We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the wait”

Flowers Seafood Company
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: This is a mobile kitchen parked behind Flowers Seafood on the way on to Edisto Island, SC. The family owns their own shrimp boats and sell seafood out of a small building near the street. When you order they pick out the fresh seafood and cook it for you. You eat outside under large Live Oaks with hanging Spanish Moss. I have photos to share.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a mobile kitchen parked behind Flowers Seafood on the way on to Edisto Island, SC. The family owns their own shrimp boats and sell seafood out of a small building near the street. When you order they pick out the fresh seafood and cook it for you. You eat outside under large Live Oaks with hanging Spanish Moss. I have photos to share.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Pulled off the 174 highway at 1:00 on a Friday to try some of the highly rated seafood. Waited 55 minutes for a simple order of shrimp, scallops and a chicken sandwich. Food was good but nothing extraordinary. When I placed my order there were only 5 orders ahead of mine, however they cook with a "one order at a time" approach (delivering one order every ten to fifteen minutes). Had the additional privilege of swatting flies for an hour while waiting as the fumes from the porta potty wafted across the picnic table area. Not a great meal.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank shanghaipitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    40
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Versailles, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great selection fresh seafood very affordable. Friendly service. Did not eat there just bought fish to cook.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyrasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great seafood worth the short drive”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were recommended to make the short drive out to Flower's right next to steamboat landing road. A short drive from where we were staying but friends who live on the island year round said it was worth the drive. It was! The shrimp we got was cheaper, the nice guy helping us on a Sunday afternoon even recommended a local cocktail sauce made by a local guy out of Charleston. We purchased it along with our fresh shrimp purchase and it was amazing! We will be going back for more shrimp and cocktail sauce! It is worth the short drive off the beach but worth every penny!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lighthousegal1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oh my word, so good!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped by to grab a quick meal, we were so pleased. Calamari was excellent and the fried shrimp was very fresh and fried to perfection. The portions are huge! Three of us shared the shrimp and calamari and were stuffed. As we were eating several people brought fresh seafood deliveries right to the back door, still dripping sea water, that is what I call fresh! Easy to miss on the way in or out of Edisto, be sure to be on the look out- you don't want to miss it!

Helpful?
Thank Heidi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Oh my goodness!!! DELICIOUS!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Flowers is open daily so that you can stop in & buy seafood to cook at home, but Thursday-Sunday they will cook your food for you. We had crab cakes, steamed shrimp, steamed clams, french fries & hush puppies, & it was all wonderful. It was a bit of a wait, probably 45 minutes between ordering our food & it being ready, but it was worth the wait!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tmb14883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flowers Seafood Company also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Flowers Seafood Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing