We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The comeback kid!”

Melrose Golf Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 18-hole Jack Nicklaus-designed signature course hugs the Atlantic coastline, providing magnificent views and challenging plays for golfers at all skill levels.
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The comeback kid!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This course is beautiful - the whole island is making a comeback - don't miss out! FABULOUS food at the Melrose Beach Club too!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Mostly an unvisited course”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Unlike the earlier reviews, I am not going to recommend you take a ferry to play the course. I'm going to recommend you take the ferry to be a guest at Melrose and play while you're here. Beach cottages are for rent (check places like VRBO) -- you'll need a golf cart not only to play the course, but to get around this fascinating island.

As long as you're here in the latter half of the week, you can take advantage of the Beach Club for lunch and/or dinner. You'll have a delightful meal in a gorgeous setting. Good food, great service, unbeatable views.

Can't say much about the course since I don't play -- however, I live here. My cottage backs to the course and I rarely see anyone playing. My cottage faces the ocean and the beach is almost always empty. This is a wonderful place to visit (and live)!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Golf paradise to yourself”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

What a great experience. Hop on a boat from Harbor Town Marina at HHI and John is picking you up on the other side in the Melrose Suburban. John is stretched thin but he does a great job making you feel like his top priority. Like others have said, bring snacks and drinks, pack a cooler, bring your beer. Take advantage of this course while you can, the rate is 100% worth it and finishing holes beauty contends with anything in the USA. Course fairways in great shape, better than others on the island, greens are surprisingly true, roughs are rough but stay on the fairway and you'll love it. 20-30 rounds a day you'll feel like you have the course to yourself.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CliffordJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great course”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Beautiful golf course, well worth the ferry trip. It is very flat so is easily walkable. Also has a great restaurant and pool. Beach side.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz_L_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fullerton,ca
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

You take a boat to the islland to play this course. Thats we're the adventure begins. You are greeted and transported by the private surbanban from the course and they will answer any questions you have about the island. Although not the best course we played during our trip, definately one of the most memorable. The island is somewhat rustic although the views from the last three holes exquisite. A must do during your trip to hilton head.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank seah0rse_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melrose Golf Course also viewed

 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Melrose Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing