We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't check in !”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Economy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Economy Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Dillon
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't check in !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

Traveling North on I 95 . half way home to Maryland .. sunset needed a room for the night, and found coupon offer in travel coupon book picked up at welcome center. $29.50 one night , and quoted " restaurant next door " , free Newspaper, Breakfast coffee and doughnuts, etc. " .. at checkin .found it to be with small print ' may charge more on fri and sat nights" .. " driving rain and cold " so i said ok and she said $10 more ! .. so i agreed . and went to room . OLD CIRCA 1950'S ROOM .. old bedspreads, pillows, etc.. i went out to get dinner, returned and finally slept . woke and didn't shower as it was too cold in that part of room. went to office for continental breakfast .. burnt coffee in a pot, and 1 stale doughnut left there, and no attendant to greet or attend to it. Simply a basket with note on it saying " check outs - leave your room key in the basket " .. Oh, the restaurant next door .. (closed a long time ago) .. and the " free newspaper " .. attendant said " oh, they stopped bringing them to us" .. and the $29.50 ad ended up with $49.50 on my credit card .. and no one to query about this overcharge !

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danatb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    5
    8
    31
See reviews for
18
11
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

My wife and I were driving and needed a place to stay along I-95. It was getting late and we needed a place to stay. Unfortunately we had a dog with us and there were very few pet friendly options for us. We decided to stay here since it was almost 2 AM and we had limited options to stay because we had a dog with us.

This was a huge mistake. There was broken glass all over the parking lot. The carpets were stained. The room was in bad shape, and the A/C gave off a terrible odor. The beds were uncomfortable, and the linens and bedding smelled so bad that we slept on top of the comforter. We slept maybe 3 hours and decided to check out. We would have been better off sleeping in our car at a rest stop. Even if it's 2 AM and you're exhausted from driving, do not stay here and keep driving.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ernie_Raffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dillon hotels

Jersey shore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

On the road for 12 hours and a young child. Our first sight of the motel scared us, but we figured that a Choice Hotel brand (used my points) couldn't be THAT bad. Well, it was. DIRTY DIRTY DIRTY. It was midnight and we were just so tired. The caulking around the bathroom was black. The remote was filthy and under the bed. The whole room had an inch of dust. The front door had about an inch of a gap, so the light would come through. Long hairs were on the sheets and floor. Bathroom door had writing on it. They didn't have a clock. The fridge was broken. And yes, we had to check in via a bullet proof glass window. Oh, and the soda machine had expired cans.
Just really grossed us out. Found out that ALL choice hotels are individually owned. Guess the Choice brand doesn't seem to care about putting their name on a property.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boogdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

Just read the other reviews, I do not have anything to add that would be much different from these. The mattress on the cot was good the the beds were fair but the number of people coming and going at 2 am suggested that it was a rent by the hour place,

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COFLZephyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

worst dump i have ever tried to stay in! just opening the door to the room, i was assaulted by the stench. i carefully lifted the bedding & couldn't believe the rags they were using as sheets & blankets & pillows. flies were buzzing around the room and when a bug started crawling up my leg in the second room they gave us, i had had enough! they would not refund our cash so we checked out (actually less than 10 minutes after we checked in). ended up staying @ a comfort inn right down the street. it couldn't have been nicer. this dump should be inspected by the board of health and SHUT DOWN! i will never ever go to a econo lodge again. SHAME ON THEM!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eileen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

Because it was Saturday we decided to call ahead for a room. Big mistake. One look at the room and my wife walked out to the car. The room smelled stale, several large stains on the rug and generally filthy. We were unable to get a refund because of a 4 PM cancellation policy. We went out to supper and never returned. Stayed at the Comfort Inn about one half mile away.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, PA, USA
Level Contributor
350 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

Yes it has WiFi and a "continental breakfast" but it has dirty bedspreads, poor heating/AC units, and a general appearance of age and lack of maintenance. Twenty miles away is Lumberton, NC with a much better selection of hotels and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillon
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Dillon
Quality Inn Dillon
#1 of 7 in Dillon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Dillon
24.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Lumberton
Fairfield Inn Lumberton
#4 of 23 in Lumberton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
24.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Lumberton
Comfort Inn Lumberton
#5 of 23 in Lumberton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
22.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Inn

Property: Economy Inn
Address: 1223 Radford Blvd, Interstate I - 95 , Exit - 193, Dillon, SC 29536-5015 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Dillon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Dillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Economy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Dillon
Dillon Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing