We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute great place....jacuzzi was wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Florence Inns & Suites
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed one night in the Jacuzzi suite and had the best time...nice clean room...bathroom was clean...jacuzzi was amazing and very relaxing....great front desk clerk...property was nicely landscaped....plenty of parking ... pool was nice looking though i think it opens in May...would reccomend to a local for an in-town gettaway or anyone traveling with or without children....nice, safe, off the main road (no through traffic)...recently renovated property

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickyNBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for your review and on your next stay be sure to give a heartfelt hello to Beth, she is very pleasant and kind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

We were traveling from the Florida keys back to NY and looking for a decent place to stay to get a good night sleep. This is NOT the place. Although the girl at the front desk was pleasant the room was disgusting! If we weren't so tired, and already paid we would have taken our business elsewhere. We asked for a king non smoking room, 227,and upon entering was gagged with a bad smell. The bathroom was clearly not clean with a used toilette and dust and spider webs everywhere. Not to be confused with old and outdated...the room was filthy. Stains everywhere! On the walls, floors, furniture, bed. I covered the sheets and pillowcases with clothes not to touch them and wore shoes so my feet would not touch the carpet. I was seriously grossed out and will have nightmares of staying in a place like this again. So much for a good nights
sleep. I have never written a bad review before but this needed to be addressed.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. Good or bad each and every review lets us know our strong points and where we need to improve to make each guest happy. I am truly sorry you had a bad experience during your stay and and thank you for pointing out the areas that need to be improved. I will personally check into the things that you listed and take care of them immediately. I hope this does not deter you from choosing us again on your next trip through Florence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Florence Inn and Suites has billboards on I-95 advertising $45.99 and signs near by the property. When I asked about it the attendant was totally unaware of that price, this happened on four different occasions. The rooms are actually seventy something dollars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Wrights4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. Yes the billboards do state that we have rooms for $45.99 it also says AND UP. The $45.99 rate is for 1 person only if there are more than 1 person a higher rate will apply. I saw that you have stayed with us on four separate occasions and was aware of our rates. Please don't hesitate to try us again and we do our best to make your stay pleasurable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Room was in need of a complete redoing. Big holes in the bed skirts; thin washed out bed covers; thin scratchy towels; appeared to be mold or dirt on the bathtub floor and shower curtin, spiders crawling on wall; in general not as clean as should be: hair on tub and toilet from previous guest. Had to pay extra for this room because it was on the first floor. Had to be in office or close by to receive wifi signal. On a positive note the staff tried to be very helpful, they explained motel was in process of being redone. This room should never have been made available to guests! Motel is not longer afiliated with Howard Johnson and is privately owned.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msh1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. I am very sorry that you were not satisfied with your room. As you already know, we are going through some renovating and we are trying very hard to keep our guests happy during this process. We hope that you come back and give us another try and we will do our best to make you feel at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Room was clean and a good size, bathroom was also very clean and update. the staff was friendly and courteous. Beth at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. the Continental Breakfast was nice. Over*all I would recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: They need to work on the Internet Connection so all rooms can connect easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sulli46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay and we hope that you will choose us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

While traveling on business, stopped there for the night. Beth Howell, a front desk staff member was very kind, accommodating, and knowledgeable about the area. She recommended an outstanding restaurant and a great place to unwind after dinner. I've traveled all across the US and by far the best reception I ever received. Thanks for everything Beth! :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of our Hotel. I will be sure to let Beth know you were happy with her service. Our goal is to make each and every guest feel at home will away from home. Again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel the third week of Feb. 2014. The hotel itself was ok, clean, but very dated and worn. Beth Howel was the manager and she was very helpful and informative,
it is ok for a night, but not for a long stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. Although our property is fairly old we are working hard to keep it updated and maintained properly. I am happy to hear that Beth was very helpful and I will be sure to let her know you were pleased with her. Again, Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
3.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center
6.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
2.8 mi away
Affordable Suites Florence
Affordable Suites Florence
#18 of 41 in Florence
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center
6.4 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#16 of 41 in Florence
402 reviews
2.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence Inns & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence Inns & Suites

Address: 3821 Bancroft Rd, I-95 Exit 157, Florence, SC 29501-8041 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites Florence)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £52 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Florence Inns & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Florence Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn And Suites Florence
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites Florence Hotel Florence
Howard Johnson Florence
Florence Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing