We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Customer Service by Cedric!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #40 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Customer Service by Cedric!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have been traveling to Columbia, SC on business for 7 months and have stayed at the hotel 4 days a week during my trips. What made me keep coming back to the hotel, besides the great location and heavenly beds, is knowing that I would be always welcomed by Cedric at the Club Lounge. Cedric welcomes you to the Club Lounge as though you are coming home or as his most welcomed family members. He has a refined touch of elegance evident in everything he does - from picking out the right plates for your food to generously checking in on you to make sure you have tasted the food, that it didn't get cold (if it did, he makes sure he goes and warms it up for you!) and often has a little surprise up his sleeve. Full of life, friendly, always positive and with a smile on his face, Cedric is Sheraton's gem. Thank you Cedric for making my stay at the Sheraton an experience! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeTransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. It brings us great joy to hear your feedback about our staff and club lounge experience. We take great pride in having such hospitable staff and will make sure to pass along your praise. We know that having friendly, familiar staff always makes frequent out of town travel more accomodating. Thank you for your business and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    191
    97
    47
    31
See reviews for
93
138
52
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

my husband booked us a room here for a night and it was great. very historic building and in a great location, walking distance from tons of restaurants and bars. the staff was friendly, they also gave us a free drink voucher for the bar ' the vault' down in the lobby. i will definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeleemodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your recent response on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your accomodations while staying at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel. We take great pride in our hospitable staff as well as our unique boutique style property. Thank you for you business and we look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We wanted to stay somewhere close to the University of South Carolina for a college visit. It was a great location. It was a fully restored older hotel. Very historic. Loved the room finishing and restored wooden floors. Water pressure was very low in the morning. Other than that, was a great stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors reduce noise from streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel. We are a renovated bank building and celebrated our 100 year building anniversary last year. We are very proud of our unique boutique style property. Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel and we look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I were delighted with every aspect of our stay at the Sheraton Columbia. The 100-year-old former bank building is absolutely charming! Our suite was comfortable and sunny with large windows, hardwood floors, and 3 televisions!

The food in the club lounge was very good, but the service from Cedric was outstanding. He is an ambassador for Charleston and for Sheraton!

We found the location ideal for getting to and from The Masters Tournament in Augusta--a one hour direct shot on I-20 with no traffic to speak of on the weekend.

We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKIZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel. We strive for our guests ultimate satisfaction and are truly proud of the experience our staff provided you. Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel and we look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
242 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed just one night and wish it could have been more! The service was great, the rooftop bar was so much fun ( forgot to go down to the vault!). Bed was comfortable and they even offered to bring in a small refrigerator for us! The bathroom had a flat screen TV in it, I think a first for us! But the best of all was the SPG lounge! Free glasses a wine and instead of small appetizers, it really was a small meal! Perfect! with incredible mashed potatoes, full salad and chicken breasts! The breakfast in the morning (complimentary for SPG members, was so tasty with scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon and bagels. We will definitely come back and invite friends too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marylou72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel. We strive for our guests ultimate satisfaction and are truly proud of the experience our staff provided you. Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel and we look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have just spent 4 days at the Sheraton Hotel in Columbia. We travel every week with our jobs, 3 of us with 3 rooms, and always check in with a certain amount of skepticism. The Sheraton Hotel in Columbia exceeded every expectation. On check in we were given complimentary club lounge access, there is free wifi in all guest rooms and the staff worked tirelessly to help with every query we raised. Between us we were on floors 8 and 9, we all had recently renovated rooms, two of us had a TV in the bathroom and a jacuzzi baths. We will be back for the Msters next year and shall be staying here again. Thanks for a great stay we can't fault you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firth1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Staff, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor. It brings us great joy to hear that your expectations were surpassed while staying here at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel. We take great pride in our guest's satisfaction and will certainly praise our staff for you wonderful remarks. Thank you for your business and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, MD
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

From checkin to morning breakfast everyone was accommodating in this comfortable and historic hotel. Charming restored old bank building is located in the heart of the city and within minutes of University of South Carolina. Great stay both times we have been in town!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samergler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your recent response on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear about your accomodating stay. We pride ourselves on our customer satisfaction and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your return business and we look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.4 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.1 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#16 of 94 in Columbia
566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloft Columbia Downtown
Aloft Columbia Downtown
#28 of 94 in Columbia
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Address: 1400 Main St, Columbia, SC 29201-2806
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated hotel is 1.3 miles from the South Carolina State Museum and 3.1 miles from Riverbanks Zoo. Modern rooms and suites with vaulted ceilings and hardwood floors offer free WiFi, desks with ergonomic chairs, flat-screen TVs and coffeemakers. Some rooms add whirlpool tubs. Club rooms provide access to a lounge with complimentary breakfast and evening appetizers. There's a restaurant that serves breakfast and dinner, a trendy martini bar in a historic bank vault, and a hip rooftop lounge/bar. Full service Starbucks Reserve store in the lower lobby with fireplace and lounge chairs. Additional amenities include a 24/7 business center and a fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing