We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect portions at good prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gervais & Vine

Gervais & Vine
Reserve with OpenTable
Gervais & Vine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #112 of 962 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Wine Bar, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leesvillle, SC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Perfect portions at good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Dined there for my birthday with my husband -- we don't do tapas that often so I was ready for a change. This place has a very good casual atmosphere and location, right down town in the "Vista". We dined inside -- I liked the padded bench seating in the side / upstairs area. Neither of us eat a lot and quite often we split meals. With tapas, we are able to order the right amount and the prices are reasonable. The food was excellent! I had the Gambas Shrimp - cooked in a pan with a tomatoey sauce with a kick, but not so much your mouth is set on fire. Also had parmesan garlic fries -- this was also very good. The last thing we ordered was a filet mignon -- cooked perfectly tender and tasted wonderful! I had two types of wine, both suggested by the waitress and both to my liking. I liked the fact that you could choose a 2.5 ounce or a 5 ounce glass. My husband had the spicey margarita -- quite different with a good measure of heat; good cocktail that you don't see just anywhere. Overall the service was fine although it took a little longer to get the check and finalize the bill than we'd like but I would definitely dine here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AvidTravellerFromSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    54
    17
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, informal atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is a good place to have a glass of wine and enjoy some tapas. The atmosphere is informal and the food is good. In nice weather, my wife and I enjoy sitting outside on the patio. We like the small portions and high quality preparation. The scallops probably are our favorite dish. On weekends, the restaurant can get busy and one sometimes must wait for a table. But come early, relax and enjoy a glass of wine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rcovington4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Took my son for lunch. Had a terrific meatloaf sandwich and he had the Spanish tapas. Great service and wonderful food!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Management, Service, Dining Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Never go to this restaurant if you expect good service, especially if they are busy, which every restauranteur desires. I have been in the busines for over 30 years and owned my own 180 seat full service restaurant, and if my staff and management had been like that at Gervais and VIne, I would have been out of business and washing dishes today.
The food is good, very good, but the service horrendous, the dishes came out to our party of 6 incomplete and the last of the tapas arrived 25 minutes after the first. The management was unresponsive and only said it was busy. I highly place this on the list of not to go places in Columbia Sc

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Love!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband and I love coming here, its a great place to get a bottle of amazing wine and great food and just sit and relax!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gervais & Vine also viewed

 

Been to Gervais & Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing