We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the Charts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dillon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Columns Bed And Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Dillon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We recently attended the US Open at Pinehurst & found The Columns thru TA. Seeing the 5 Star reviews all we can say is: WOW, has The Columns earned their 5 Stars. From the welcoming bottle of wine on the balcony; dining recommendation at The Kintyre (wonderful meal with all the local feel); wonderfully comfortable room & bedding. The renovations were magnificent with such attention to detail by the owner. In fact, everything was done to enhance your stay from the accommodation of an early morning breakfast to luckily the second morning a gourmet breakfast to savor. This bed & breakfast is worth making an additional effort to be there as you will not be disappointed. Our sincere thanks to Michael Real, our host and the owner.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Callibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Opulent. Fabulous. Charming. Enchanting. Need I say more??? RUN, don't walk, to this amazing bed and breakfast, winner of numerous awards (little wonder). Our host Michael was just wonderful and witty and quite the chef!!! My husband and I enjoyed our stay here SO very much, and look forward to our return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara and Hank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

For three world-traveling women who love to go on tours of stately, historic homes and estates, we were totally dazzled by the Columns B&B in Dillon, South Carolina. The priceless antique furniture (the huge French armoires were mind-boggling), rich and luxurious bedding, spacious rooms with pristine baths, and sparking chandeliers were worth a trip to Dillon alone; however, we were passing through on our way back to Atlanta from the Outer Banks, since this B&B is very close to I-95. Michael, our gracious host, was a raconteur of the first order and he made us feel relaxed and comfortable. We loved "the happy hour" wine on the upstairs veranda and the sumptuous breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindagfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I once again stopped at The Columns on Monday, the 19th for a two night stay. We were heading back to Florida, and once again, The Columns Bed and Breakfast and Michael, the owner and wonderful host, did not disappoint. Spacious rooms and cleanliness are only two of the wonderful amenities. And the breakfast, fantastic! The restoration and decor is breathtaking. So many amazing antiques and attention to detail make this Bed and Breakfast deserving of its awards: Bed and Breakfast.com top 10 around the world and Certificate of Excellence 2014 from Trip Advisor. Looking for a very special place to stay on your next trip in the South Carolina, I-95 area? We recommend The Columns Bed and Breakfast, Dillon, S.C.

Room Tip: The Azalea suit on the first floor is heaven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan33572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

When traveling from VA to Florida we always break up the trip and stay at The Columns. Convenient to I-95, The Columns is a lovely oasis at the NC/SC border. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. The decorating is beautiful and the town is quiet and safe. Breakfast is always delicious and elegant with fresh fruits & juices. The host Michael is congenial and a pleasure to know. Stay at The Columns...you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had the real pleasure of staying at the Columns for three nights recently while attending a race at Darlington. The Columns is an extraordinary experience, and Michael a most gracious and welcoming host. He has passionately and lovingly restored a beautiful and historic large home, filled it with the most lovely antiques and decorated it beautifully. We stayed in the Dogwood room which was spacious and quiet with a very comfortable bed and a nice view of the garden. Our first night we sipped a glass of wine on the 2nd floor of the front porch while watching the sunset. Breakfasts were delicious and healthy and a chance to learn about the House and area from Michael as well as get to know our fellow guests. It was a highlight of our trip and we would go out of our way to stay there again. We would give it ten stars if allowed.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Traveling south from New Jersey to savannah we needed a place to stay our second night on the road. Bless the I pad and internet for giving me The Columns. From the minute we pulled up to this most impressive place we were not disappointed. Michael is the best host you can imagine. He is gracious, interesting, talented and all around a great guy. Our room was gorgeous and the bathroom was beautiful and filled with every amenity you can imagine. We sat and chatted a bit over wine and learned the history of The Columns, truly a labor of love. Breakfast the next morning was over the top! The china, the crystal and the food were all top notch. By the time we left, reluctantly to resume our journey south, I was in love with The Columns and Michael . If you are ever traveling the 95 corridor and need a place to stay, look no further. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Dogwood Room is a beauty. Wonderful king sized bed, gorgeous touches and a fabulous bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dillon hotels
0.6 mi away
Heart of Dillon Motel
Heart of Dillon Motel
#3 of 7 in Dillon
3 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Dillon
Quality Inn Dillon
#1 of 7 in Dillon
87 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dillon Inn
Dillon Inn
#2 of 7 in Dillon
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Columns Bed And Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Columns Bed And Breakfast Inn

Address: 601 E Main St, Dillon, SC 29536-3557
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Dillon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dillon
Price Range: £92 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing