We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Botany Bay Plantation Heritage Preserve and Wildlife Management Area
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hamptonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

A sight to see! Take a picnic lunch and stay a while, you will be amazed at the shells that wash ashore while you are standing there. You ask yourself, why did they not film Pirates of the Caribbean here and then you realize it is a beach that stands still in time, untouched, my words will never do this trip justice it is just peaceful and a place of serenity!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tresa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    73
    16
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albertville, Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Closed for hunters”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We went back two times, closed on monday went back on tuesday same thing so we gave up. We took a tour with Dee Dee who said it was great, we were not able to get in.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank weeks416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A slice of paradise”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Undisturbed beauty. Trees, beaches, birds, trails........ This was such a beautiful area; I only wish we had found out about it earlier in our vacation. They don't advertise it; you have to hear about it from the locals. Very relaxing and a lovely area to visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My family and I had gone to Edisto for years when I was young but had never stopped here. When my husband went back with our kids, we decided to stop. It's a bit of a walk to the beach, but it's so worth it. The walk from the parking lot is along a wide boardwalk, so you can definitely take a stroller. It's not a difficult path but most of it is along open marsh with very little shade, so be prepared that it will be hot when the sun's out. Definitely take water with you as you won't be able to buy any there.

The beach is a protected wildlife area, so there are no man made structures on the beach. No trash cans, no bathrooms, no umbrellas... But the beach is unspoiled and absolutely beautiful. The shells you can find along the beach are amazing and abundant. You're no longer allowed to take them with you, but you can take lots of pictures. We're so glad we stopped and actually would like to go back since we didn't get to spend as much time here as we would have liked.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sisters enjoying the natural nature of the area”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My sister and I drove the circle around the plantation. We stopped at the many of the signed areas and took pictures. The natural beauty of the place is stunning. The trees dripping with moss, the marshes, the plantings for the animals and birds who live there and the natural beach are breathtaking. Having grown up in Florida I "assumed" all beaches were great expanses of white sand. Not so with Botany Bay. This isn't that kind of beach. Trees grow to the water and the water moves up into the trees. Yes there are shells you may look but you can't take any away. We were told they have introduced Fox Squirrels back to the property and if we saw any to report where we saw it. We did! and reported it. This drive was much like going home for both my sister and me. It was just a great experience. A word of advice - take your picnic in along with a bottle of water. The hike to the beach in approx. a 1/2 mile in and out. There aren't any facilities so now you are forewarned. Good for the SC Natural Resources for keeping this property as it has been for years. A place where nature is the most important thing. If ever there is an area where you would expect to see wild turkeys this is it. However we didn't see any. We loved the sign at Jason's lake "May be alligators.".

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Botany Bay Plantation Heritage Preserve and Wildlife Management Area also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Botany Bay Plantation Heritage Preserve and Wildlife Management Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing