We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place for a date”

Nickelodeon Theatre
Ranked #5 of 21 Fun & Games in Columbia
Attraction details
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun place for a date”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The theatre shows movies you cannot see elsewhere in Columbia in a comfortable environment. The concessions are good and beer/wine are available to take in while you watch a movie. It's a really fun place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    7
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
columbia,sc
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My link to the outside world”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I love, love, love the Nick! Intimate and old-fashioned (there's only ONE movie playing at a time--which means less congestion and no noise or thumping of the surround-sound from another movie), the Nick brings movies to Columbia that other theaters won't. Small-budget, art films that feature Sundance, foreign, and themed festivals are the mainstay of their program. My only wish is that some films would remain longer.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dottiereynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“wish it were larger”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The downside to this is the small theatre and that you can't purchase tickets online. The upside is the variety of movies and you can drink beer in the theatre.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 5pointsbuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A Fun Place For A Date Night”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My wife and I have frequented the Nickelodeon over the years. We recently had a chance to catch an Independent Film at their new location on Main Street. We were very impressed with the beautiful new building. Definitely an improvement over their old location.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lbouknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Shows movies I can't see otherwise in Columbia SC”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Last night I went to the Nickelodeon to see Twelve Years a Slave. There are occasions when the Nickelodeon is the only place in town to see certain movies. New location and new auditorium and new seats. A good experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarionPaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nickelodeon Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Nickelodeon Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing