We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel is located right next to USC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Very nice location close to many restaurants and the five point’s area, the staff is great and the rooms are OK.
The Hotel is located right next to USC, which is very covenant for those attending any of the USC venues.
The Hotel is within walking distance of lots of good restaurants, but there is a hotel shuttle. You will need about 45 minutes to get a hotel shuttle, but it is worth it parking can be a pain.
The double queen rooms are a little small, and the bathroom left little room for more than just one person. But otherwise they are OK.
The hotel is very busy, and it is starting to show in certain areas, the windows are not sound proof so you will lots of outside sound. The adjoining room doors are not sound proof either, so if you are having a private moment and you don’t want the people in the next room to hear you keep the noise down.

Room Tip: You will need about 45 minutes to get a hotel shuttle, but it is worth it, parking can be a pain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyanS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. While it seems your stay was convenient and enjoyable, we do regret that your experience with the timeliness of your shuttle and the adjoining room concern were not up to standard. Hearing from our guest's perspective gives us the unique ability to understand areas that need improvement and those in which we are succeeding, all at the same time. Your comments are truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return trip to Columbia.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback through TripAdvisor!

Kindest Regards,
Holly Penny
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

United's express partner cancelled my flight out of Columbia so I asked for and was given a hotel for the night. This hotel has an airport shuttle. The drivers both going and coming were pleasant and informative about the area. I was very pleasantly surprised by how nice this hotel was considering that it was a comp hotel. This property is located just across the street from campus (on Assembly Street). The lobby is very large and offers plenty of seating with some chairs located near the lobby fireplace. The front desk staff were pleasant and professional. I was assigned a room and took the elevator up to the 4th floor and was impressed by the size of the room. The room had everything a stranded traveler could ask for. I did notice that one of the floors I walked on to reach the rear exit of the property had a musty odor but that is probably to be expected in that type of climate.The rear exit opened onto the hotel parking lot. Plenty of restaurants were located one block over. I did not dine in the onsite restaurant but I did purchase food from Moe's Southwest Grill and a pizza joint a few doors over. Moe's was tasty. The pizza joint was not tasty but seemed to be a popular hangout for college students (this is not a reference to Domino's Pizza). The walk/climb up to the restaurants was fairly steep and some of the sidewalks in the neighborhood were in poor condition so watch your footing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari6425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
932ChrisJ, Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for replying to our e-mail. We truly appreciate feedback from our valued guests. All feedback – positive or negative – is necessary in becoming a hotel that demands your loyalty.

We are very happy to hear about your experience with us. Your comments will be passed on to the appropriate individuals and the staff will be recognized for their efforts.

We hope you had a safe return home and hope to see you again in the very near future. Should you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Purchased last minute just for a getaway. Hotel was great, clean, easy access from Columbia, Parking is tight but its an older building, no big deal. several comments about it being bad but we felt it was just fine. Just be careful as you should be. Front desk staff outstanding, professional and fast. Room larger than most modern rooms, clean and provided all you need for a nights stay. couch and sitting area, bath slightly small but adequate. Bartender at lounge was outstanding, one of best long island iced teas ever had. got room on priceline for half what listed for so wonderful evening away from home. We would stay here again even at listed price. Check out was easy, courteous and they reqested our input into how our stay went. Perfect night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank revrick33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
932ChrisJ, Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are very happy to hear about your experience with us. Your comments will be passed on to the appropriate individuals and the staff will be recognized for their efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I was only here for one night but this courtyard did impress me. The rooms were average to a bit larger than most of the courtyards I have stayed in. It still had the orangish accent furniture though. The TV was large and LED. The staff was very courteous and efficient. The entrance is very open with a separate breakfast area. There is a bar that is open until 10'ish nightly. Parking at this location is free but very tight on the first level. There is a second level for larger vehicles. This is a plus near the university. Overall… a very nice stay. I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evilshig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
932ChrisJ, Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thanks for your feedback! We are glad you chose to stay with us during your time in Columbia and are pleased to hear that it was a nice visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I love it when these downtown hotels actually have some size to there rooms. I had a king size room with plenty of room. Of course all the normal things you expect where good like clean rooms and common areas. The staff all seemed to be very pleasant as well.
There was three things that kept me from giving the hotel five stars. One was I didn't need housekeeping service for my room and I told the housekeeper and all was fine, then she had me initial her cleaning sheet. Wow to think that she had to cover herself, this is just not the way a company should trust there employees, and or employees shouldn't have to feel like they can't be trusted. The second is small but seems to be a common trend for those chains offering a breakfast buffet in there hotels. When you put out plates for the buffet and they have sat out all night, as soon as you put your eggs on the plate they become cold. I knew the eggs in this case where hot because they were obviously two different temperatures, hot & cold. Run the plates through the dishwasher in the morning to warm them, the sanitizing cycle will heat them up enough to keep them warm through breakfast. The third was the TV. Yes the TV was a flat screen, however it no HDMI hookups. Would love to been able to watch my movies on the TV instead of my PC.
Don't get me wrong, I think the place was really nice, fitness center was clean and plenty of equipment, the laundry room was also clean and reasonably priced.
The parking lot looks like it could be cumbersome, if you have a choice I would bring the smaller car as some of the parking is a parking garage.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkrug10042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
932ChrisJ, Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback! I am glad to hear that you found your accommodations up to standard and enjoyed your visit. We hope that you will continue to choose our hotel when you are in the area.

In regards to having guests sign off for "no service"; This was a practice that was put in place some time ago. We now have a new Director of Housekeeping. I will address this with her and see if we can cease this process. We fully trust our team and do not want to send the wrong message to our guests. Your concern is very valid and I assure you that it will be addressed.

Thank you for bringing up the issue with the cold plates in the buffet area. I have never heard of putting the plates back through the washer in the mornings in order to keep the plates warm. I will inform our Restaurant Manager of this practice and see if we can put it in place immediately. If it provides a better quality of food for our guests, we are certainly all for it!

In regards to the television not having the HDMI hookups; Unfortunately, none of our televisions have this accessibility. When it comes time to upgrade the televisions again, I will be sure to request to have the new televisions to come equip with the HDMI hookups.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed while in town for a couple of days. The front desk staff is very nice and accommodating. The rooms are very clean- housekeeping was very thorough. The staff at the bar were also very nice. It's a great location- within walking distance to the downtown area. The only thing is that it's an uphill walk to get to the downtown area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are noisier due to current construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
932ChrisJ, Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thanks for your feedback! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and our staff provided you with the type of service that one should expect from a Courtyard by Marriott hotel. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have stayed here many times, the staff is excellent and the property is clean. However, Assembly Street is being ripped out and repaved at night. If you are on that side of the hotel, the noise level is extraordinary.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side away from Assembly Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOarmywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
932ChrisJ, Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thanks for sharing your feedback GOarmywife! You will be happy to know that the Assembly Street construction is now complete! Our staff is extremely happy as well about this. We can't wait to welcome you back again so you can see the changes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 93 in Columbia
932 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.8 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#22 of 93 in Columbia
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC

Address: 630 Assembly St, Columbia, SC 29201-4029
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Columbia
#22 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: £78 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC is located in the heart of the University Historic area within walking distance to the Colonial Arena, Columbia Convention Center, Koger Center, State Capitol and The Vistas Entertainment District. Amenities include a new state of the art Fitness Center, complimentary Guest Appreciation receptions on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5 to 6:30 with free beer, wine and appetizers and free wireless internet access throughout the Hotel. Complimentary transportation is provided to the Vistas and Five Points restaurants as well as neighboring businesses. Cocky's Bar provides libations Monday through Saturday evenings and a dinner menu is offered Sunday through Thursday nights fromt 5-10pm. The Courtyard USC also has complimentary access to the Capital City Club, a private restaurant and bar on top of the tallest building in South Carolina! Courtyard Columbia is the premier sponsor of USC Gamecock Athletics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Columbia Downtown At Usc Hotel Columbia
Marriott Columbia
Columbia Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing