We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Top Caliber Museum”

Columbia Museum of Art
Ranked #9 of 109 things to do in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
charleston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Top Caliber Museum”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

First, a confession: I am on the Board of Docents for the Columbia Museum of Art. That being said, I joined the Docent Corps because our Museum is an outstanding asset to our Southern city. The core of the permanent collection is the Frick Collection of Renaissance Art. Having just returned from Italy, and as many churches and museums as I could encourage my husband to attend, we do have a very nice representation. Additionally, we have at least 3 excellent traveling exhibitions per year. Recent shows include: Annie Liebovitz, Japan and the Jazz Age, and The Hudson River School.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank acs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    78
    15
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, sc.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“If you love to see art or "do" art...”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

If you love to see art or "do" art, this is the place. The Museum is not only a lovely place to visit to see the art but also a great place for children or adults to take a class or two. If you have visiting the area, check their website to see what they are offering in the way of classes. If you don't have that much time here, at least go by to check out their excellent exhibits.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bdendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice museum with plenty to see”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

There is free admission to all the permanent exhibits every Sunday and we took advantage of this opportunity to view the entire museum. We spent a little over two and a half very enjoyable hours strolling through this well laid out and lovely museum. Although it is smaller than museums in larger cities the quality of this museum is impressive. If you live in or are visiting Columbia it's definitely worth adding to your list of places to go.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kewaskum, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Musuem / State House”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Museum was fantastic with history & artifacts of the local region. The state House and grounds were very beautiful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful museum, world-class exhibits!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Have been a member and patron of the CMA for many years as it is one of Columbia's premier attractions. The museum is a lovely space and the world-class exhibits are fabulous and exciting. The museum has also become a central figure in the resurgence of life and activity on Main Street and in Columbia, in general, as it is always a main participant and/or host of regular and special festivities-- Arts and Draughts, First Thursdays, ice skating in Dec., it's own Galas and exhibit openings.
CMA has become a generous and vital contributor as a citizen of Columbia, regularly offering free admission and many educational and fun, creative, programs for children and adults.
And the museum shop is a great place to find wonderful original gifts!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CamdenVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Columbia Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing