We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel: close to many restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Columbia Center
Ranked #8 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Nice new hotel with great bed. suite had fridge, microwave, wet bar and lavazza coffee maker. Room service by Ruth Chris Steakhouse- bar d
Good. Closely lots of dining choices in walking distNce and a star bucks.
Location close to Capitol. Valet expensive for SC overnight
For Columbia at top long with Sheraton

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Folkgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Dear Folkgroupie from Atlanta, Georgia,
Thank you for recognizing our premium Suite room amenities at the Hilton Columbia Center. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Hilton Columbia Center’s prime location which is in within walking distance to our State Capital and right next door to the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. If you do come back to the beautiful city of Columbia, please do not hesitate to ask myself or our team if you need anything to make your stay more enjoyable.
Thank you,

Tony Tam, General Manager, Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

877 - 883 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

Stayed here in August while working on family business. It's probably one of Columbia's top hotels. Perfect for doing business downtown, in The Congaree Vista or in the State Capitol. Easy to find. Overlooks Columbia's revitalized dining and entertainment areas, The Vista. Many views are of the State Capitol. Staff was very efficient and friendly. Parking is in a covered garage with easy access to hotel via elevator. Everything within the hotel is refined and perfect for the business man or woman. Breakfast is available via the adjacent Ruth's Chris Restaurant. Although there are several nearby hotels, many at a lower price, if you want to impress someone, try the Hilton Columbia Center.

Room Tip: Don't skip breakfast at Ruth's Chris Restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRGADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Dear GRGADA from Ada, Ohio,
I greatly appreciate your remarks about the Hilton Columbia Center! We are proud to have upscale accommodations that provide guests with everything they need to feel relaxed and taken care of. Thank you for commenting on the views of beautiful downtown Columbia from our guest rooms. We are very proud of our friendly and well organized staff and appreciate that you noticed. I noticed your flattering comment on our Ruth’s Chris Steak House breakfast and will be sure to pass it along to the restaurant staff. We consider the Hilton Columbia Center a top-notch hotel that goes above and beyond to ensure guests receive exactly what they need. I look forward to having you back to the Hilton Columbia Center in the near future and please let me know if you need assistance with anything during your stay.
Thank you,

Tony Tam, General Manager, Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Clean, good service, nice beds and bedding. Nice lobby and good food.
Would recommend if you have business at USC. Nice neighborhood, easy walk to dining.
I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Thank you for your positive review of our Hilton Columbia Center. I value your comments on the cleanliness and quality service of our hotel. We look forward to your continued business at the Hilton Columbia Center and hope to see you back in the near future.
Thank you,

Tony Tam, General Manager, Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Nice hotel, especially if you are Hilton Honors. Great room, with upscale amenities, free breakfast buffet coupons for Gold and Diamond Honors members. There is a charge for parking, but it is in a garage that is so convenient to the lobby and elevators. I always found a parking place right beside the entrance to the hotel. On a really hot day in SC, the garage helps a bit to keep the inside of your car a little cooler. All of the staff members were friendly and helpful. The view from my room overlooked the Vista area and downtown. Room was clean, quiet and the chaise lounge is a great touch. It made working on my laptop a comfortable experience. I would definitely choose the Hilton again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Road-trip-43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Dear Road-trip from Ohio,
I am delighted to hear that your experience at the Hilton Columbia Center was a memorable one. Thank you for noting our upscale features and our helpful, friendly staff. Gold and Diamond members do receive complimentary breakfast at the Ruth’s Chris Steak House along with many other benefits of being a Hilton Honors member. We strive for top notch guest rooms that are both relaxing and clean and appreciate that you took notice. I look forward to having you back again soon and please let us know if we can do anything to make your stay more enjoyable.
Thank you,

Tony Tam, General Manager, Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed here during a college visit. Pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was. staff
was great, very clean, good value, and had a Ruth/Chris Steak house attached. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfside08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Dear Surfside08 from New Cannon, Connecticut,
I appreciate your wonderful feedback on our Hilton Columbia Center. Thank you for taking note of our helpful Hilton team and superb accommodations. We are proud to feature Ruth’s Chris Steak House on our property that is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Thank you for taking the time to recommend the Hilton Columbia Center and we look forward to having you back again soon.
Thank you,

Tony Tam, General Manager, Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed here for an event on USC campus. Very pleased to have this choice. Convenient to campus & restaurants with a Ruths Chris in the building. Nicely appointed. Attached parking garage is pay only but not outrageous at $10/day for self park. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Dear MsVB from Charlotte,
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Columbia Center and taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate your comment on the prime location of our hotel. We are proud to be located within walking distance of various restaurants and other great attractions nearby. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon and please do not hesitate to ask if you need any assistance next time you are visiting Columbia.
Thank you,

Tony Tam, General Manager, Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We were on a road trip and decided to stop here for the evening. Had I not been so tired, the location of this hotel is great because of the night life around. We had dinner at Ruth's Chris which is attached to hotel and our food was fantastic. The next morning we went to the workout center which was not a huge area but worked just fine for what we needed. Our room service was less than exciting but overall i thought this hotel had a great staff and the rooms were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kruezers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear kruezers from Prior Lake, Minnesota,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Columbia Center to stay at during your travels. Ruth’s Chris is known for its fantastic food and we are happy to have this option as a key feature for our guests. I appreciate your comment on our wonderful staff and relaxing rooms as we pride ourselves on giving our guests high quality services. If you are ever traveling through Columbia again, I hope to have you back to our Hilton Columbia Center again!

Thank you,
Tony Tam, General Manager-Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.5 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#22 of 93 in Columbia
594 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Staybridge Suites Columbia
#10 of 93 in Columbia
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Columbia Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbia Center

Address: 924 Senate St, Columbia, SC 29201-3158
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Columbia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#14 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: £104 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Columbia Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant in atmosphere and striking in detail, the Hilton® Columbia Center is ideally located in the center of the financial, entertainment and historic district. Our hotel provides a spacious haven for business and leisure travelers coming to Columbia, South Carolina. Enjoy our graceful combination of historical architectural elements with modern facilities, chic design, and Southern hospitality....Hilton-style. We feature 222 signature guestrooms and suites including 2 Presidential Suites, 12 Executive Suites, and 3 Junior Suites - all surprisingly spacious and inviting. Each of our guestrooms and suites was decorated with warm rich earth tones and elegant dark woods, floor-to-ceiling windows to entice business travelers and vacationers alike. We offer all the amenities needed to ensure an unforgettable experience each time you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Columbia Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing