We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan In Heart Of Columbia”

Lamb's Bread Vegan Cafe
Ranked #48 of 975 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Caribbean
Description: This is located in downtown Columbia. It's good and I would like to review it here.
Restaurant details
Description: This is located in downtown Columbia. It's good and I would like to review it here.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Vegan In Heart Of Columbia”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to Lamb's Bread. First time I had the faux BBQ ribs with steamed kale. They were excellent and I felt very full. The decor is definitely different, but sort of fun. This latest visit I had the BLT sandwich. I am not sure I would recommend it again, did not hate it, but for the money would probably do the ribs again. I got the macaroni and cheese for my side with the BLT. The mac-n-cheese was delicious. It definitely tasted like a sinful comfort food. Will definitely go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank WicketSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
659 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Fun Decor and Good Good-For-You Food”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We were driving from Savannah back to Charleston and were hungry, so we did a search on Yelp for vegan food and drove out of the way to go here. It was worth going out of the way for.

It is described in Trip Advisor as Caribbean. I was thinking it was African. One of the things I really enjoyed was the decor. It seemed like more space was devoted to decor than to tables and it was fun to walk around and enjoy it while we waited for our food (you order at a window and then they bring the food to your table). There are various weavings, like baskets and wall ornaments, carved animals, like giraffes, and a wall full of masks. Very fun.

My wife got a nice kale salad and I got a combination plate with various types of vegetables: red cabbage, collared greens, macaroni salad, squash and sweet potatoes with raisins and lima beans (the beans were a little hard). It was good and good for you. We ordered a couple of vegan cupcakes for dessert: cookies and cream and chocolate with walnut. Both were good.

If you're vegan, or even if not and just want some good for you food, this is a great stop.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamston, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME food and a lot of it!!”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I went to Lamb's Bread and ordered a sampler--the owner found out I had never been there before and insisted on giving me a helping of just about everything on the menu that day! I walked out with two large styrofoam containers filled with AMAZING food for about $13! I would definitely recommend this place--it is worth finding, the food is delicious.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious vegan food in the heart of a meat-centric city”
Reviewed 29 January 2011

This restaurant is small and the exterior is pretty plain, inside the atmosphere is funky, with a lot of locally made art on the walls (much of it for sale) and an Afrocentric theme. The scent of incense and new-age or world music also help to set the scene.

When you enter you can order food at the counter, either to eat in (with table service) or carry out. Service is friendly and welcoming, but the staff is small so it can be a bit slow when the restaurant is busy. They typically have a couple of "faux-meat" or tofu options to choose from each day, along with a variety of vegetable side options. I have yet to to try something I didn't like in 3 years of going there. The collard greens are especially good, as is the sweet potato souffle.

It's a good value for the money--the lunch special is about $8 for either a protein ("faux-meat" or tofu) and 2 veggies or a plate of 4 veggies. Take out portions are especially generous--I can usually make 2 meals out of it!

Drink options include freshly squeezed juices and smoothies, teas and organic soft drinks (don't look for Coke or Pepsi!) There are also a variety of natural/organic health products available (which I have not tried out) including the prominently advertised cosmic colon cleanse...

Overall this place is a hidden gem of Columbia! Most people I talk with have no idea it's here, and it's got delicious, inexpensive and healthy food. Especially for those who don't eat meat, or don't eat much, it's a great option to keep in mind.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TuffTitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLUMBIA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I'm not vegan, but I liked this restaurant a lot.”
Reviewed 2 July 2008

I'm not vegan, but I liked this restaurant a lot.

Helpful?
3 Thank PATRICIA F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Lamb's Bread Vegan Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lamb's Bread Vegan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing