We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival the tone was definitely set for the relaxing and fun weekend I planned for my boyfriend and I. The hotel was immaculate with a lot of warmth and character. The staff was extremely courteous and professional. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The location was within walking distance of entertainment and restaurants which made our stay all the more fun. Other than the valet service being a little slow we really have no complaints. We will stay again and again. It was definitely more than we expected!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank scflare88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

I've stayed at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel on numerous occasions, and plan to return next time I'm in town.

The staff is friendly and helpful - always ready with a warm greeting. Cedric, the major domo for the Priority Club, is the king of Southern Hospitality and has great recommendations for dining downtown. The food at POSH, the mezzanine level restaurant, was stellar during my last stay - the short ribs were incredibly good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Although the 16th floor was under renovation during my 2 weeks stay, I was able to enjoy my breakfast & à la carte dinner on the mezzanine open space area. There, I met CEDRIC which has welcomed me as one of his VIP guests, took very good care of me, behaved like a professional concierge, and was always available way after his daily working hours.
I strongly recommend you to meet him during your stay at the Sheraton downtown Columbia.

Room Tip: The roof top is on the 17th floor but there's only one lift which goes there. So if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mehdi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Staff, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and our temporary club lounge accomodations. We are anticipating our club lounge to be back in order on the 16th floor by the end of August. We have been very appreciative of our club lounge attendant offering such service during this transistion. Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel and we look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Sheraton Columbia is housed in a former bank. Upon entering the lobby you immediately notice the large vault door standing open to the right of the reception desk. You can enter the vault to enjoy a martini at the bar.

Because it is an old bank building, the layout of the guest floors is a bit unusual but the rooms are comfortable and outfitted in typical Sheraton fashion. We are frequent Starwood guests and my only criticism is that such an historic building should have been decorated with something other than the standard Sheraton decor package.

We only stayed one night and the breakfast service was well presented and pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BarryV954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Staff, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the unique charm of our boutique style hotel and encountered delightful service. Of course, we are a Starwood property and must be compliant of room decor. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights during my daughter's orientation at University of South Carolina. Overall I had an enjoyable stay, and the location was a easy walk to the campus. However, the building is older with dark hallways, elevators and lobby. The TV in the bathroom was nice, if not practical. The breakfast buffet was enjoyable and convenient.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Staff, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel. I would like to address your perception of our dark hallways. We will look into the lighting brightness on our floors to see if there is a change that needs to be made. Thank you for your business and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at Sheraton when we went to visit Congaree NP.
It is a nice hotel, mostly for business travelers.
Room are clean, medium sized, with restored old wood floors.
Staff are very good, always in good mood and helpful.
Hotel lobby is different and interesting with a big bank vault.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carmo_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Staff, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback about our stay. We are a renovated bank builiding which makes us extremely unique in the hotel Columbia market. We appreciate you business and look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Sheraton Columbia's service keeps getting better and better, with a few minor adjustments, it could be top notch. The bar has been raised with Cedric in the club lounge. Cedric should teach classes to all of us in the service industry. Now, with the addition of Chef Rick, the food is delicious. Yes, they now charge 6.00 for wine in the lounge, but it's worth the price. Matt at the front desk was very nice. Valet is still slow and expensive, engineering never fixed 3 broken items that I told the front desk about twice, and the rooms are little worn. All that is trumped by the quality of service and pride from the employees.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Staff, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that your customer service experience is getting better. We are excited to work with our staff and train them with the southern hospitality that the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel expects. We will address the issues with our maintenance and front desk staff in reference the the issues you experienced. Thank you for your business and we look forward to you return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.1 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#23 of 93 in Columbia
594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#8 of 93 in Columbia
951 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloft Columbia Downtown
Aloft Columbia Downtown
#19 of 93 in Columbia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
0.6 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel

Address: 1400 Main St, Columbia, SC 29201-2806
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: £110 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated hotel is 1.3 miles from the South Carolina State Museum and 3.1 miles from Riverbanks Zoo. Modern rooms and suites with vaulted ceilings and hardwood floors offer free WiFi, desks with ergonomic chairs, flat-screen TVs and coffeemakers. Some rooms add whirlpool tubs. Club rooms provide access to a lounge with complimentary breakfast and evening appetizers. There's a restaurant that serves breakfast and dinner, a trendy martini bar in a historic bank vault, and a hip rooftop lounge/bar. Full service Starbucks Reserve store in the lower lobby with fireplace and lounge chairs. Additional amenities include a 24/7 business center and a fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing