We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nearly perfect”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Edisto Island, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LizaGb051...
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Nearly perfect”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I'd like to start out and say, that I've spent my entire childhood vacationing on a similar beach in NC in a small cozy little cottage like the Ellison. We had a wonderful trip, and especially enjoyed spending our mornings drinking coffee on the covered porch or in the evenings falling asleep and listening to the ocean. This cottage is very clean and comfortable, and we appreciated the coziness of this home. We are looking for a place to stay for a least 2 weeks next year, and unfortunately the only thing missing with this cottage is a working Washer and dryer. It's really nice to be able to refresh your linens or do a small load of laundry especially with a small family, and with a couple week stay. We hope the owner will consider installing one soon so we can continue to stay at the Ellison for years to come!! For now we'll probably have to look elsewhere, and I'm so sad about that :(

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We love hearing when guests enjoy they're stay on Edisto. I am sorry that the owner has no plans to add a washer and dryer. Please let us know if we can help with any future plans.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“old house but very comfy”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Loved this old house! only 4 of us but we had plenty of room. Some structural upgrades would make this house perfect! It seems to to vibrate when doors open and close. Air conditioning worked great! Plenty of room , only thing missing was Internet. That's a must! Being on front beach is a plus

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach
Liked least: No internet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2015
Thank you for letting everyone know about your stay at the "Ellison". The home is just as you describe, classic beach cottage loaded with charm and comfortable for all. The owners take time each year to paint and do other projects. But I am not sure about internet. I will ask them to consider it for 2016.

Thank you
Edisto Realty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alwayswit...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just Stay Away - Awful!!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We knew from the pictures that this cottage was outdated, but we expected that it would be well cared for and the price and location were great. I have never been in a dirtier, less cared for house. Each window was covered in an inch of dirt - we're talking frames and sills. The kitchen window the nastiest cobweb I've ever seen. Multiple pieces of furniture were falling apart. The air conditioning couldn't cool the the kitchen and living room. We cooked one meal in the oven and then had to waste a lot of food we had brought to cook because the house was unbearable from the heat of cooking. Never, ever have I had such an experience. The boardwalk is sketchy at best. One the positive side, the beds were comfortable and it is on the beach, so you have a great view for sunrises and great access. It's a shame; with not too much money, the home could be really cute and worth more as a rental. Extremely disappointing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edisto Island hotels

Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing