We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Columbia East
Ranked #59 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

What a dump! For a non smoking room there was a ash tray and so many cig. burns on the counter, sink. Dirt and grime in the corners of the the tub and sink. No bugs thankfully.

No shampoo, towls like sand paper.

I think this is mostly a section 8(monthly renters) hotel. Loud nosies all night, the person/persons staying in the room across have no respect for anyone else staying there. The room next to me would POUND on the wall sometimes( i was sleeping T.V was off)

I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadweazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    15
    8
    4
    22
See reviews for
21
6
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ste Genevieve
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is a bare bones motel by today's standards, but was clean and the staff helped when asked and pleasant about it. They do need to update what their facility offers, such as fitness room, which no longer exist.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We recently stayed here on our way home from Florida, The hotel rooms are very out dated, No in room coffee, old tv's, however staff are very nice, and the hotel is very affordable...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, SC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Bring your own shampoo, hair dryer and some extra money if you want any kind of breakfast and wifi. Rooms are very spartan and very basically furnished. No refrig, no microwave, no coffee maker....nothing except a too-soft bed with 2 lumpy pillows and a chair. No breakfast of any kind...just coffee in the morning. Forget about a newspaper! TV channels are quite limited. TV is old style, small screen tube type.The neighborhood is not very pleasant...on the wrong side of the tracks. I'm here by myself and very glad my wife didn't join me on this golf trip to Columbia. I made a big mistake booking this place. I don't feel very comfortable here.

On the plus side, the front desk staff is pleasant.

That's it! Won't be staying at Motel 6 again!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourpro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed here for my daughters graduation from boot camp, staff was very nice and friendly room was a little small but clean, no problems and I would stay here again, good selection of restaurants close by and also close to fort jackson

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AKyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Va.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

A little hard to find but worth the effort. Great front staff! Friendly with great smiles. I asked for extra pillows, PESTO, got'um! Great price, safe place!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank af13743488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

This was my first stay in a Motel6 and selected solely on the basis of these reviews.

There was absolutely nothing wrong with the room and the staff was great, but I guess I just don't understand the Motel6 value proposition. Absolutely nothing not essential to sleeping for the night is provided. While the base price is great, after you add $3 for internet and $12 breakfast sandwiches and coffee at McDonald's the total cost is equal to or greater than such competitors as Comfort Inns, Days Inns or Super 8, which offer in room fridges and coffee makers along with free internet and usually decent breakfasts.

I would stay here and probably other Motel6 hotels in the future, but I would not seek them out.

On a positive note, the front desk staff were great and the Lizzard's Wicket restaurant next door served good county cooking at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Columbia East - Ft Jackson
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia NE Fort Jackson
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Fort Jackson
Quality Inn Fort Jackson
#55 of 94 in Columbia
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia Two Notch Rd Area
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia North East
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
#24 of 94 in Columbia
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Columbia East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Columbia East

Property: Motel 6 Columbia East
Address: 7541 Nates Road, Columbia, SC 29223
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Columbia East 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Columbia East off Interstate 20 within 10 miles of Ft Jackson, home of Woodrow Wilson, South Carolina State Capital and Governors Mansion. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a nominal fee or enjoy our outdoor pool open May-September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Columbia East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Columbia
Motel 6 Columbia
Columbia Motel 6
Columbia Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing