We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Columbia Center
Ranked #9 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We found this gem of a hotel when searching for a last minute hotel while on a road trip. I called and booked the reservation so easily thanks to being a Hilton Honors member. From the staff who helped book the room to the staff who greeted us-including the parking staff, all could not have been more kind and attentive.
Our room what a wonderful, comfortable oasis. The beds were perfect, clean and lots of wonderful pillows. Great TV. The bathroom and its complimentary supplies were splendid.
For breakfast we went to the Ruth Chris restaurant for a nice buffet breakfast. It was perhaps a bit "stuffy", but suited our needs.
There are many nearby restaursnts that are within walking distance.
We will definately return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allioop123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Allioop123 from Fort Lauderdale,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and let our wonderful team take care of you. If we can do anything to make a future visit to Columbia more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Thank you for your business and thank you for the 5 STAR review!!!!

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

685 - 691 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. Excellent (although pricey) food available in-house with additional excellent eateries within walking distance. Located in the Vista region of Columbia.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Margaret F from Mount Carmel,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. I am so happy you found the hotel very clean and the staff to be very friendly. Those two items are the two things that our hotel is most popular for! If we can do anything to make a future visit to Columbia more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Excellent location and very excellent desk staff. They went out of their way to be helpful. We'll probably return again just to unwind. Good restaurants and bars are easily within walking distance. Also, the hotel is nice and has easy parking. No complaints with this Hilton and I'm selective.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear CindyDean from Cincinnati,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. I'm so glad you had no complaints on your visit--this is what we strive for!!!

Most appreciative on the 5 stars!!!!

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Checked in for NYE/wedding anniversary. First room had filthy bathroom. Offered HHonors points and different room. Second room had bathroom only slightly less nasty. My wife and I stuck it out, not wanting to spend our anniversary getaway playing musical rooms. Instead we spent it wondering if the sheets and pillowcases were fresh. Front desk staff was very apologetic and tried their best, but their housekeeping team let them down...big time. Hospitality starts with housekeeping.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kristel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Kristel M from Lexington,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. First I would like to reassure you that your visit was not typical of the Hilton. I would like to extend you another invitation to come back and experience the award-winning Hilton Columbia Center.

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Staff seemed a bit overwhelmed with events of the night. Shower door didn't function properly, off bottom slide. No cups and no coffee in coffee service area New Years morning?!! Really?!! Informed front desk, still no coffee after 20 minutes. I stay at Hilton properties often and on the whole they are good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear James J from Greer,

Thank you for your recent review of the HIlton Columbia Center. I apologize that the complimentary coffee and tea service in the lobby was not replenished in an acceptable time frame---we sincerely apologize. On your next visit, please also utilize the coffee service we have in every guest room, plus the additional coffee set-up in our restaurant in the lobby of the hotel. We look forward to your next visit to Columbia.

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We arrived at the property around noon on Friday, Jan 3, not expecting a room to be available. Not only was the room available, but they had upgraded us to a junior suite overlooking the South Carolina Capitol building. Nice touch. Reception took the time to show us a map of the area with the vast amounts of restaurants, bars and shopping around the hotel. This is a good location if you don't mind getting off I-26 for about five miles. We are in route to our winter home in New Smyrna Beach, FL, and usually pick an Interstate hotel for the overnight.

All the normal amenities of a business center Hilton were present including a Ruth's Chris Restaurant off the lobby. More on that in a separate review under Columbia restaurants on TA.

There were a couple of issues with the suite that had just been renovated. The AC rattled and the painters had failed to plug in one of the two TV's. The engineering staff had all up and running in about fifteen minutes.

The only item that dropped this property one star was the full breakfast buffet. We arrived at 7 AM, the opening time. After being shown a seat (the buffet takes place in the Ruth's Chris space) I asked for tomato juice for the wife that was not on the buffet. After we got back to our seats a nice glass of warm tomato juice sat at her place. That was about the only thing that was warm. The food service style scrambled eggs were room temperature as were all of the remaining "hot" items. It would have been worth the $10 per person if the temperatures were correct, but that was not the case.

All in all a good stay and if we are back in Columbia I would stay here again, especially if a get a nice suite for $113.00.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Batonwaver from Cosby,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. If we can do anything to make a future visit to Columbia more enjoyable, please let us know!

Happy New Year!

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I typically stay at Hampton Inn's but thought I would upgrade with my Hilton Honors Points for New Year's Eve. I was REALLY disappointed that our window view was a brick wall and I was shocked to see how beat up the walls were in our room. There were black scuff marks allover which made it feel kind of dirty. The beds and pillows were awesome. I really loved the products offered in the room. I guess my expectations were just a little too high. I also thought the parking fees were a bit ridiculous. The staff was very nice.

Room Tip: Request a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Christina L from Eastover,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. I am so sorry your view outside your guest room window was not what you expected. We will definitely make sure you have a great view of the downtown area on your next visit. Please let us know if we can do anything to make a future visit to Columbia more enjoyable.

Happy New Year!

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.5 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#23 of 93 in Columbia
594 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Columbia Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbia Center

Address: 924 Senate St, Columbia, SC 29201-3158
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Columbia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#14 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: £104 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Columbia Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant in atmosphere and striking in detail, the Hilton® Columbia Center is ideally located in the center of the financial, entertainment and historic district. Our hotel provides a spacious haven for business and leisure travelers coming to Columbia, South Carolina. Enjoy our graceful combination of historical architectural elements with modern facilities, chic design, and Southern hospitality....Hilton-style. We feature 222 signature guestrooms and suites including 2 Presidential Suites, 12 Executive Suites, and 3 Junior Suites - all surprisingly spacious and inviting. Each of our guestrooms and suites was decorated with warm rich earth tones and elegant dark woods, floor-to-ceiling windows to entice business travelers and vacationers alike. We offer all the amenities needed to ensure an unforgettable experience each time you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Columbia Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing