We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest hotels in Columbia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Columbia Center
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We are frequent visitors to Columbia and have stayed in many different hotels. Probably the best feature of this hotel is its location in the Vista, which gives you easy access to lots of restaurants and bars and a short drive or relatively easy walk to the USC campus. The hotel offers adjacent garage parking which is almost essential to the busy Vista location. You do get charged for daily parking, but your room key gets you unlimited in and out access to the garage. It would be nice if the stay included a breakfast buffet, but at least there is coffee in the lobby and Starbucks and several breakfast places are within a few blocks walk. There's a Ruth's Chris in the hotel (that we did not visit, but seemed to be pretty popular). Beds are comfy, the room was quiet, and the bathroom had nice amenities. It's a good place to stay if you are attending something at the convention center, doing business in Columbia, or visiting USC.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Anita T from North Potomac Maryland,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. So many great things about your review that I am greatly for. I agree that our hotel is definitely one of the nicest in Columbia and did you know the only hotel in Columbia that is AAA 4 diamond rated--the highest rating in the City. If we can do anything to make sure your next visit to Columbia more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

We greatly appreciate your great review and THE 5 STAR RATING!!!!

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

I was at this Hotel for a weekend wedding in July and not realizing that this property is "pet friendly". There were many dogs there this weekend and many of them were using the bathroom in the lobby, as their owners were trying to walk them outside. The hotel staff was trying to clean it up, but many folks were walking through it before it could be cleaned. I was told that all the animals were on the second floor but I was on the top floor and heard dogs barking at night. Another of the guest on my floor said his room spelled like dog urine. When I made my reservation I was not asked if I had a pet, so there is NO WAY they put all of these folks with pets on the second floor. If possible I will not stay at another "pet friendly" hotel. I was there for 2 nights and spend almost $500, but I will not be back at this hotel.

Room Tip: Do NOT get on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PVTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear PVTiger from Easley, South Carolina,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. The Hilton Columbia Center hotel boasts an ideal location in the Congaree Vista district, Columbia’s bustling financial and entertainment hub. Discover historic architecture and elegant rooms at this stylish and sophisticated hotel in Columbia, SC. Within walking distance of Columbia's lively shops, restaurants and entertainment, this hotel is adjacent to the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center and close to the historic University of South Carolina.

The Hilton Columbia Center offers a stylish setting for a special event at our AAA Four Diamond hotel. Host a meeting in one of the meeting rooms or executive boardrooms, or celebrate a special occasion in the elegant ballroom. This Columbia hotel offers a desirable space for professional business meetings, lively gala dinners and fairytale weddings, right in the heart of Columbia's thriving Vista.

Enjoy Southern cuisine at Ruth's Chris Steak House restaurant or unwind with a perfectly mixed cocktail at Ruth's Chris Bar. Relax by the outdoor pool and swim laps while watching the sun set. Enjoy a rejuvenating workout in the 24-hour fitness center or retire to a comfortable guest room with room service at this pet-friendly hotel in Columbia, SC.

I apologize that you did not realize that our property was a pet friendly hotel. We have not had prior instances where pets were misbehaving since we opened and I am assure that your incident was isolated and an anomaly. If we can do anything to make your next visit to Columbia more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here for one night traveling from Florida to Fontana Dam. The hotel is in a good location and we were able to walk to dinner. They have self-parking in the hotel garage that's very convenient and I think that was about $11. They also have valet service, but that was a lot more expensive, so we chose to self-park since it was so convenient. The rooms are nice and spacious. The hotel staff was very courteous and helpful with suggestions for a restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jtwo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear jtwo73,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay along with all the great comments in your review. If we can do anything to make your next visit even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The quality of service in both the hotel and dining room were outstanding. Clean, comfortable room, great amenities, fabulous food! Well worth the rate. Close to everything - within walking distance of lots of nice restaurants and bars. Would definitely stay again for business or just a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Jan H from Charleston,

Thank you for your recent awesome review of the Hilton Columbia Center. I am in total agreement, that our service ad quality are outstanding!! If we can do anything to make your next visit even better, please do not hesitate to let us know.

We appreciate your business and THANK YOU FOR THE 5 STAR RATING!!!

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We've stayed at this Hilton multiple times over my daughter's 4 years at USC. This visit was to drop of my son for his freshman year. The desk staff as always was excellent. When we entered the room the bathroom floor had been cleaned with some product that left it as slippery as a sheet of glass. I cleaned it myself with water and a towel but someone literally could have sustained an injury. We found beer caps and cobwebs behind the night table looking for an outlet. The carpet downstairs could use replacing. We stay here because the location is great for dining in The Vista but overall this is a bit below the Hilton standard.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank 821josephc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear 821josephc,

Thank you for your recent review of the HIlton Columbia and your 4th visit!! I agree with you the staff is totally excellent. The Hilton Columbia Center hotel boasts an ideal location in the Congaree Vista district, Columbia’s bustling financial and entertainment hub. Discover historic architecture and elegant rooms at this stylish and sophisticated hotel in Columbia, SC. Within walking distance of Columbia's lively shops, restaurants and entertainment, this hotel is adjacent to the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center and close to the historic University of South Carolina.

The Hilton Columbia Center offers a stylish setting for a special event at our AAA Four Diamond hotel. Host a meeting in one of the meeting rooms or executive boardrooms, or celebrate a special occasion in the elegant ballroom. This Columbia hotel offers a desirable space for professional business meetings, lively gala dinners and fairytale weddings, right in the heart of Columbia's thriving Vista.

Enjoy Southern cuisine at Ruth's Chris Steak House restaurant or unwind with a perfectly mixed cocktail at Ruth's Chris Bar. Relax by the outdoor pool and swim laps while watching the sun set. Enjoy a rejuvenating workout in the 24-hour fitness center or retire to a comfortable guest room with room service at this pet-friendly hotel in Columbia, SC.

If we can do anything to make your next visit to Columbia even better, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great location with Ruth's Chris restaurant on premises. Other great food options in walking distance including Five Guys.
Staff was great, room comfortable, bath stocked with high end toiletries. Close to USC.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank golfrkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear golfrkb from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. Your title says it all, A Very Nice Hotel!!!. I am so glad your thought the staff, guest room, and amenities were excellent. If we can do anything to make your next visit even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

If the rates are comparable you are far better off in the Hilton than in the Hampton around the corner Rooms fairly nice, great customer service, convenient parking, Ruth Chris in the lobby, excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytam, General Manager at Hilton Columbia Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Paul K from Atlanta,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Columbia Center. I am so happy to loved the room, service, food, and great accommodations. If we can do anything to make your next visit even better, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Tony Tam, General Manager--Hilton Columbia Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.7 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#20 of 93 in Columbia
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Columbia Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbia Center

Address: 924 Senate Street, Columbia, SC 29201-3158
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#12 Family Hotel in Columbia
#14 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: £111 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Columbia Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant in atmosphere and striking in detail, the Hilton® Columbia Center is ideally located in the center of the financial, entertainment and historic district. Our hotel provides a spacious haven for business and leisure travelers coming to Columbia, South Carolina. Enjoy our graceful combination of historical architectural elements with modern facilities, chic design, and Southern hospitality....Hilton-style. We feature 222 signature guestrooms and suites including 2 Presidential Suites, 12 Executive Suites, and 3 Junior Suites - all surprisingly spacious and inviting. Each of our guestrooms and suites was decorated with warm rich earth tones and elegant dark woods, floor-to-ceiling windows to entice business travelers and vacationers alike. We offer all the amenities needed to ensure an unforgettable experience each time you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Columbia Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing