We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper thin walls.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Ranked #6 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2007

Accomodation doesn't reflect the high price. At check inn we were told there was a group of scholars staying that night but that we will be placed away from them. We asked for a room where we could sleep. Even though they had many empty rooms that night, they instead got us right under a room where 10 teens were socializing. Front desk wasn't helpful about noises from these teens that went on from 2 am in the morning. They sent a security person but that didn't
help. Noises continued and I walked to front desk a second time. He replied there is nothing they could do. This despite their comfortable-sleep guaranteed statements. We just couldn't sleep. We later realized that we could also hear from our room when the neighbors were using their bathroom. We complaint again during check-out and we were only given a "we are sorry and would you like that to be charge to your credit card?" By the way the carpeting is not good for asthmatics and the hot part of breakfast was very fattenning.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank via180com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm-usc, General Manager at Inn at USC Wyndham Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2010

Thank you for your honest review of our hotel. I assure you that the Inn has taken steps since your stay to assure that we minimize noise from any group. I can assure you that we have trained our staff to handle these types of situations in a better manner. We hope that someday you will allow us to show you our Southern Hospitality in its fullest. We have also increased broadened our breakfast selection to include egg white omelets for those looking to reduce fat consumption. We also have fresh hand cut fruit available as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
There are newer reviews for Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,139 - 1,145 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2007

I booked a room at the Inn at USC for my parents when they visited me in SC.

The positives:
* Very tastefully decorated room
* Great bath products
* Location, location, location (on USC's campus)
* Beautiful art (much of it done by USC artists) and photographs featuring SC places and people
* Super comfortable bed with lots of pillows
* Made to order breakfast (kind of like Embassy Suites)

The negatives:
* Smaller room
* No restuarant or bar service other than the breakfast service

Overall, it was an excellent experience -- highly recommend this hotel to others visiting the USC area.

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank GamecockGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2006

On election day we drove into Columbia without a reservation and wanted to stay downtown and near restaurants. Everything was booked. The desk clerk at the Hampton Inn recommended the Inn at USC and told us it was just a year old. We were a little put off as we drove a few blocks away from the center of town but it turned out to be on campus and a 15 minute walk to Five Points, the area of restaurants in Columbia. We were offered a Queen Double or a King Balcony and chose the Queen because of the lower price. The room was beautifully decorated but a bit small. The bathroom was marble and gleaming, also a bit small but very nice. The whole Inn is non-smoking, which appealed to us. In the lobby, there's a bartender but no bar. We got drinks and sat in the library on a couch before dinner. We were able to walk to dinner at Garibaldi's and had a great meal.

Overall, this hotel was much nicer than what we expected to find. It has some vintage touches, left over from it's previous life as a mansion, yet the place feels new and luxurious. The breakfast was included and was amazing. Made to order omelettes, eggs, bacon, fruit, cereal, etc. etc. all served in a large, comfortable breakfast room. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank FMBSouthender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2006

Can't believe this hotel is not even listed! It has an affiliation with the University of South Carolina and is located downtown in the campus area on Pendleton Street, however, it is open to the public. A part of the Hampton Inn group, however, it is more upscale . Rooms a little larger, appointments better, bathrooms with a touch of luxury. All in all more tastefully done with an individualized attention to detail with matching great service. Lobby very pretty, and a cozy elegant study/library that should be experienced with a drink, served right there!! Breakfast is great-- Real scrambled eggs, fresh, not canned fruit, bacon, sausage, etc and GRITS!!!! A chef (yes, a real chef) prepares omelets and waffles to order. I've stayed in the Vista Hampton Inn rated #1 on this site, and it's nice, but a typical Hampton Inn. The Inn at USC is far superior, and the same price. I'm going to regret this review the next time I try (unsuccessfully) to book a room at the USC Inn!!!!!

7  Thank My2sentsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pfalz-Reisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.7 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
911 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
0.6 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#17 of 94 in Columbia
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at USC Wyndham Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at USC Wyndham Garden

Address: 1619 Pendleton St, Columbia, SC 29201-3809 (Formerly Inn at USC)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Columbia
#9 Business Hotel in Columbia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: £102 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at USC Wyndham Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at USC Wyndham Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Usc Hotel Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing