We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty sheet and rude management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Duncan/Spartanburg
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Duncan
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed there while on business and work at the desk in the room for a few hours, when turning the sheet down for the night found body hair in the bed and stains on the sheets. Had to leave that night because it was so disturbing. Went to checkout desk and the staff on duty returned to the room with to see what I was talking about. I have photos for proof as well. So disgusting I had to check out that night. Management refused to comp any or all of the bill and took a very bad attitude when I had proof in photos.

Room Tip: Avoid this place at all costs...you never know what you might catch between their sheet. Send me a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreqTvlr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fr0nt_desk, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Duncan/Spartanburg, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us and your feed back is very important to us. I would like to apologies for inconvenient you had during your stay. As our front desk report, you have checked in around 6 pm and you came up to front desk at 1 am and said that you have found a hair on bed, So front desk had requested you if like to change the room or she was willing to change with fresh linen. Also we offer you up to 50% off your stay but you have rejected all. Please feel free to call us at 864-433-1000, if we can assist you...
Sincerely,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review from my room. I have stayed at many budget prices motels. Four just this week. I can't remember if I have stayed at a Microtel before. However, if they are all as clean and reasonably prices as this one, I'll be searching them out. The room is very small. I have a queen room though. There is no fridge or microwave, but the room and bed are so clean and fresh smelling, "compared to where I have been this week", that I don't care. Im happy. Cleanliness really does make the difference.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our group stayed for four nights as we attended the Celebrate Recovery East Summit! We were greeted by amazing staff, experienced comfortable newly remodeled rooms, and received gracious service! Due to the conference, the Microtel had no vacancies, yet the service did not suffer. Even with the breakfast area still being remodeled, the stay was excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 July 2013

In spite of the renovations, I enjoyed my stay at Microtel! It is conveniently located and the price was fair! When I visit Greenville again, I will for sure stay at the Microtel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Marili M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I've stayed here many times over the last 4 years, and yes, the place has gone downhill.
The lobby and other parts of the hotel are being renovated, but slowly, and with some problems.
You have to walk through construction debris to to get to the front desk.
There is furniture and 5 gallon cans of paint stored in the northern stairwell, which is also the fire escape for that end. There is also a cardboard box blocking that fire exit door.
On the second floor, the entrance to that stairwell, has a paper sign on it asking guests not to use it, but you don't see that sign until you have walked to the end of the hall, to that door. If there was an emergency, then you would have to walk to the stairwells at the center of the building, or far end, and take your chances. I mentioned the sign to the front desk, and was told 'it was supposed to be taken down, and will have it removed', but the sign stayed up for two days after that.
The exterior card entry door on the north end first floor would open without a card. (and it was often propped open with something, anyway)
There is a lot of unfinished renovation in various parts of the facility you have to walk through, or around. The room was OK, worn, but reasonably clean. The room rate I paid was overpriced for the current condition of the hotel, and the area.

I understand renovation is a pain in the XXX, but some of these problems defy common sense, as well as probably violate local safety ordinances.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PC1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duncan hotels
0.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Spartanburg Duncan
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Duncan Spartanburg West
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Duncan/Spartanburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Duncan/Spartanburg
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Spartanburg(Duncan)
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville-Spartanburg I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Duncan/Spartanburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Duncan/Spartanburg

Address: 1534 E Main St, Duncan, SC 29334-9702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Duncan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Duncan
Price Range: £57 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Duncan/Spartanburg 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Duncan/Spartanburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing