We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Darius rocks! Vendor doesn't!”

Colonial Life Arena
Ranked #11 of 109 things to do in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Columbia, SC
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Darius rocks! Vendor doesn't!”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Going to Colonial Life for a Darius Rucker concert was great! Venue is nice, seats were great!

However, we were told by the Bojangles folks that they were out of wine. They said the entire arena had sold out of wine. The good news is they were wrong! Around the corner there were lots of stands with assorted drinks - including wine!

SUGGESTION: Let vendors know the true status of what is sold out and what is not.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sciencerules03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    54
    14
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Darius Rucker concert”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This arena is a great venue for a concert. The arena feels a lot smaller than it actually is. Comfortable seats and really good sight lines. The concessions are terribly run by local charities. Putting beer in paper cups is just embarrassing. No good food choices. The suites appear nice but seem limited overall.
This is a really really good campus venue for basketball and concerts but not a true first class arena. Easy entry with limited hassle from security. Parking can be very difficult if you don't arrive early. Great show in a really good venue.
I would definitely drive from Charlotte again to see a show in this venue.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Love watching basketball there”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Watched the University of South Carolina play University of the South Carolina-Upstate in Men's basket ball this past month. The facility is always clean and safe. Go there for any events, you will have a good time!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany Beach, DE
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Wow -- our first time to the Arena & we were definitely "wowed!" We went to a concert -- had front row tickets (even though we learned that front row means the camera man kept blocking our view!!!) -- but the facility was amazing! It certainly is a great place for any function and next time our precious Bill Gaither's Homecoming concert is in town, we'll drive the 10 hours back to Columbia and the Colonial Life Arena !

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great venue, but getting out is difficult”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

It's a great place to see most shows because there are few bad seats. It is clean, well maintained and there is a lot of nearby parking. My only complaint is it is difficult to get out of the arena.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Colonial Life Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing