We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's all fun & games 'til someone has to take a cold shower!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia
Ranked #22 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“It's all fun & games 'til someone has to take a cold shower!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is an old hotel with a very good nice looking renovation. It's priced appropriately for the average quality and location...cheaper than downtown and NW Harbison areas. The rooms are spacious, all public areas and guest rooms nicely redone. That having been said, there are some things you just can't change about an old hotel without a huge financial commitment.... during high demand times in the morning you just can't get hot water and the a/c units are loud. If you give yourself an extra 20-30 minutes of letting the water run on hot you can eventually get a nice steamy shower but don't expect to get one any sooner than that if alot of other guests are also showering. At other times, like afternoon, you'll get hot water within 5 mins. We had a king suite. They seem to have a large percentage of king suites so if you're eligible for an upgrade you have a good shot at it. The suite was spacious with a dining table, frig and pull out sofa. However, don't plan on sleeping on the pull out sofas. It's impossible unless you leave it folded up and just sleep on it as a couch. The mattress on the pull out feels like you are sitting on meshed wire with no covering and even a kid can't sleep on that thing. I couldn't even sit on it when it was folded out like a bed! Lounge was very cute and good service there. The restaurant buffet was luke warm in the morning and the servers were friendly. Service over all was average. Would I stay here again? Maybe, if I can't find anything else available at a reasonable price. I can't complain since the King bed was comfy, it was clean and spacious and I only paid in the $80s which I felt to be a bargain on a high demand weekend.

Room Tip: Seem to be lots of King Suites if you're eligible for an upgrade you should have a good chance o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tlatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    176
    135
    70
    41
See reviews for
160
109
35
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

The hotel Doubletree was all I had hoped for. The rooms were very clean. The bedding was clean and fresh. Loved the sleep number mattresses. The bathrooms looked as tho they had been recently remodeled. Granite counter tops. We enjoyed our stay there very much. They offered us warm chocolate chip cookies when we checked in, I thought that was a great touch. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. We eat one night at their restaurateur. Their food was wonderful and the staff there were very nice. Loved the experience. The bar there is great too. I love watching the show called "Hotel Impossible" on the Travel Channel with Anthony Melchiorri. I looked for all the things he looks at when he goes into a place. He would have given Doubletree three thumbs up and a AAA score. I would recommend them to everyone.

My least favorite things are minor. The Restaurateur prices was a tad bit high and the menu was a little limited in the chooses. And they really need a bigger sign out front so you can find them.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

This hotel was better than I thought it would be. The design is nice and from what I understand this used to be a Radisson. When we first walked in, we were greeted at the reception. They quickly found our reservation and gave us our room keys. They even offered us warm cookies! (they are kept behind the counter in a mini oven) Our room was nice and clean and had sleep number beds.(How awesome is that?!?!) I liked the design of the room and the furniture in the building overall was very nice. I would like to add that I have pretty bad allergies and the hotel must have been clean because I would have been hacking my head off if it weren't. The hallways were nice and lit and there was ample parking.

There were a few down sides to this stay. #1. Our air conditioning unit didn't seem to be working, which wasn't really an issue because i had a summer cold and didn't want it on. #2. My sleep number bed didn't work. :-( #3 The tub was slow to drain.
Overall I enjoyed my experience and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCTravelBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

We were traveling and decided we needed to stop for the night. For the price it was what we needed: clean, priced right, and easy to find. The only issues were that our AC cover was held on with scotch tape and fell off during the night (scared me bc I thought someone was in the room). From the looks of it, it may have been done by a previous guest who was trying to avoid incidental charges. The other more pressing issue was that in the morning we had NO hot water in the shower. The sink was fine but none in the shower. My husband suffered through it. We were on a time crunch so didn't call to ask for another room but we did mention on the way out. The receptionist quickly said sorry and offered us free breakfast. We explained we were in a rush so the offered it to go. Again we were only there for a short time and it fit our needs.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjie354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Level Contributor
186 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I think one of the things I am learning to like about DoubleTree is none of them are the same. Typically a re-branded hotel with the DoubleTree service levels, as this one is.
I have been here a half a dozen times and always enjoy my stays.

Room Tip: The X55 Rooms are Jacuzzi suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Doubletree Inn on Bush River Road looks great on the inside; a chic retro-modern decor with really nice seating areas and a nicely themed restaurant with rich, dark wood and silk drapery to separate booths from one another.

The conference area looks worn and in need of new carpet. As far as conference rooms go, the one I was in was average - although the A/V support was really good.

The staff - and I mean every person I encountered who worked for the hotel - was professional, friendly, and went out of their way to make sure my stay was enjoyable.

The entrance to the Doubletree is not well marked and then you have to drive up past what looks like an abandoned house/business. There was a 18 wheeler parked on the driveway the days I was there.

The room was okay - I was too tired to take notice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichBrown27526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Staff was very charming, nice big room, lots of space, huge sit down shower, had balcony, food not so good, but easy access to interstate.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ndirish55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn at Bush River Road
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbia - Greystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#20 of 94 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia
Address: 2100 Bush River Road, Columbia, SC 29210 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Columbia & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#22 Business Hotel in Columbia
#30 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia South Carolina hotel at the crossroads of I-20 and I-26 near Lake Murray is a modern, full service hotel located minutes from the South Carolina capitol building and downtown Columbia. We are less than 10 minutes from any area attraction, Riverbanks Zoo, EdVenture Children’s Museum, University of South Carolina, Columbia Convention Center, the Columbia Metropolitan airport, South Carolina State Museum, Colonial Life arena, golf courses, and the Vista entertainment district. Our spacious contemporary guest rooms and suites feature pampering baths, large work desks with two phone lines and data ports, high-def 32-inch flat screen TVs, luxurious Sweet Dreams bedding, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed internet access also available in lobby and public areas, and coffee or tea by celebrity chef Wolfgang Puck. Our pet-friendly hotel also provides guest amenities including a full services restaurant, an atrium bar, in-room dining, outdoor swimming pool, open sundeck, sand volleyball court, 24-hour fitness center, complimentary airport shuttle, meeting facilities for up to 1,800 people, and a gift shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Columbia
Radisson Columbia
Columbia Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing