We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Florence Inns & Suites
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Free breakfast. spacious room, easy to get to rooms. We were satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesdailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    36
    23
    13
    25
See reviews for
50
31
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed 14 nights and is not as bad as described on a lot of reviews. Okay is not an holiday Inn but price is not holiday inn either so what do you expect. Room was big enough and clean enough, reception personnel is very nice. They can do better with the swimming pool and with breakfast (very poor).
Good for the price we paid.

Room Tip: 204 was good for us. clean, no smoke smell or stains..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My fiance and I stopped here on our way from NY/PA down to Florida. We checked in at an odd time (6 AM) and the woman at the front desk seemed unsettled by this. (I don't know why because the hotel is right off of I-95... I'm sure we can't be the first who have arrived at an unusual hour). Anyway, the front desk attendant made several odd comments and talked to herself loudly throughout the check-in process. It is hard to describe her behavior, but it was strange, to say the least. I'm not normally thrown off by eccentric people but she gave me the creeps.

Anyway, after leaving the front desk, we unpacked our cars and settled into our room. I took a shower and my fiance tried to sleep. The phone rang while I was in the shower and my fiance answered. It was the woman at the front desk. She asked how the room was and he thanked her, told her it was fine, and then tried to go to sleep again. A while later the phone rang again. I was out of the shower at this time. We didn't answer because we were trying to sleep. Shortly thereafter, the phone rang AGAIN. I answered and it was the woman from the front desk. She said she was on a portable phone and wanted to talk to us. Suddenly, she pounded on the door while on the phone with me! I was more creeped out at this point and asked that we be left undisturbed unless necessary so that we could sleep. Then the connection broke or else she hung up. A few minutes later the phone rang again. I answered and it was the woman from the front desk... again... asking us to change rooms. I responded that we were very tired, and would rather stay put unless it was necessary, and asked why we should change rooms. She didn't explain why she wanted us to move, she only mumbled some incoherent sentences and then hung up.

We checked out much earlier than planned later in the day. We had initially planned and payed to spend the night and leave the following morning... but based on the woman's behavior, had determined that either 1) something was wrong with the room or 2) something was wrong with the staff. If there was a legitimate reason for wanting us to switch rooms, she should have been forthcoming with that information... or else left us alone to sleep! Her behavior was erratic and unprofessional, and judging from the other reviews, not uncommon for this hotel. Stay away.... really, really creepy place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2011

After the mold smell when we walked in I knew we weren't staying but then we checked it out farther & the bed was not clean the air had spiders under it, cig burns on tub, tv didn't work well, walls of course dirty as others have said.. So we leave the room 10 mins after checking in to no refund & complete stupidity from the front desk acting like they have no clue & since we peed in what looked like a pot hole he couldn't have a 70 $ refund! We left & went to the Hilton!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mermer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I have NEVER seen anything like this hotel in my life. The walls were dirty. The sheets were dirty. The BATHROOM was the worst and this was the suite . You are better off sleeping in your car. I have worked in the hotel industry and I vacation alot . I have never seen a hotel like this. THEY NEED TO CLOSE THIS PLACE DOWN.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefhanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I have stayed here before and even gave it a good review in the past. Not this time. The room was decent, although the mirrors hadn't been cleaned. But the big problem was that twice I had to ask groups hanging out in the parking lot to keep the noise down. Each time, they left after I spoke with them, making it clear that they were not actually staying at the motel. There were beer cans in the lot in the morning. Security is very important to me and I won't be staying here again until management commits to securing the parking lot.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonymous621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

All billboards and even the advertisement at the entrance to the hotel say $42.99 per night. But the front desk will tell you that is only if you stay a three night minimum and then charge you over $70 per night. The bed was horrible. Pillows, even worse. Bathroom tile floor all cracked up. Breakfast is included... coffee is absolute tar! Milk for cereal was warm, bananas were all bruised up. Bagels were starting to show signs of mold. If I wasn't so tired driving I would have just slept in my car, at least I know the cleanliness of that!

Awful, awful, awful!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpatdabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
6.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
#23 of 41 in Florence
70 reviews
3.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center
6.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#24 of 41 in Florence
190 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center
6.4 mi away
Super 8 Florence
Super 8 Florence
#21 of 41 in Florence
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence Inns & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence Inns & Suites

Property: Florence Inns & Suites
Address: 3821 Bancroft Rd, I-95 Exit 157, Florence, SC 29501-8041 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites Florence)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Florence Inns & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Florence Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn And Suites Florence
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites Florence Hotel Florence
Howard Johnson Florence
Florence Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing