We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The devil is in the details ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Columbia Center
Ranked #10 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The devil is in the details ”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Hilton Columbia Center for a quick 36 hour trip including 2 nights. This hotel is in a very vibrant area with many convenient restaurants and bars and walkable access to USC. All this activity does make a 11:30pm arrival on Friday night a bit tricky, and I was thrilled that there was a nice big parking lot next to the hotel. Unfortunately, there is no clear signage on that lot (belongs to USC alumni) and I had to move my car into the parking garage...which I will say is very convenient and offers easy access to the hotel. My check in was quick and efficient, but when I arrived at my rather large and beautifully appointed king room, every single light was on and every drawer and cabinet was wide open. Very odd, and somewhat irritating to finish someone else's job. The bed was incredibly comfortable with lovely pillows and a fluffy duvet, but the pull on the curtains and the shower doors were broken, the fan on the heater ran loudly and I was unable to change the temperature, and the coffee maker was set in a location where it can't actually be plugged in. Would I stay here again? Interestingly, yes. I would just plan to arrive earlier, request a different room, and stay longer to enjoy the area.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank rvdh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear rvd04 from Milwaukee,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. I am so glad that you found our location and bed to be great. Yes, we are located in most vibrant and exciting part of Columbia--the Historic Vista. Thank you for recognizing the ease of our attached parking garage to the hotel.

I do sincerely apologize for the confusion of the parking with the private lot next door, I will make sure our bell staff and valet staff inform guests better at check-in time.

If we can do anything to make a future visit to Columbia more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager---Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    221
    81
    29
    19
See reviews for
219
137
50
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before and really like it's location in downtown Columbia, SC. All Service is first class here as everyone from Valet, Bell Hops, Front Desk, to Housekeeping Staff are very friendly and sincere. Rooms are very large, clean and desks are set up for business people with lots of technology. We got in late so had dinner at the Ruth's Chris Steak House which is in the lobby here. Ruth's Chris was Excellent for both dinner and breakfast. I have stayed here before and will continue to stay at this facility when coming to Columbia. It's first class!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Michael D from Naples,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. Thank you for being a repeat guest and loving our location and staff. I will definitely relay your comments to the entire staff of their very sincere and friendly customer service. We are definitely first class as you said in your comments and with First Class guests like yourself, we will continue to provide great service and world-class accommodations. If we can do anything to make a future visit to Columbia more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know. Thank you for your repeat stay and Thank you for the 5 STARS!!!!!!

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batesburg, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed at the Hilton for Valentine's Night in 2014 and were very impressed with the facility, staff, and the overall accommodations. The walking distance to many great places to eat, drink and socialize was perfect. I was impressed with the cleanliness of this hotel. We also had breakfast the next morning at the restaurant and it was excellent. We will be back in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Hubert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Hubert F from Batesburg,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. We are so glad you had a grab stay and celebrate at the hotel. If we can do anything to make a future visit more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Thank you again and Thank you for the FIVE STAR review!!

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Hotel did not meet expectations. Bathroom needs maintenance around the sink and tub (granite back-splash falling down) large damage area to the drywall around tub and hair along base boards near toilet. Asked for two extra pillows through the online request form and upon arrival the two extra pillows were not in the room. Called front desk and they did not bring them (stated they forgot to tell house keeping) Valet attendant was extremely rude and lacked any professionalism.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Charles B from Beufort,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit to Columbia.








I am sorry to hear of the maintenance related issue you had during your stay. We appreciate you letting us know and those items have been corrected. If we can do anything to make a future visit to Columbia more enjoyable please let us know

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Upon entry to the room i was appalled that the toilet had not obviously been cleaned. The seat was heavily soiled. My thought was, "what if it had not been so obvious yet wasn't cleaned between guests?" And I also thought, "what if I would have sat down without looking? Ewww." You just assume its sanitary. Makes me wonder if the paper and in the old days that stated "sanitized for your protection" wasn't a stellar idea! I had to request twice that they come and clean it. Didn't seem to be a priority. That aside its a very standard Hilton, nothing special. Great location nestled between the vista and USC. $12 to park. In contrast the Courtyard just off campus never charges platinum members to park in their garage even though website says there's a fee. Frankly I don't think they charge anyone, doesn't seem to be a system in place for that. It's definitely a good cheaper alternative to this Hilton.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tlatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear tlatte from Cincinnati, Ohio,

Thank you for the recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. Our everyday mission is to make sure all of our guests are taking care of and enjoy a great experience. We are conveniently located near the University of South Carolina.






I am sorry to hear that there were some shortcomings with you overnight stay. Your experience is definitely not the norm for our hotel--which has won numerous local, state, and national accolades. We would most definitely like to make this stay up to you.




Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belpre, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Enjoyed our stay following the winter storm. The staff and internet access were very helpful in seeing what activities were available in the area. Valet parking attendants were also very helpful. Having the Ruth Chris Steakhouse in the hotel is very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Nicolas R from Belpre,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. We are so glad you enjoyed the staff and the great internet access. I will make sure the entire team is relayed your message. If we can do anything to make a future visit to Columbia more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely and Thank you for the 5 STARS!!!

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Nice location, helpful staff who are very friendly. Rooms are clean and quiet. The check-in was quick. Rooms service was good as was the food. The only issue was the $50. fee for our pet dog, a little expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank MAperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear abbyMa from MA,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. We are so glad you found our nice location and helpful staff to be very friendly. Thank you for commenting on our nice clean and quiet rooms. I would most definitely agree with you that room service is just as good as the food.

In regards to the $50 pet fee, after each guest we have in the hotel with a pet, we shampoo and clean the carpet. In addition to the carpet cleaning, we supply a pet bowl (food and water) plus a pet bed for use during the stay. I hope this clears up what is being used with the fee.

Thank you again for the great review and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Tony Tam--General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.7 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#16 of 94 in Columbia
553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Columbia Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbia Center

Property: Hilton Columbia Center
Address: 924 Senate St, Columbia, SC 29201-3158
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#12 Family Hotel in Columbia
#14 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Columbia Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant in atmosphere and striking in detail, the Hilton® Columbia Center is ideally located in the center of the financial, entertainment and historic district. Our hotel provides a spacious haven for business and leisure travelers coming to Columbia, South Carolina. Enjoy our graceful combination of historical architectural elements with modern facilities, chic design, and Southern hospitality....Hilton-style. We feature 222 signature guestrooms and suites including 2 Presidential Suites, 12 Executive Suites, and 3 Junior Suites - all surprisingly spacious and inviting. Each of our guestrooms and suites was decorated with warm rich earth tones and elegant dark woods, floor-to-ceiling windows to entice business travelers and vacationers alike. We offer all the amenities needed to ensure an unforgettable experience each time you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Columbia Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing