We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Darlington Race Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Florence
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for the race. I will say it was good enough for us since we weren't there long as we were there for the race. I won't say its the best but its not the worst. It was adequate, not the cleanest by any means......... We didn't have problem with noise, the desk staff was friendly and helpful. If i had to stay for the race again, I might, but honestly for the price it wasn't that worth it. I thought they charged alot for what we were given.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelso2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgeflorence, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Econo Lodge during your visit to our area.

We appreciate you for giving us the review. It surely helps us to improve.

We have taken a serious view of your observation and have implemented corrective solutions so that our guests always experience a satisfactory stay.

The front desk staff has been enrolled to provide the best hospitality. We will not tolerate any such behavior from them.

We assure you that you will find a better stay next time and look forward to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

This was a stop over on the way back north.
Because of my wife's disability, we asked for a handicap room and were told they had none. We were given a ground floor room that was a difficult walk for her. It was also the noisiest room I have ever stayed in, it was as if the window and door were made of paper. You could hear ever truck that passed by on 95 all night long.
The toilet stopped working, when the front desk was contacted the person responded by telling us that he could do nothing other than move us to another room. This was at 3:30 in the morning.
We packed up and left.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgeflorence, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Econo Lodge, Florence during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate the review and we take it quite seriously for improvement.

At the outset, our apologies for the bad experience you had howsoever.

We have investigated the incidence as mentioned, with the hotel staff and have taken all necessary steps to offer the best. Special attention is being given for cleanliness and hygiene.

We also have given special training and instructions to the hotel staff to offer the best hospitality to our guests.

We assure you and request you to consider staying with us in future and have a new satisfactory experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Terrible !!! Very poor management. We booked a ground floor room, we are retired. We were given the keys, and when we opened the door the room was trashed, the smoke was pouring out the door and the waste basket was full of butts. Were given another, with no help fron the manager. After 3hours, that room was still not ready. The manager then ordered the maid to clean it. Stay somewhere else, this is not the place. Many other availible.

Room Tip: Leevon the desk clerk was very nice, his manager was the worst we've met
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We have been staying at econo lodge in florenece s.c. for the last 4 years with 9 of my golf buddies for our annual golf trip in april . I handle the bookings myself for rooms and golf with the help of levon at Econo Lodge he has assisted us in our room selection which is always on first floor near pool. we are greatly satisfied with the results and will be back next year 2014 in april

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed here as a stopover point heading South during spring break last month (March 29th). It is literally right off of I-95, so it is easily accessible. When we finally got there around 10:30, the person behind the desk that night was very friendly and readily checked us in. She was also the same person that was there when we checked out the next morning.

The place itself is nothing special, as the entire complex is modular and composed of several buildings, each appearing to have 2 floors. The room was clean and the beds comfortable enough. TV is rather old and not the best quality. The biggest problem that I noticed is road noise. Being so close to I-95, there was a lot of noise from passing trucks on the highway.

For breakfast, they have the standard buffet fare, but it is enough to fill you up before heading out on your way. The breakfast room is rather cramped, so if you have a large group, you probably all won't be able to fit. We had enough trouble just fitting in four.

Bottom line, for location and price, this is a good stopover place for your travels if you are looking for a place to just spend the night and then get back on the road in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PRNap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I was very impressed with this place. Only a few dollars more than the place with the light on around the corner, but way better accommodations! Attendant was extremely pleasant, helpful, courteous and kind. Offered 4 or 5 different choices for room placement when I even hinted at being uncomfortable. As a single mom travelling with a toddler, safety is paramount even though our budget is limited. The room we chose was incredibly clean, spacious, well-equipped and quiet. But the icing on the cake was the noise machine in our alarm clock. . . we both slept deeply on the comfortable bed (with 5 pillows of various fluffiness) to the sounds of crickets and frogs. It was wonderful! Best stay ever in a budget hotel. Florence is the halfway point in the drive to see family so we will definitely stop here again when passing through.

Room Tip: Hotel is right next to expressway so rooms on the opposite side will obviously be quieter. I am nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEP404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

One of the better overnight stopovers with a dog. This is second time we used this hotel traveling back from Florida and will probably use it again next year. Not luxurious but good value for price and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 140BarbaraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
6.3 mi away
Florence Inns & Suites
Florence Inns & Suites
#25 of 43 in Florence
129 reviews
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
3.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Florence
Super 8 Florence
#22 of 43 in Florence
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Florence

Address: 1920 W Lucas St, Florence, SC 29501-1232
Region: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £35 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Florence 2*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 95 just north of Interstate 20, the Econo Lodge(R) hotel is a wonderful stopping point for many destinations. This Florence, SC hotel is minutes from Francis Marion University, Darlington Raceway, the Florence Museum of Art, Science and History, the Florence Little Theatre, Darlington Dragway and the Florence Civic Center. Freedom Florence Recreation Complex is eight miles from the hotel. Several golf courses and shops are nearby. Many local restaurants are within walking distance, and several of Florence's fine dining restaurants are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Florence
Florence Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing