We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel hell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Columbia East
Ranked #55 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My sister nephew and myself stayed. The night we got there at 1am there were 4 men standing outside talking about drugs. When we got upstairs there was dirt in our bed we had to change all sheets and blankets ourselves. I went down to get coffee the next morning poured my coffee and there was stuff floating in the coffee. Rooms are not even close to be clean. What a terrible experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerzygurl1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

My BFF & I stayed here during our girl's weekend. The staff was nice and helpful. We met a few other people who were staying at the hotel also, and they were very friendly. The hotel is right there by Two-Notch road, where EVERYTHING is, (restaurants, gas stations, the movies, the mall, the hwy). Our room was nice, nothing too fancy, but just right for the price. The only thing that I didn't like was we didn't have a fridge or microwave in our room. But there was a "community" mircrowave on the 1st floor, with the soda, snack, and ice machines. Other than that, I didn't have a problem!!!

Room Tip: Convenient to the main roads of Columbia SC....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyTwiZta_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here a few years ago while attending basic training graduation and decided it would be a good place to stop on our way back from Disney. That was a mistake. 4 years ago we had a nice room that provided a decent night sleep. This past December I got out of the bed, grabbed what pillows I could and slept on the floor. I asked the front desk for a couple extra pillows at check in and was told there were no extras. The TV was not even a flat screen and was some old 19 inch set that was placed on top of what you could call a chest. Seven (7) feet in the air. We were also very afraid to leave the car at night because the place looked like some wierd stuff was going on. We could not wait to leave.

Room Tip: bring extra pillows or find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Quick trip to Columbia, wasnt paying attention to being South Carolina homecoming weekend. Motel located rt off 20 near many rest and things to do. The guest services were very efficient and rooms were clean. I'd stay here on any trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GREATMOPAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

WARNING; this place was full of drug dealers and hookers. It was Masters week and all other hotels were sold out within @ 1 hour radius from Augusta and consequently we were only able to secure a room at this motel 6.
BEWARE; when we pulled into the front entrance there were a number of questionable type of individuals "hanging out". The first encounter was a man who offered me drugs. The second person asked if I needed a "girl friend" and pointed to a group of young women[mostly teenagers] wearing scanty clothing. Yet another person approached and gave me a room number for a party. The police officer standing in the front lobby did not deter these characters and their means of business.
NO SLEEP the halls were swarming with noisy patrons, fights and shouting. This was a nightmare of a place

Room Tip: any respectable person should avoid this place by all means
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

First impression was the party going on outside. A large group of intoxicated thugs running around the lobby screaming about the need for security cause someone just fired 2 shots. 13 hrs of driving, I just paid my $49, clutched the grip on my S&W .40 and proceeded to my room. How bad can it be. Just need sleep. Well, the non smoking room reeked of smoke, the bed was sunk in the middle (bad/old springs?), box spring looked as if some one had an abortion or threw up on two corners, stains on the carpet....I can go on. Regretting my earlier thoughts of just sleeping in a rest area in back seat right now. No vacancies at any hotel in the area. Ugh, please don't make my mistake and drive past exit 74 here in east Columbia.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pbrcoastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The friendly staff was the only upside of this hotel. I had previously never stayed at a Motel 6 and certainly never will again. This property is dirty, dingy and and they nickel and dime everything. No facial tissues and the bedding was blood stained. No shampoo provided but you can vend a miniature bottle for $2.00. Wifi is available but you have to give $2.99 for the password. It is located in a distressed area of Columbia adjacent to an abandoned motel that reminded me of the news coverage from Syria.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nysp3431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Columbia East - Ft Jackson
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Fort Jackson
Quality Inn Fort Jackson
#58 of 93 in Columbia
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia NE Fort Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia North East
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
#21 of 93 in Columbia
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbia Two Notch Rd Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Columbia East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Columbia East

Address: 7541 Nates Rd, Columbia, SC 29223-6294
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range: £41 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Columbia East 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Columbia East off Interstate 20 within 10 miles of Ft Jackson, home of Woodrow Wilson, South Carolina State Capital and Governors Mansion. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a nominal fee or enjoy our outdoor pool open May-September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Columbia East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Columbia
Motel Six Columbia
Columbia Motel 6
Columbia Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing