We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Hilton Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Columbia Center
Ranked #10 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
nowhere
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not up to Hilton Standards”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

When I first arrived at this hotel I was impressed with the area, the surround places to eat, the front desk staff, and the appearance. Then I arrived in my room which was fiarly nice but these folks take shortcuts on the basics. It appears that this is a tired, old hotel that needs renovations. The lamp on the desk in the room is MISSING a switch. You have to turn the light on and off by plugging it in and out. The lamp between the beds has a broken switch, the toilet seat is broken. It's the little things that make a difference and these are so easy to fix. But they weren't. Was told there was complimentary water already in the room - NOT! Certainly not up to Hilton standards. I'll bet the Hampton just down the street is better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear John Z from nowhere,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. I am so glad you were impressed with the hotel and the area surrounding the hotel. We are very proud to be the only AAA 4-diamond property and Tripadvisor winner for multiple years running in Columbia, South Carolina.









From your review looks like you had trouble finding the light switch on the desk lamp, there is an on/off switch at the base of the lamp right next to the USB outlet on the desk---it's more of a convenience feature for business travelers much different than a traditional desk lamp you would find at home---I'm sorry you had trouble locating it. The switch for the lamp between the beds is a 3-way switch meaning that the first turn--the right light comes on, the second turn--the left light comes on, and the 3rd turn both lights illuminate. Again, sorry that it's not a feature that one would find at home.

On the waters, there are 2 complimentary 16 ounce bottles of water placed in every guest bathroom of the hotel. Sometimes people mistake those for "paid for" waters, but we would never charge a guest extra for bottles of water. In addition to the 2 in every guest room, our staff knows to deliver as much bottle water to every guests as they desire.

We look forward to serving you again soon!

Thank you

Tony Tam--General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    228
    82
    31
    19
See reviews for
234
142
51
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were treated very well by all the employees, the room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. We would stay here again if in the area. The girls at the front desk greeted us each time we came or went by they we all very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Brenda J from Gainesville,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. I am so happy that you were very happy with your accommodations and the service of the staff. Our goal is to provide our guests the best customer experience in Columbia, South Carolina. We look forward to serving you and your guests again soon.

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

One of my favorite places to stay in Columbia! The staff was very friendly, our room was beautiful and incredibly comfortable, and the pool was amazing (probably my favorite feature)! I will always recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Columbia.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank key_je81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear key_je81 from Atlanta, GA,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. I will definitely pass along all of your great and awesome comments on our staff, rooms. and outdoor heated pool area. We all look forward to hosting you again soon in Columbia. Thank you for your business and thank you for your 5 STAR REVIEW!!!!!!!

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel was centrally located and surrounded by tons of bars and restaurants within walking distance! Really enjoyed the in house bar and pool area. Tin Roof was conveniently located right across the street, for music and dancing. Would definitely recommend this hotel and city to a leisure traveler.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank 479williamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear 479williamc,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. We are so happy you were very pleased with your stay. If we can do anything to make a future visit to Columbia more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know. Thank you for your business and thank you for the 5 STAR Review!!!!

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This past weekend we stayed here at this Hilton. The Hotel itself is beautiful however our rooms closet had mildew/ Mold in closet. We arrived rather late around 11 pm for our granddaughters high school graduation the next morning at 8 am. I just hung the clothes in the closet and did not notice the mold. The next morning when I pulled the clothes out for us to wear, I immediately noticed the smell that attached itself to our clothes. The really bad part of this is that we had our 1 year old granddaughter with us in the room. I reported it to front desk and they showed no concern at all, There was also tile coming off the wall in the bathroom and the wall paper was pulled loose Not what I am use to with the HILTON BRAND as I am a member. Room was 610 -Stayed on May30th

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike91656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Mike91656 from Atlanta,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. We appreciate all of our Honors members and their comments. I hope it goes without saying, anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable, we are glad to do it.











Seems like there may have been some maintenance issues in your suite. We want all of our guests to be satisfied, we don't achieve top 5% service in all of Hilton Hotels worldwide without living by this philosophy. If there is an opportune time, we would love to speak with you at 803-744-7800 to discuss your visit. Thank you again and we look to hear from you soon!!!

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a beautiful, convenient hotel in downtown Columbia. The staff is extraordinarily helpful. I had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend this hotel. It is perfectly located in the Vista area, with great restaurants nearby and the convention center across the street. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank 999dallass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear 999dallass,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. I am elated that you had a wonderful stay and thought the staff was extraordinary! We are very proud of our facility and look forward to hosting you and your family again in the near future. Thank you for your business and thank you for the 5 STAR REVIEW!!!!!

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our second stay here on our way to Florida, great 1/2 point from Charleston WV. They gave us a super room on a high floor at the end of the hall, nice & quite. The staff are top notch and well trained, greeting us as Diamond members with 2 bottles of water.

The breakfast is great as it's held in the Ruth's Chris steakhouse which is on site. The only complaint we have is what we are finding in a few Hilton's as of late (and even Waldorf's), which is the HVAC system. The fans give an very audible "clunk" when they shut off & on or go from low to high, It will wake you from a dead sleep at times. We heard this during our 1st stay here so figured it was just in need of repair, but then again in a totally different room.

Aside from this, we love this place!

Room Tip: Bring Earplugs for a sound machine for the clunky fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertBreedlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear RobertBreedlove,

Thank you for taking the time recently to write a review on the Hilton Columbia Center. I appreciate you commenting on our well-trained and top notch staff! If we can do anything to make a future visit to Columbia more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know. Thank you for stopping in Columbia and Thank you for the 5 STAR REVIEW!!!!!

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.7 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.5 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#16 of 94 in Columbia
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Columbia Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbia Center

Property: Hilton Columbia Center
Address: 924 Senate St, Columbia, SC 29201-3158
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Columbia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#14 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Columbia Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant in atmosphere and striking in detail, the Hilton® Columbia Center is ideally located in the center of the financial, entertainment and historic district. Our hotel provides a spacious haven for business and leisure travelers coming to Columbia, South Carolina. Enjoy our graceful combination of historical architectural elements with modern facilities, chic design, and Southern hospitality....Hilton-style. We feature 222 signature guestrooms and suites including 2 Presidential Suites, 12 Executive Suites, and 3 Junior Suites - all surprisingly spacious and inviting. Each of our guestrooms and suites was decorated with warm rich earth tones and elegant dark woods, floor-to-ceiling windows to entice business travelers and vacationers alike. We offer all the amenities needed to ensure an unforgettable experience each time you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Columbia Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing