We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“AMAZING Ramen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Menkoi Ramen House

Menkoi Ramen House
Ranked #34 of 948 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“AMAZING Ramen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

By far, this is the best Ramen bowl I have ever had. I got the Spicy Ramen and it was fantastic. The yellow noodles were great, the broth was even better and then the boiled egg made it even better. Without a doubt, this is my go to lunch spot when I am in Columbia on business.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,665 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
“Excellent experience-very tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I really liked this place. nice selection of Ramen- quick service and friendly staff make for a wonderful experience. Been to Asia several times and this place brings back the great asian experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jlantern3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“NOT instant ramen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Full flavored broth, tender pork, noodles cooked just right. Yum! My wife was very reluctant to try this but is now a fan.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sciguy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not Your College Dorm Hot Plate Ramen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

A son who lived in Japan for a year is always happy to go to Menkoi when he visits! It may be the only restaurant to which we have taken him where there isn't, according to him, something better somewhere else. We've eaten there several times and though my expertise with chopsticks is laughable the quality and taste of the food is serious! A large bowl of noodles in a delicious broth will leave you filled and at this time of year, even in Columbia, thoroughly warmed!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Great Place for Ramen and just great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I enjoy going to the Ramen House for a quick and good lunch frequently. The service is always good and the food is excellent. You cannot find anything similar in Columbia to what they serve at Ramen House. I highly recommend everything on their menu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Menkoi Ramen House also viewed

 

Been to Menkoi Ramen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing