time in two years for the Florida/USC game yesterday. The last time was only for a short night when we were driving from Florida to Maryland and we only stayed for like 5 hours so I didn't feel like I had enough information to leave a review, but this time the hotel impressed us so much I felt I had to!
We arrived at the hotel on Friday and got checked in quickly, even though there were lots of people waiting to check in the two people working the front desk worked through the line quickly and still made us feel welcome and not rushed. It was nice! We also got a map of the bars and restraunts nearby and had a great dinner at "Blue Marlin".
Saturday was what we really came for and we made sure to get up and out to the football stadium early before the traffic! This is where we were really impressed by the hotel - jennifer at the front desk gave us a map to the stadium and showed us where would be cheapest to park and where the police would have the traffic blocked after the game - it was so helpful! We had a great time and loved all the local tips
We did have two small problems but they weren't crazy- we requested a late checkout today since we were tired fromt he game but we couldn't get one. We had lunch plans though so we just took our luggage with us instead. Also the room next to us was kind of loud after the game but everyone was having fun so it didn't really bother us! Great weekend overall!

Room Tip: The king rooms are huge for an express hotel and the showers are especially nice. Ask for a parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiex C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review!! I am glad to see you are a repeat customer with our hotel!! I am glad to hear that the front desk staff made you feel welcomed and got you checked into the hotel in a quick manner still. We understand football weekends are busy and do our best to assist everyone. We are happy to hear you had a good check in experience and enjoyed your dinner choice. We are glad to know you enjoyed our local tips regarding parking and the maps of the traffic flow patterns we provide. We want everyone in town to be able to be able to navigate through town during the football game time. I have let Jennifer know she was a great help to you and thank you for the wonderful comments! We try to provide late check outs when we have the availability however football weekends do not provide us with this accommodation due to the high demand. The front desk is always happy to hold luggage for guest though so please always feel free to ask us! If you ever have a noisy neighbor please also inform the front desk. We are always happy to assist with noise issues. We are happy that you otherwise enjoyed your stay. We hope you will be coming back again soon! Have a wonderful year!!

Cera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We recently completed a three day stay at this facility and as usual were not disappointed! The facility was a little more dated than others (no room thermostat and a strong "buzz" in the room air control unit) but it was clean and restful! The staff was and usually is the highlight of the stay, especially "Miss Eddie" who runs the breakfast area. What a pleasant and gracious lady. Just some of the reasons we continue to choose to stay at Holiday Inn Express facilities when we can!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiex C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for the review and taking the time out of your day to write us one. We greatly appreciate all reviews from guest! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We are looking to make some updated changes in the hotel so I hope you will get to come back when those are finished to see our new look! I have passed along the comments to the staff and have let Ms. Eddie know you enjoyed her service in the breakfast area. We hope you have a wonderful year and come back to visit us again soon!

Cera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a football weekend to visit our son who recently moved to Columbia, South Carolina. The hotel was full with fans from both teams. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfast area was large enough for the guests and the food options were good. We stayed 3 nights and had no problems with the hotel or the parking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanyonLakeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiex C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

We are happy to hear you had a good visit to Columbia, SC to see your son. I have passed along the kind complements to the front desk staff and have let housekeeping know you enjoyed the rooms. IHG tries to keep a good variety of food items on the breakfast bar and we are always happy to hear that the guest are enjoying the choices. We hope you will be able to come back again soon to visit. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Have a wonderful year!

Cera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Our daughter attends USC in Columbia, so when we stay here we always want to be in the vicinity (considered city center or downtown). We have no real favorite or loyalty since all of the hotels are 2.5 to 3.5 stars in the area. The big names (Sheraton, Hilton, etc. are old buildings without any special reason to pick them). The go to is the new "all suite" type hotels with amenities like Staybridge Suites and the like.
So, like many people who do not have a major preference, we select the best rating (3 star) in the location we like and let HOTWIRE do the work (and the savings).
Recently we were assigned to Holiday Inn Express, which is a typical example of the type I described above. It is well located, simple, clean and ordinary. It is also fairly outdated (no central AC, for example). Still, it is fine.
This review is not so much about giving it a thumbs up or down, but more about our experience in general:
After traveling all the way from West Coast, we arrived (after our daughter picked us up at the local airport) at the hotel about 5:00 local time at the Holiday Inn. The front desk had one employee working, who was dealing with issues including a card swipe room card machine that was inoperable. She also confessed she was a new employee. God knows why she was alone in this situation, and all the more kudos to her. As she attempted to make calls (unanswered to her superiors), it became apparent that this was a big problem. As our line swelled behind us, we spent over 20 minutes trying to check in to no avail. To her credit, she was composed and polite...however, she indicated that we would have to wait while she checked in the other people in line BEFORE she could walk us to our room to let us in manually. Almost amusing, yet irritating. This took at least 60 minutes and then we were given a room key that worked. Luckily, we had no plans that were pressing or this would have been a major issue.

Next, I tried to get a roll away bed sent up to accommodate our college daughter who we were visiting. I was told no problem but later told that they were out of roll aways. OKAY, we sent our daughter back to her apartment for the night but requested (and was promised) a roll away for the next night. Guess what? Next day (even after we reconfirmed), not only was the roll away not delivered, but when I called that afternoon, I was told we were out of luck again. This time, I got upset. The manager on duty agreed to look into it and did come through 45 minutes later, however, charged me $25 for the "courtesy". At first I thought about challenging this miscalculation in customer service, but instead laughed it off and felt appreciative that at least our daughter could at least stay with us for the night.

Bottom Line: Very amateur Customer Service, but not without trying to satisfy AND you get what you pay for. Too bad Columbia does not have better options in general

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trojanking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiex C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your review. I apologize for your experience at the hotel during your stay. The issue with the key reader was a first to our hotel and we apologize to all guest that had to wait for the emergency keys. The managers were walking through the front desk agent how to reset the key reader while one was on the way to the hotel to retreive emergency keys. We have since then gotten this issue fixed. We are pleased that the agent was doing all she could to assist guest while they waited. Being a small limited service hotel there is not always two people on the front desk as you will see at many small service hotels. I do apologize for the front desk agent that first promised a roll away bed. We cannot make guarentees like this due to the demand of roll aways and the limited amount. I am happy they did get one avaiable for you though during your stay. We hope you will continue with the Holiday Inn Express brand and come back again for a new experience. Thank you again for your review and time.

Cera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown

Address: 501 Taylor St, Columbia, SC 29201-2738
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range: £95 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historic District of Downtown Columbia, SC and just minutes away from USC, Finley Park, and Columbia Metropolitan Civic Center. We offer free hot breakfast, free wired and wireless high speed internet, manager reception Mon - Thurs, free local calls, and 32 inch HDTV's in every room! Whether here on business or leisure, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia has what you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Columbia Downtown
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown Hotel Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
Columbia Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing