We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and breakfast charm with exceptional customer service and an over-the-top complimentary breakfast at a great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here one night to attend a concert at the Colonial Life Center. It is a ten or fifteen minute walk to the venue. We did not walk though because it was too cold. The staff at the front desk were very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was one of the best that I have ever seen. There is a cook who is making made-to-order omelets with lots of different filling choices and waffles. Eggs, sausage, bacon, grits, oatmeal, biscuits & gravy, fruit, and pastries are some of the other items on the buffet. Complimentary Starbucks coffee is available in the lobby along with lemonade and water. When we returned to the hotel after the concert, there was a young man mixing drinks in the lobby. They were not complimentary, but I thought it was nice to have this available since the hotel does not have a lounge. The bartender whose last name was Whisenhunt was super nice and even after he was closing down for the evening he made sure to ask the guests who were coming in if they wanted anything before he left. He also made sure to point out the room where breakfast would be served. The man at the front desk was very helpful and provided a list of restaurants & menus that delivered to the hotel. There is ample parking and it is free. We enjoyed our stay here and will definitely return when we are back in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlchesani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

776 - 782 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Our first visit to the Inn at USC was wonderful. The young women at the reception desk made us feel most welcome, and the manager even came over to shake our hands. Our room was clean, nicely decorated, and had a lovely view. Coffee and tea were provided along with a microwave oven and small refrigerator. A complimentary breakfast included made-to-order omelets and waffles, and the creamiest grits we've ever had! We especially appreciated the enclosed parking lot where we were permitted to leave our car after we had checked out so we could walk around the campus. We will most definitely stay at the Inn at USC upon our next visit to Columbia.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our family recently stayed at the USC Wyndham Garden while our high school student son made a campus visit. We found the rooms to be very clean and well kept, beds very comfortable, and a very helpful hotel staff. We were pleasantly surprised to find a full breakfast included as part of the stay. The food was excellent, with made to order omelets, and freshly cut fruit. The dining room staff was courteous and very friendly as well. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Columbia or visiting the University of South Carolina.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Occ-Doc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

After reading all the reviews here I was excited to stay at this property. But now I see many of them were "collected" by the hotel. My experience was different. Front desk was not super friendly. Rooms were only so-so. Beds were made sloppy with sheets pulling off and the bed pad all bunched up under the sheets. Bathroom was not very clean... there was that nasty orange mold/mildew in the corners. Toiletries were cheap and had a horrible smell. Lighting was very lacking throughout, but especially in the bathroom. There was only one over-mirror light fixture and instead of being mounted over the mirror it was up by the ceiling. But the worst part was the pillows. The ONLY option is lumpy, chopped foam pillows. I called to the front desk to ask for feather. They brought up 2 more of the lumpy foam things and without pillow covers on them. I asked again for feather and was told what I had was all they had. Not normal foam - chopped foam, like they have in foam pits. The front desk manager suggested I could use 2 towels in a pillow cover. Really!?!?!?!? Fail.

The only person at this property who seemed to have any concern at all about customer satisfaction was Emerson. I'm not sure what his exact title was but he seemed to serve in every capacity from bellman to guest services. His attitude and professionalism were a welcome respite from the other employees.

On a positive note, the shower had good pressure and each room comes with a refrigerator and microwave.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunnydove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carter D, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at USC Wyndham Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking your time to review the Inn at USC Wyndham Garden. We evaluate every comment to find ways to better serve our guests. First, I’d like to thank-you for your praise of Emerson. He is a full-time USC student and we are proud to have him on our staff. I have addressed all of your housekeeping queries with my housekeeping manager. We pride ourselves on cleanliness here at the Inn, and we work diligently as a team to ensure that our guests walk into a room that is clean, comfortable, and fresh. The mildew that you referred to is actually a cleaning solution that was not thoroughly rinsed out of the tub. I apologize for the unsightly image. The toiletries in our rooms come are purchased directly from Bed, Bath, and Beyond. Their quality has proven to be a positive for us this year, but we will follow up with others if this becomes a new point of emphasis. This is the first complaint we have gotten about our pillows, but we research bedding at least once a year. We have moved away from down pillows because of the number of allergies that our guests have had in the past. We are set to host a rep to come in in the very near future as we have discussed having an alternate pillow available to our guests in lieu of the change. Thank-you for choosing us while in Columbia. We hope to have another chance to impress you one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Tuulia T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Jody G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 93 in Columbia
922 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.6 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#20 of 93 in Columbia
587 reviews
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at USC Wyndham Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at USC Wyndham Garden

Address: 1619 Pendleton St, Columbia, SC 29201-3809 (Formerly Inn at USC)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Columbia
#9 Business Hotel in Columbia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: £105 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at USC Wyndham Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inn at USC Wyndham Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Usc Hotel Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing