We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel was everything I hoped!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Ranked #21 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This hotel was everything I hoped!”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

After driving for ten hours on our way to the coast, we decided on this downtown hotel since we wanted an environment that allowed us to take a long walk. We were not disappointed! Downtown Columbia is very charming, made more so by USC's campus and the striking state capitol building - a great place for walking!

The hotel's exterior is fairly utilitarian in appearance but the interior is where the details shine through. Our parking was covered and a few steps from the lobby entrance (which came in handy the next morning when packing up during the rain). After dumping our bags in our room, we took advantage of the lobby bar for a night cap. As luck would have it, we got there a half hour before closing and our bartender didn't want to save the opened bottle of wine and gave us two generous glasses each for the price of one. After the long drive, that was very much appreciated and we tipped him accordingly.

Our room was spacious and clean with two very comfortable queens. Equally important, it was extremely quiet (i.e., soundproof)! This was greatly appreciated since the hotel was host that weekend to at least a hundred contestants and their parents for some major dance competition somewhere in town. Between the bed, wine and the quiet, we slept like logs.

Our breakfast was wonderfull. In addition to the fairly broad assortment of pastries, cereals, juices, yogarts and meat and egg steam table item, we elected for our chef to provide us with the "eggs any style" option - all included in the cost of our room. Our breakfast would have set us back a good $10 a piece for the three of us if we would have eaten out, so not a bad deal.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you want some in-town ambiance that you don't often get in a more convenient hotel just off the freeway ramp.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floor with a view of the state capitol and/or USC's campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike24830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    146
    49
    18
    10
See reviews for
124
38
20
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Check in was easy. Hotel was so close to the Arena:)
Now for the fun:
The beds were stained, the vents were filled with dust, the wood in the rooms was dusty, towels smelled sour, handprints on head board and plus a $10 breakfast. But they did have free coffee and apples/oranges. I'm a new mom who doesn't get out alot and surely doesn't not have $200 to blow. I will never stay HERE again. In not a happy mama. Oh and when I complained very politely to the manager at check out she said "well Mrs Billingsley I'm sorry" and didn't even say have a good day or thank you for staying with us!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmelcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. It was good to hear our location and easy check in was convenient for you. I apologize for the condition of your room. We take great pride in providing high standards of service and cleanliness to all our valued guests. We appreciate your business and hope we have the opportunity to serve you again. I have reviewed your comments with my staff and appreciate the time taken to send your comments. We take all feedback seriously and will ensure a perfect stay for you should you return to the Columbia area. Best regards, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, SC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Perfect place to stay for a basketball game. Walking distance to Gervais Street, just a couple of blocks from the arena, close to the State Grounds and to USC. I took my wife and 8 year old son to see the UK vs USC game and we had a blast. Parking was easy and the staff was great. The room was clean and had plenty of room for all of us. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MooreOnRunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Our Courtyard is the perfect place to stay for all USC sports events as we are on the campus and within walking distance to all the great venues. We hope to exceed all guest expectations during every stay and work hard to provide a great experience. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I stayed for one night. It was an unpleasent surprise to discover that there was mold on the bathroom, the glasses were not clean and the coffee mug had remains of lipstick.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RA_309293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay with. Please accept my sincere apologies for the conditions you found in your room. We take great pride in maintaining the highest standards in cleanliness and presentation and I'm sorry we let you down! If you would contact me directly at your convenience, I would appreciate speaking with you. In the meantime, i will be reviewing your comments with the team to ensure our guests received the best service possible. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We were in town visiting USC with my daughter and we picked this hotel due to it's proximity to the campus. It was a great choice. The first night there we toured the athletic building of the campus which is right across the street, and then walked to the Vista area which is filled with great restaurants and shops. Felt very safe and the walk was easy. We also walked to the 5 Points area for shopping and eating and it was a bit of a hike but doable. The main campus is two blocks away and the location of the hotel was perfect for the early morning tour because on the way was a great coffee shop. The staff was excellent and super friendly. They actually helped me a lot when I left my diamond ring in the room and didn't notice until I got home. I got it back the next day. Awesome! Clean, good sized rooms, nice staff, great place. I have a mini van and did not have a problem with parking.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmom519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay recently. We take a lot of pride in providing great service to our guests and our staff appreciates your kind feedback on their performance. We look forward to seeing you soon in Columbia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This is a very nice Courtyard. We got booked into it on Priceline (bid $70; reg. rate was $139). It is a terrific location for the coliseum (literally directly across the street) and convention center, and you can walk to the Vista area. Parking is a little tricky... tight spaces in the garage area and not many of them, but we made it OK with our mid-size SUV. I watched someone in a large SUV (like an Expedition, I think) try to go in (clearance was 6 feet), and it almost got stuck. (Larger vehicles park on the upper, outdoor deck.) We did not get charged for parking, as some reviewers have complained about, so I'm wondering if they only charge during big events (nothing going on at the coliseum during our stay). Front desk was helpful, and all of the staff was friendly. Beds are heavenly. Very comfy! Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor; noise from the street can be quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChattyCathy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Spent one night to see what Columbia has to offer. Location is great to explore the University campus, see an event at Colonial Life Arena, or go to Gervais Street for a night out. Check in was very good as the person who was on staff was extremely nice. The previous posts are correct about the parking but unless you drive a bus or a big suv you should be fine finding a spot. Rooms are typical for a courtyard. Pool area looked nice.

Unfortunately after a night out we were unable to get sleep. A combination of the bed sheets or something else making us itchy, a loud heating system, and the train whistle throughout the night made it tough to get a good night sleep.

Checkout was easy and the staff was also very nice. We have been to many hotels and this staff was super.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnt14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.7 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.9 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#16 of 94 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC

Property: Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Address: 630 Assembly St, Columbia, SC 29201-4029
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Columbia
#23 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC is located in the heart of the University Historic area within walking distance to the Colonial Arena, Columbia Convention Center, Koger Center, State Capitol and The Vistas Entertainment District. Amenities include a new state of the art Fitness Center, complimentary Guest Appreciation receptions on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5 to 6:30 with free beer, wine and appetizers and free wireless internet access throughout the Hotel. Complimentary transportation is provided to the Vistas and Five Points restaurants as well as neighboring businesses. Cocky's Bar provides libations Monday through Saturday evenings and a dinner menu is offered Sunday through Thursday nights fromt 5-10pm. The Courtyard USC also has complimentary access to the Capital City Club, a private restaurant and bar on top of the tallest building in South Carolina! Courtyard Columbia is the premier sponsor of USC Gamecock Athletics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Columbia Downtown At Usc Hotel Columbia
Marriott Columbia
Columbia Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing