We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Consistently Good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gourmet Shop Cafe

Gourmet Shop Cafe
Ranked #35 of 965 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always Consistently Good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A trip to the Gourmet Shop is always an experience of casual enjoyment with great wait staff and an easy, but wonderful experience and meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mitten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    53
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
190 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The Gourmet Shop has consistently good food, both dine-in and to go. When I am too busy to sit and eat I buy a croissant and either chicken, tuna or egg salad and make my sandwich later. It is best to get there before 12 noon or after 2pm as it gets very busy during the lunch break and you may have to wait for a few minutes. The shop also offers internationally popular food items, an extensive array of wine, and kitchen equipment. This is a lovely little place tucked away in 5-points. Make sure you have quarters for the meter!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fresh and Delicious Brunch at a Reasonable Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We came hear for brunch on a busy Sunday morning during USC parents weekend. The wait was long but we were able to wander around the retail shop that features uniques gourmet foods and cooking utensils, which I found interesting. My husband and kids entertained themselves by picking on the free food samples on display in the store. When we were seated the server was friendly and knowledgeable. We ordered a variety of breakfast and lunch items -- everything from southern style sausage and grits, to a buttery flaky croissant egg breakfast sandwich served with fresh fruit salad to chicken salad sandwich served with tomatoe soup. Each dish was about $8. While the wait to be seated was long, once we sat and ordered the food was served quickly. All items were made with excellent quality ingredients that were fresh and delicious. I requested ketchup for my egg sandwich but they don't serve ketchup in the restaurant. As an alternate the server brought me a side of their house special "condimento". It was amazing! It was a thick, spicy, tomatoe spread that was out of this world. I am craving it as I write. Next time in SC I will go to the restaurant just for the condimento!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MotherofallMothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Decent Lunch, average service...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stopped here for an early lunch on a very busy Sunday morning in early October. Had never been here before this visit and was surprised how crowded it was. My party of two waited about 15 minutes for a table and was given one of those buzzing pagers to let us know when they were ready for us. When were were seated, the service wasn't the best, maybe they were understaffed, maybe they weren't motivated, who knows. Our drinks (coffee and soda) took about 10 minutes to get back to us and when I asked the waitress a question about the sides, she was less than thrilled to explain where they were listed on the menu to me (sorry, first time here!). I ordered the Turkey Pesto on French Bread with a side of Potato Salad. The sandwich was decent, but the potato salad was very good. The cafe is located in a shop which sells all sorts of cooking gadgets as well as a wine store. I'd probably try this place again the next time I'm in Columbia, but I'd probably pick a different time of day, because I think the crowd may have affected the service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marvingardens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I had a breakfast panini with eggs, bacon and red peppers and a side of cheese grits. Delicious! Hubby had a bowl of grits with sausage and eggs and loved it. A little pricey but service was fast and friendly and the food was tasty. Easy walk from campus.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Remember2Breathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gourmet Shop Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Gourmet Shop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing