We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Directions to this hard to find restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stumphole Landing

Stumphole Landing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Elloree
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
Description: It is a campground diner .... and just like some of the places on Guy Fieri's Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives. The fish was freshly caught! They have the best coleslaw! They have outdoor seating overlooking Lake Marion. It is not fancy but their food is excellent and their prices good. (We went back 3 times to get carry-outs.)
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
179 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Directions to this hard to find restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This restaurant will not disappoint the intrepid traveler. Local catfish is a speciality, and very good it is too. So here's how to find it.....
From I95 and Santee head on the 6 towards Elloree, taking a right fork about 2 miles short of Elloree - signed Elloree Elem and Middle School. This is Tee Vee Road but is not named at this point.
At stop sign and cross roads go straight over. Keep a look out for a right turn with a sign to Stumphole landing Campground and take this right turn. At stop sign and cross roads go straight over. When you can see Lake Marion note the public slipway on the left and turn sharp right following the road and ignoring "road ends" signs. The campsite and restaurant are on your left after 200 yards/metres.
It is open from early to 9.00pm but closed Sunday afternoon and Monday. Friendly staff and basic seating but we spent less than 30 dollars on 2 mains, 1 dessert and 2 wines including tip and in my book that was good value. Views over the Lake and outdoor seating.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank johnson6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
220 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great Place - but ‘out of the way hole in the wall’ could be considered by some to be over embellishing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stumphole Landing
18 Halter CT
Elloree, SC

Not an easy place to find unless you know what you’re looking for. We were out riding around the area and ask a local where they would recommend for lunch. He gave us direction to Stumphole and off we went. After following the direction we encountered a ‘dead end’ road sign and turned around. Turn out we were there (Stumphole Landing was ‘just over the hill’). After finding someone for more directions and being sent back (5th door on the left after making the jog we were told), we topped the hill and saw what looked like could be a fish camp. Since there were several vehicles already there, we decided to ‘go for it’. This is definitely not a place for those ‘faint of heart’. To say ‘out of the way hole in the wall’ could be considered by some to be over embellishing. This place has lots of atmosphere, but it’s a ‘special kind’.

However, once you enter and realize ‘yes this is the place’ you are greeted by friendly folks and a fairly decent menu selection. We wanted the catfish since that is why we sought out the place. We sat overlooking the lake and had a great view. Our fish was hot and fresh and came with a side and fairly good cold slaw. I had French fries and wife had baked potato. Fries could have been a little crisper. With drink and tip, plan on spending about $10.00 per person unless you want to add dessert. All in all, this is the kind of place you want to come to when you are out exploring with your ‘devil may care’ attitude.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best catfish I ever put in my mouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I've been fishing Santee for 15 - 20 years and this is the best place I have ever stayed. The food here is awesome and the people and hospitality is even better. I had 7 or 8 meals at Stumphole while we were there and ever single one was excellent! The people make all the difference in the world as to how enjoyable a weekend of fishing is though and these folks know how to treat customers. I can see why so many locals eat here. It is the complete opposite experience I had at Carolina King across the lake(buyer beware Carolina King). When I left stumphole, I felt like I was leaving friends and we are already thinking about when we could go back.

PS: Oh by the way, we caught over 300 lbs. of catfish here.

Jim from Spartanburg

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CatfishJimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reevesville
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“SOUTHERN FOOD AND GOOD PEOPLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Finally got to eat at this local eatery-fish all the time but just got around to stopping by. Food is very good-family owned(Dee & Dave are gracious hosts) The catfish was fried just right and caught on Lake Marion. This is what Santee Cooper Lakes are all about. Will be back very soon. Fish are biting

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shirley j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elloree, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Dive In Every Good Way!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

You have to GO to Stumphole Landing. It is not just a place you happen across. And once you get there, you have to figure out how to get in.
Dee and Dave Cowden are the greatest! In their combination diner/office/bait shop you will find friendly locals, some crusty characters, talkative staff, and the very best, freshly caught catfish in South Carolina.
Not up for catfish? The chopped steak and grilled onions are excellent. Got a sweet tooth after you eat? Get a slice of one of (Dave's) Mom's homemade pies. Have bored little ones with you? Step outside and whistle for Striper and Sophie, the friendly campground dogs.
Seriously, take the time to find this slice of Americana. Nothing fancy, but then, does good food with friendly folks have to be?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MTFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stumphole Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing