We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the way back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Ranked #18 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“On the way back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Property is in a great location and is being remodeled. Staff is magnificent and going out of the way to help during the remodel. Bathrooms are a little small but overall it is going to be a good place to stay. Free shuttle to area restaurants is nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilyana F, Guest Care Manager, Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Greetings Stan S.,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear your comments on our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    146
    49
    18
    8
See reviews for
121
38
20
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I am a hot natured person. Most hotels I go to, I find that the air conditioner will not turn down as low as I would like and the beds come with down comforters on them even in the summer. So I was very happy when we walked into our room and it was set at 56 degrees! Compared to the 98 degrees it was outside, it felt amazing. Hotel itself is in great proximity to the campus, other historical landmarks and about 2 miles from the football stadium. It was undergoing renovations at the time but it was still a nice hotel and the changes will only make it better. I would go back to that place if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkunkyWunky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I enjoyed reading your comments about our property. I am very pleased to hear your AC unit was cooling properly. I am also pleased to hear that you thought our location was great by being right on campus and near the downtown historical landmarks.

I am excited to report that we are only a few weeks away from our debut of a finished renovation with a new Bistro, Starbucks, and many more upgraded features. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Downtown at USC and we hope to see you again.

Kindest Regards,

Holly Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel under upgrade renovation and cosmetic improvements. Great staff all around, Terry handled some minor problems quickly and efficiently. Good location, garage parking a little tight but manageable. Clean room, comfortable beds fairly quiet considering busy street. Room of average size although somewhat on the small size. Refrigerator, no microwave.

Room Tip: 3 rd floor rooms front have a noise buffer barrier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review of our property on TripAdvisor. I enjoyed reading your comments, especially when you stated that our staff was great all around. I have forwarded your great comments to Terry as I am very pleased to hear that she was able to resolve your minor problems quickly and efficiently. I also look forward to sharing your comments with housekeeping. Thank you again for your review as we greatly appreciate it. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Holly Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
183 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Perfect for visiting USC. I agree with previous writers that there is some street noise and an occasional train whistle. However, being able to walk to all parts of USC makes this a good place to stay. The A/C unit is very loud and the lobby is currently under construction. However, the pool is nice and no crowd in July. I will stay again on my next trip if the Marriott Hotel is too pricey.

Room Tip: More noise on the road side then the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. I am happy to read that you found our location to be very convenient to all of USC. I am also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our pool as it is open most of the year! We are anticipating the arrival of our new pool furniture very soon and cannot wait to show you the newly renovated area later this fall. As for the lobby and rooms renovation, we are only a few weeks from being done! We are very excited to debut the new Bistro as your next stay at Courtyard will be Superb! I am very sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the surrounding city noises such as street noise and trains. Please let us know during your next stay and we will do our best to place you on an upper floor, pool side. This will help eliminate some of those city sounds. I truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope you will give us another chance soon. Please reach out to me directly and I will ensure you have an exceptional visit.

Kindest Regards,
Holly Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acushnet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel and very well located on the USC campus. Location is ideal and facility is very nice. The room I had was extremely loud though and traffic noise and a TRAIN WHISTLE was a problem all night long. If I was staying another night I would have had the AC unit on all night as this may have drowned out the outside noise.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bankguy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am very pleased to hear that you found our location to be ideal and our hotel to be very nice. We are super excited about the NEW STAY with renovations coming to an end in just a few short weeks. Our hotel will be able to provide evening dining in our Bistro, cocktails at our bar, and a wonderful array of options for breakfast. I am very sorry that the train was a disturbance through the night. You are correct. We often suggest our guest to put the HVAC unit on auto fan or auto air so that it acts as a sound machine to buffer the city sounds. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to getting the chance to serve you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Holly Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying I never complain and have never posted a review of a hotel before. We have stayed at many Courtyards over the year and this one definitely falls at bottom of the list.

First Hotel is under Renovations at current time. This was not a huge bother but things are definitely out of sort from what you would normally expect. I also expect Marriott to let me know this when I reserved the room.

Next our room was not up to standards. Filled out guest review cards were still in room from previous guest. The biggest problem was the shower. It was scalding or ice cold. There was no in between. We all had to take cold showers.

Third, our room was noisy. The AC unit when on sounded like a plane was landing. Out neighbor could be heard through the connecting door having a midnight jam session listening to music. The refrigerator also had a terrible whine to it when the compressor was kicked on. My biggest complaint though was the overall sound prodding of the room. We could hear people in the hall as if they were standing in our doorway. Our room was on the 6th floor and faced Assembly St so we heard the cars on the street below. I can live with a average street noise but we heard everything. I am no hotel designer but there has to be a way to fix this through thicker glass or other material. The drag racing motorcycles, the 4 emergency vehicle sirens, and the 5 train horns during our stay were a little much and they go on all night.

We went to the front desk to check out so I could let them know about problems. When I did so the clerk was friendly and asked detailed questions which he wrote down on a sheet labeled problems. The list was quite long already before ours were added. He then said as compensation he would give us extra Marriott points. I wasn't looking for a free room but a discount or free breakfasts would have gone along way from me being a unhappy guest.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. We appreciate you choosing our Courtyard for your accommodation needs; although I am very sorry that you found our property to be noisy and that renovation was an issue. I am happy to report that renovations are coming to an end and our finished product will be revealed in just a few short weeks. Please know that I will address the mechanical issues, such as the AC and refrigerator, with our engineering staff, and commit to showing you a great experience upon your next visit. I would love to address your issues personally and ensure that I take appropriate measures to restore your confidence in our hotel. I welcome your correspondence. You can reach me at (803)799-7800. Again, my team and I are very sorry. I wish you the best.

Kindest Regards, Holly Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel. It is currently undergoing a renovation so when completed it will be better. The room we had was renovated. It was comfortable, clean and the beds and bedding were new. The bathroom was clean but still small and not really up to date.The staff were great and even though the hotel was in some state of reno turmoil with workers and painters doing their thing... it was an OK place to stay.
If you need to stay downtown this will serve your needs at an affordable price. But don`t expect the Ritz. Not much around this hotel to get a nice evening meal. You would need to drive or cab it.
Convenience is the theme of this hotel if going to University events.

Room Tip: In busy season get one overlooking the pool... ( rear of the hotel) as the street can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suebill92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. I look forward to sharing your wonderful feedback regarding our team. I am sorry that you did not experience our hotel at its best. I am pleased to inform you that the majority of the renovation is complete. We are all thrilled to be able to offer you a New Stay in just a few short weeks! I wish you safe and exciting travels. We hope to get the chance to serve you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Holly Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.7 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.9 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#16 of 94 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC

Property: Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Address: 630 Assembly St, Columbia, SC 29201-4029
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Columbia
#23 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC is located in the heart of the University Historic area within walking distance to the Colonial Arena, Columbia Convention Center, Koger Center, State Capitol and The Vistas Entertainment District. Amenities include a new state of the art Fitness Center, complimentary Guest Appreciation receptions on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5 to 6:30 with free beer, wine and appetizers and free wireless internet access throughout the Hotel. Complimentary transportation is provided to the Vistas and Five Points restaurants as well as neighboring businesses. Cocky's Bar provides libations Monday through Saturday evenings and a dinner menu is offered Sunday through Thursday nights fromt 5-10pm. The Courtyard USC also has complimentary access to the Capital City Club, a private restaurant and bar on top of the tallest building in South Carolina! Courtyard Columbia is the premier sponsor of USC Gamecock Athletics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Columbia Downtown At Usc Hotel Columbia
Marriott Columbia
Columbia Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing