We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If We Lived Local - We'd Be Here Every Night”

Pawleys Front Porch
Ranked #17 of 974 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“If We Lived Local - We'd Be Here Every Night”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

On Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives it was said that this place is cheap because it's a college town. Inexpensive is an understatement. We had 2 burgers and a soda, tax & tip for less than $25!

Love the set up - huge front porch that you can only get to through the inside of the restaurant, yet it's outside dining with a roof and it's lined up to the sidewalk. The inside is opened, but set up in a way that it appears there are only 3 or 4 tables in your section. In other words, it's large, but appears very small. The bar is viewable from wherever you are.

The service was really, really friendly, quick and attentive! Hubby had the Rockville (Swiss & Mushrooms) and I had just a regular, plain, basic burger with Sweet Potato Fries and of course an order of Onion Rings. The burgers were perfectly seasoned and right on the mark for temperature. The Rings were the greatest ever. The batter was unique - crunchy, sweet(ish), tasteful on a perfectly sized ring. EVERYONE should make their rings this way ... the best!

Just one tip for visitors. We were approached by no less than 3 separate pan handlers while walking to and from the restaurant to our car .... in their parking lot! Maybe it was the out-of-state plates, maybe just a fluke. But it did make us feel uncomfortable. Of course, this is not the restaurants fault, and we are not holding it against them.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NorJon713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    199
    97
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
237 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Burger”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Love local spots and this is it. Down home employees who give great service. I sat at the bar solo and received great service from the bartender who seemed to be working extremely hard. Get that man some help. He still came through delivering great service. The burger was great. Had the Wadmalaw ( I guess thats how you spell it). Fried pickle chips, bacon and bbq sauce... mannnnnnnnnn

Helpful?
Thank geepd36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Southern Cooking!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We went because it was on "Diner's Drive-ins and Dive" and it was great. We had Fried pickles for the first time ever and loved them. I had a Fried Green Tomato BLT and all I can say is WOW. You can't eat like this everyday, but it was a real treat!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best burgers in Columbia, for sure!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was my second trip to Pawley's and I loved it all over again! The Caw Caw Creek with its homemade pimento cheese and freshly bread & buttered fried green tomato is perfection on a pretzel bun! This we went on a weekend so I tried their Bloody Mary, which was on special. I'd never had an olive in a Bloody Mary, but it was divine! All in all, this is a must-stop while in Columbia!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginnynotjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Key Lime Pie”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Best Fish Tacos in the state !! Got a different burger every time we ate at Pawley's. Sweet Potato Fries and Key Lime Pie - too good to miss. Great menu, fresh food, reasonable prices, good vibes. For a down home burger joint - this is a place you need to try, It's in Five Points so parking is iffy, but keep looking - you'll find a spot and the food is definitely worth the effort.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank USCmom427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pawleys Front Porch also viewed

 

Been to Pawleys Front Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing