We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gamecock basketball weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest
Ranked #17 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    311
    194
    90
    55
See reviews for
422
170
72
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

very convenient on major highway and easy access to both downtown and the Gamecocks football stadium. excellent breakfast buffet and very friendly staff to supply driving directions needed. rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike I, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Stan,
Thank you for taking the time to give some feedback on your stay at the Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia. We appreciate your business and are happy that you had an enjoyable experience with us. Hope to see you the next time you travel to Columbia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graniteville, SC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I only live about 45 minutes from this hotel, but I had things going on in Columbia for a couple days in a row and decided I'd rather sleep in town than drive back and forth. So I searched for a fairly economical place to stay in between the two locations I had things going on. This hotel certainly fit that bill. It should be noted that this was formerly a Courtyard by Marriott location, and the layout of things seems largely unchanged from what you'd expect at a Courtyard. I have a feeling that Courtyard vacated because the location is in a rather unsavory locale. I didn't feel unsafe there by any means, but the area around it definitely raises your suspicions. Being familiar with the area since I live relatively close, I knew the area in the vicinity well. There's a Walmart Supercenter practically across the street, and it closes at 11pm instead of being a 24 hour center like most. Purportedly, this is because of the area it's in. That being said, I'll reiterate that I never felt unsafe at the hotel, you just have to drive through some rather dated areas to get there.

Check-in/Check out was quick and easy with a friendly front desk clerk. I got a room on the first floor 'exterior' (not in the Courtyard, if you know how those hotels are typcially laid out), so I actually parked right outside my room. These rooms have a sliding door that opens to the outside, so I was easily able to unload (and later check out) conveniently right to my car. I read some previous reviews saying people had trouble with the exterior doors working right or their room key working, but I never had any issues with either.

The room was very clean, as was the bathroom area. Didn't find anything that needed attention. A fridge and maybe a microwave would be a nice touch in the room. The one issue I had with the room is the air conditioner. I like my room COLD, especially when I sleep. But the A/C turned to the coolest it would go and on high only got the room to maybe 76 at best, so I stayed hot all night as I slept. This was the type of unit that is below the curtains as well, and needed some sort of shield attached to it to keep it from blowing up into the curtains. I'm sure the curtains were quite cool, but I was not!

Amenities: Wifi was rather temperamental on my iPhone and iPad, often taking a long time to connect, and just not staying connected when I wasn't actively using my device (my home network stays connected...so I assume it's some sort of setting they've enabled to disconnect), meaning waiting to reconnect every time I picked my device up. Breakfast in the morning was *awesome*. Grits, biscuits, sausage, bacon, eggs, potatoes, cereal, waffles, fruit...lots of good stuff. They also had at least a couple attendants clearing tables and checking on you as well, which was nice. Breakfast also lasts til 10am, which I GREATLY appreciate since most hotels seem to end it at 9am or earlier even. Oh, I should also mention that their little snack store by the front desk is pretty reasonable for a hotel a well. I got a good sized bag of peanuts and a 20oz soda for less than $3.50.

All in all it was a pretty good stay. I basically checked in around 4pm and left immediately. Returned around midnight, showered and went to bed. Woke up for breakfast and left shortly after. So I never had a chance to use any of the other amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdoug399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike I, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your very thorough review. We really appreciate when guests take the time to give such detailed feedback on their stay with us. It gives us the assurance that we are doing many things right and gives us an opportunity to hear the voice of our guest telling us what things we can do to make their stay even more enjoyable. We appreciate you staying with us and your feedback. We hope to see you the next time you travel to Columbia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel was great. However, the elevator could use a little TLC. Add Yogurt to the Breakfast bar

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Helpful?
Thank Krista A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike I, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Krista,
Thank you for staying at the Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia and your observations of our services. Yogurt is normally a staple of our breakfast offerings and I am sure that you will find this available on future stays. We appreciate your business and hope to see you the next time you are in Columbia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Rooms were spacious and clean. Good location and excellent service. Breakfast area one of the largest, anywhere!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike I, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
John,
Thank you for choosing the Baymont Inn & Suites for your hotel accommodations while visiting Columbia. We are happy that you found your stay to be an enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#20 of 94 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
9.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia North East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Northeast
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia/Harbison
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest
Address: 347 Zimalcrest Dr, Columbia, SC 29210-6833 (Formerly Hotel Zimalcrest)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Columbia
#25 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Columbia Northwest Hotel Columbia
Courtyard Columbia Northwest
Columbia Courtyard
Columbia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing