We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very Tired Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Columbia East
Ranked #59 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Highland, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Very Tired Property”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

The friendly staff was the only upside of this hotel. I had previously never stayed at a Motel 6 and certainly never will again. This property is dirty, dingy and and they nickel and dime everything. No facial tissues and the bedding was blood stained. No shampoo provided but you can vend a miniature bottle for $2.00. Wifi is available but you have to give $2.99 for the password. It is located in a distressed area of Columbia adjacent to an abandoned motel that reminded me of the news coverage from Syria.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nysp3431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    15
    8
    4
    22
See reviews for
21
6
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

I was very impressed with my experience at Motel 6 Columbia East from the front desk/ check in to the overall experience. The friendliness of the front desk personnel made me feel like I was home. the lobby and room was very clean. Thank you very much for a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

This place wasnt great but wasnt the worst...It was on a very dark unlit road past another motel which wasnt very welcoming and when we got there, there were tons of people loitering. I was only checking my mom in here so I felt worried leaving her at first & staying across town for the BTC. But, the hotel staff that night were so friendly and helpful and without question they moved her to the first floor when she said she didnt want to be on the 3rd floor. My mom enjoyed her stay and eventhough Motel 6 as a chain is barebones-the room was clean. The the main hallway smelled like a groudy gym locker but the room smelled ok. It was only $39 a night so it was worth it
My only complaint is that I was kept 5 minutes too long the morning I checked her out trying to get a refund for 1 night. The lady looked at my reciept then my ID and then agrued that my signature on the reciept wasnt the exact same as my ID and kept asking if I had signed it and kept saying I didnt when I told her I had. We were in a hurry to get to the ft jackson graduation, so I didnt appreciate that.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxursoxoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
432 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 551 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed here for one night while attending a BCT graduation at Ft. Jackson. Very clean Motel 6. Personable staff. Well managed and convenient to the Interstate. Much better than most other Motel 6 operations I have used before. Paid $49 with tax.

Soap provided but nothing else. Bring your own shampoo. Vending machines downstairs. Two 'Waffle Houses' within a mile radius.

I would stay here again should the need arise.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

What a dump! For a non smoking room there was a ash tray and so many cig. burns on the counter, sink. Dirt and grime in the corners of the the tub and sink. No bugs thankfully.

No shampoo, towls like sand paper.

I think this is mostly a section 8(monthly renters) hotel. Loud nosies all night, the person/persons staying in the room across have no respect for anyone else staying there. The room next to me would POUND on the wall sometimes( i was sleeping T.V was off)

I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadweazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ste Genevieve
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is a bare bones motel by today's standards, but was clean and the staff helped when asked and pleasant about it. They do need to update what their facility offers, such as fitness room, which no longer exist.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We recently stayed here on our way home from Florida, The hotel rooms are very out dated, No in room coffee, old tv's, however staff are very nice, and the hotel is very affordable...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Columbia East - Ft Jackson
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia NE Fort Jackson
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia Two Notch Rd Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Fort Jackson
Quality Inn Fort Jackson
#55 of 94 in Columbia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
#24 of 94 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia North East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Columbia East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Columbia East

Property: Motel 6 Columbia East
Address: 7541 Nates Road, Columbia, SC 29223
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Columbia East 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Columbia East off Interstate 20 within 10 miles of Ft Jackson, home of Woodrow Wilson, South Carolina State Capital and Governors Mansion. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a nominal fee or enjoy our outdoor pool open May-September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Columbia East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Columbia
Motel 6 Columbia
Columbia Motel 6
Columbia Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing