We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful tour full of History”
Review of Governor's Mansion

Governor's Mansion
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour full of History”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

What a wonderful tour with a guide and we were the only ones that morning! It's a beautiful Mansion with so many intresting treasures in each room. Our guide works there and was very knowledgable which is what made the tour so interesting and enhoyable. I would definately recomend .going here! After the tour you are akkiwed to wander through the gardens for as long as you'd like.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LPMaineVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warrensburg, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic site.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We took a tour of the Governor's mansion. What a fantastic place. Fantastic gardens outside. The tour guide, Christian Green was more than excellent. His knowledge was extremely good and he was very warm, and friendly. I would highly recommend him. The mansion is beautiful and filled with antique treasures and historical artifacts. What a wonderful visit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of a kind. Historical and Southern charm at its best!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

There are 3 houses as I recall on the grounds. Two on the south east corner (standing in front of the mansion) and then the Governor's mansion of course. The Lace house is on the property and is a beautiful old home that you should check out while there. The mansion itself is full of rich history and decor. The history behind the house and items within is so fascinating. You can set up a time for tours online at the states tourism site. There is parking around the mansion that is metered or there are other options near by. It is a neat place to visit if you are into the history or just into seeing a really nice house.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

i took a tour with some of my senior friends from the y we really enjoyed the tour i will tell friends to do this tour. it is a definitely to see.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Loretta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socarolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

They have only occasional tours. It is interesting to see how the Governor's family lives. It's especially nice at Christmas.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank socarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Governor's Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing