We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone's Favorite Activity”

Edisto Watersports and Tackle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We want to make your visit to Edisto memorable. Nature surrounds us here and you haven't seen the best of Edisto until you experience it on the water. Fishing, shelling, kayaking, and expeditions close to the birds and creatures that inhabit this very special part of the internationally known ACE basin will become memories you and your family treasure for the rest of your lives.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Centerville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Everyone's Favorite Activity”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Spent a week on Edisto Island with daughters, sons-in-law, and the grandchildren. We opted for a Sunset/Dolphin Cruise and signed on with Edisto Watersports and Tackle (just outside the gates of Wyndham Ocean Ridge). It was the most amazing evening and everyone's favorite activity of the week. Captain Dillard knew exactly where to find the dolphins as he gave us the history of Edisto Island. The dolphins did not disappoint and came right up to the boat in groups of 2 to 4 to check us out. On the backwater, we saw 2 of the old sea island cotton plantations (only visible from the water). One was in ruins and the other fully restored. He also pointed out different birds, crab traps, and beautiful newer homes. The sunset from the water was magnificent. Our grandchildren (ages 14, 11, and 8) didn't want the trip to end and begged to do it again. We all had the best time. This trip gave us all a memory to last a lifetime.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    4
    6
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More than expected”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I was expecting a backwater Kayak trip that my wife really wanted and I was blasé about. But, the guide was knowledgeable and her insight made the trip worth the time, effort and cost. We saw birds specific to the area that were pointed out and talked about, an alligator that wasn't supposed to be the brackish waters, and the highlight was watching a mother dophin teaching her baby how to feed by running fish up onto the shore where the baby could get to them. She kept doing it and our being there didn't seem to bother her. A real treat. The kayaking was smooth and safety was adhered to at all times. Very much recommend this outing for $40 per person.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CYACalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, tn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“some good some not so good”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had a good time and saw lots of Dolphins.
Our guide and boat driver seemed to have had a beer or two.
Some of the information they gave us was questionable.
There was also bad language used, including the F word......inappropriate.
The good news is the night was beautiful and we made it back to land with no problems.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank mickipruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
276 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Kayaked and went to Otter Island”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We did the kayaking tour a couple of years ago. It was great! We took pictures of the dolphins, they were literally right beside us. The guide took time to answer all of my husbands questions about the island and wild life. Maybe a bit pricey, but worth it. The next year we went to Otter Island. My husband took the metal detector and we dig up tons of bullets. There are not many shells at all on the beach, but I did find what I came for, 25 sand dollars. It made my day! The beach is very pretty and it's quiet. We hope to go back in September.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeachGirl0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great kayak trips for beginners”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Great trip for families and beginners. Tour guides give detailed information to ensure you are prepared to venture out even if this is your first trip. Double and single kayaks available.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edisto Watersports and Tackle also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Edisto Watersports and Tackle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing