We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Sushi I Have Had in a Long Time”

Inakaya Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #89 of 974 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best Sushi I Have Had in a Long Time”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Of all places, Columbia, SC, who would ever imagine that you would find Sushi this fresh, creative and overall delicious.

I was in town on a business trip and just happened to stumble on this restaurant. I used to live in Tokyo and consider myself a bit of a snob when it comes to sushi. The chef here is from Osaka and is quite entertaining. The sashimi was fresh and well presented, and all of the rolls were to die for. I would love to go back with a large crowd so that I can order a wider variety and taste more rolls.

A must if you are in the area. Note this place is located in a strip center that is about 50% occupied, but don't let that stop you!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    14
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fresh fish, great sushi!”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Just went with my husband for the first time and let's just say it won't be the last. We had the tuna sashimi, eel roll, spicy tuna roll, crunchy roll, Philadelphia roll and dynamite roll and they were all fresh and delicious. Our waitress was very sweet and attentive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovepink823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Sashimi I've Had”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

My wife and I eat here often. We are advid sashimi eaters, and Inakaya is the best we have found - in Columbia, SC, in South Carolina, and in the United States. We travel often and far, and we are always a bit disappointed by other Sushi restaurants. Their fish is extremely fresh and the presentation is always top notch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeS0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbia SC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Don't Go if Inakaya is Short-Staffed!!”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My family ate at Inakaya last evening; we've eaten there about once a month over the last ten or more years. Last evening might have been the last time. After we ordered and our food was delivered, our waitress disappeared and we couldn't get service. I wanted to order more pork for the soup I had ordered for dinner since it only came with three thin slices; I made do with a big bowl of noodles and cabbage. I couldn't get my tea refilled, and I hadn't been brought water. My husband wanted an order of unagi after he ate his sushi dinner, and we had no one to ask.

When we finally got the attention of a waitress from a few tables away, she came to our table, and demanded "What do you want?" in a harsh manner. We asked for our waitress. She still didn't show up. A waiter finally came and we just asked for our check. I asked if our waitress had died, and he responded that she was serving a big party across the restaurant.

Inakaya is a drive across the city for us. We have a good restaurant for sushi much closer, where I plan to go in the future.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maryjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best sushi/sashimi in town”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

I love eating at this restaurant! The servers and sushi pros are very helpful and friendly. I had sashimi last night and the fish just melts in your mouth and the raw scallops were so sweet. Making my mouth water :) the tempura is also very good. If you like tofu, agadashi tofu is yummy. I highly recommend this restaurant if you are a local of visiting from out of town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nahbi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inakaya Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Inakaya Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing