We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Roach motel--stay clear!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Fort Jackson Maingate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Fort Jackson Maingate
Ranked #60 of 97 Hotels in Columbia
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Roach motel--stay clear!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We traveled here for a sports tournament. Where to begin. We had rooms blocked for our team.
1. I was told on the phone 2 times that we could just show up and no email confirmation or CC hold was necessary. I was hung up on twice by "J". When I informed "J" that I did not want to arrive on Friday, he told me again just show up on Saturday. He informed me that I did not understand the hotel business even though I am a diamond member with another hotel chain. I finally had him send me an email for confirmation for Saturday only. We show up Saturday with confirmation number in had and guess what....the room was given away since we did not show up Friday.
2. We had a live roach in the room. Enough said. Hence the title. Mentioning it to the front desk on check out and their attitude was "who cares." Charged my CC anyways. Since I was in a hurry to get to games on Sunday, I decided to take care of it with Quality Inn corporate later that day. Dirty rooms, stain on the comforters. We slept on air mattresses because I had read the reviews prior to travelling here and was not 100% sure I would have a room after speaking with "J".
3. Breakfast bar was decent, staff servicing the breakfast bar was not. We were down in the lobby at 6:28 AM. Breakfast opened at 6:30. I asked the person if it would be okay to start since we had to be at the field at 7:15 AM. Without looking up from breakfast she dismisses me and says "The sign says 6:30." Wow, now that's what I call Customer Service. We started in line anyways.

A call to Quality Inn to take advantage of their 100% guarantee. The manager was supposed to call me. It has been a week and no response from him. Not that I ever expected it. A letter was supposedly sent, but I have yet to see it. Must be getting here by Pony Express.

Bottom line: Stay clear and pay extra for a "quality" hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soccerdad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    11
    11
    15
See reviews for
17
12
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
100 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

The building, itself, presents very well as does the lobby. It's when you get to the room that the issues begin.
1. There isn't enough light. The roo either needs another lamp or it needs to have the existing walk lamps placed over the beds rather than in between them. The switch for one lamp did not work. When you wanted to turn the lamp on or off, you had to reach behind the TV to get to the plug.
2. The A/C was inadequate to cool the room even at its maximum setting. The air never got to the bed on the far side of the room.
3. The shower curtain bowed way out from the tub with the inevitable results that there was substantial water on the floor after a shower. (the shower was nice and hot though. )
4. The faucet in the sink had a slow drip. It was inaudible but it could not be stopped.
5. The bed linens were good quality and spotless but the towels seemed very skimpy and thin for a property in this price range.
6. The pillows were weird--small, thick, square pillows that were hard to get comfortable with. One was not enough. Two were 1/2 too much.

7. Breakfast was good with a large selection. However, the room was very noisy, including employees talking loudly ( and long) in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobelaine20854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I can honestly say I wouldn't stay here again. I purchased my hotel stay via Hotwire and the approval rating was claimed to be 85% when actually it was 45%....some of the reviews were horrible and we almost simply booked another hotel. Now I wish I would have. May 22ed I called the hotel to see if I could request a non smoking room and no one answered this phone. This was during normal business hours and I called the hotel over a dozen times over an entire afternoon with NO answer. The number Hotwire provided me was actually the wrong number but I had obtained the correct number via the Internet. When I couldn't reach anyone at the front desk I decided to call the corporate number and they confirmed the number i was calling was correct however they were unable to help me. I was discouraged before I even left my home for our trip.

The original room /door card they gave us was 203, so we go to our room and go in and low and behold there was a man sitting in the room.....this was HIS room. They had rented us a room that had already been rented out. We go to the front desk and the young man apologized and gave us a new room but we all found this rather unnerving. Seriously, how does that happen? I was unable to sleep for the longest time that night worried someone would walk into our room while we were asleep. I was also concerned enough about this that I refused to leave any valuables in the room when we were away from the room. We are lucky that the man we walked in on took it all in stride.

I have never been in such a dark hotel room. The room is extremely dark because the wall color and carpet are dark, they should remove the dated boarder and lighten the room with a lighter shade on the walls. Our room has boarder starting to come off the wall, a large gap around the fire extinguisher in the bathroom ceiling that I found sort of disturbing, there was repair made around the iron and that was never painted so that is the first thing you see when you walk in, there was glitter on the floor and what appeared to be orange pop on the wall between the beds. There are some dirt or scuff marks on the walls and they could easily be and should be removed. Places that need touch up paint simply need touched up. We can smell cigarette smoke in the bathroom and this is a non smoking room however the main room does not smell of smoke. The rooms are entered via the outside of the hotel so that lends itself to some potential seedy behavior in my opinion. I'm not picky but when you rent a place you do expect it to beat least clean and safe. The rest is just observation because I am a property manager by trade. We are now assigned to room 325.

My daughter showered after using the restroom and while in the shower the toilet was over flowing unbeknownst to her. It flooded the bathroom and out into the hall. We are now waiting on maintenance. It has now been about one hour and no one has arrived to work on the toilet or get the water up yet. As I type this I have no idea what the outcome will be. We have requested a new room and the young man at the desk said he will check with management.

The pool is currently out of order so we didn't try the pool. We did go down for the free breakfast and that was fine. There is a really nice lady who was working in that area who was willing to help and answer questions. Breakfast was your usual coffee, breads, two cereals, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, hot sausage, eggs and make yourself waffles. We all had a waffle and the breakfast was enough to start our day. I appreciated the coffee and breakfast for sure. There is a microwave, coffee pot, refrigerator and flat screen tv in the room that are all nice. I would be happy to forgo those items for a cleaner room to be honest. (The bed linens and bathroom area were clean and there were shampoo, conditioner and soap in the bathroom)

We are at the front of the hotel and are not disturbed by highway noise however the view is a cemetery, this might be disturbing to some. We are close to the Fort Jackson base, that is the reason for us to be in town so the close proximity is nice. There are fast food restaurants close by and the hotel is right next to a Waffle House.

I really wish we had rented the Holiday Inn Express right next door. We have previously stayed at a Comfort Inn and didn't have these problems. This hotel has the potential to be better I just can't recommend it considering everything I've told you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lala1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Very reasonably priced and honors discount coupons. All the amenities; micro/fridge, hairdryer, iron/board cable & HBO, fitness center & more. Although close to the intersection of I-20 and I-26 it was a quiet sleep location. Attentive staff. Nice breakfast room although the offering is mostly carbs. Although I'm rating this as "average" the price for a double was $50 was was a plus.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
225 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Have stayed here before. This stay was better than the last. The room they gave me this trip was 315. Room was clean and in good shape. Stayed here on a week night. All was quiet.
No problems to complain about.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highmiles61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seneca SC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

While the front desk staff was pleasant that was the best part of this experience! Arriving late in the day, being tired from travel and hungry we didn't check our room closely. Mistake for when we returned from dinner we found the room to be substandard at best! Wall paper coming off the walls, fecal matter on the walls in the bathroom and the list goes on. I guess it is their belief that they don't have to meet standards as they have the Army troops captive and are over charging them greatly. Guess again there is a Sleep Inn less than a block away pay the extra and relax!

Room Tip: Inspect the rooms before you accept them, the bedding is shabby and the pillows a joke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikes351SenecaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

We have stayed here over several years as we have travelled through the area, but won't do so again. The hotel is very worn and in need of attention. The furniture is worn, there were holes in the old and thin comforters, mildew on the shower curtain and a general feeling of disrepair. Because of its dingy appearance it was impossible to tell if the room was clean. The breakfast area was clean and the food was nicely displayed. The front desk staff were efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EeVaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
#45 of 97 in Columbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/Southeast-Ft. Jackson
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Fort Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Fort Jackson Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Fort Jackson Maingate

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Fort Jackson Maingate
Address: 7251 Garners Ferry Rd, Columbia, SC 29209-2181
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 97 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Fort Jackson Maingate 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Ft. Jackson Maingate is conveniently located near Interstate 77, providing easy access to Fort Jackson and Williams-Brice Stadium, home of the University of South Carolina Gamecocks. This Columbia, SC hotel is also close to:South Carolina State Fairgrounds/Williams-Brice StadiumRiverbanks Zoo & Garden South Carolina State Museum Colonial Center multipurpose arena The surrounding area offers many exciting things to do, including hiking and biking trails, golfing, fishing and boating. Nearby shopping centers and restaurants cater to a variety of tastes and budgets.This Columbia, SC hotel offers many fine features and amenities, including:Free Hot breakfast Free coffee Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free local and long distance calls After a busy day, relax on the sundeck and enjoy a refreshing swim in the outdoor pool.Guests traveling on business will welcome additional conveniences like the public computer with Internet access, in-room desks, and access to copy and fax services. A meeting room is available to accommodate up to 25 people for most events and business functions.All well-appointed guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, refrigerators, microwaves, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms include whirlpool bathtubs and sofa sleepers. Non-smoking rooms are also offered.Whether traveling for business or vacationing with the family, the Quality Inn & Suites Ft. Jackson Maingate in Columbia offers you ideal accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Fort Jackson Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Fort Jackson Maingate Hotel Columbia
Quality Inn And Suites Fort Jackson Maingate
Columbia Quality Inn
Quality Inn Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing