We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Front Desk Clerk EUGENE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Florence
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Richmond
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Front Desk Clerk EUGENE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

Nice hotel the rooms where clean. The front desk clerk went above and beyond.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vetvet6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    62
    41
    29
    41
See reviews for
61
65
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

Hotel was pretty decent. The room was clean and amenities were updated. We were located in the rear building due to late booking for race week. The hotel is located right beside I-95 and I was very surprised that we did not hear any traffic or noise from others staying in our building. The bed was very comfortable. Water pressure was ok and shower was new, shower head was new and adjustable.They also provided free shaving cream and a few other things along with the usual shampoo, etc. (Could have been for race week only) We did not try the continetal breakfast.
We found a great locals place to eat called Bobs which is located west of I-95 at exit 164. For less than 20 dollars for 2 persons we had all you could eat of some great home cooking. Stuffed crab, fresh catfish, homemade mac & cheese. Excellent apple / peach cobbler. They have a breakfast buffet too but I didn't get to try that. Maybe next year.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bornwithwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2009

Large room was clean & neat with the exception of the carpet. That could have used some deep cleaning.

The breakfast was above average.

The staff was curtious.

I would stay again.

  • Liked — Comefortable bed. Large selections of restaurants nearby
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthCarolinaTrout45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2008

We stayed in 2 rooms (my husband and I in one on the 2nd floor and my 3 year old and his aunt in one room on the bottom floor) at this property after a Long, LONG drive from FL headed home to MD that day. We checked in and were directed to a very rear, not well lit building at the far end of the property. (We originally booked using an 800 number for Gold Members in Choice Hotels points program without incident.)

At first glance everything seemed to be in order I noticed no foul odors or anything wrong at first glance. My husband immediatly set up our computer and made mention that the placement of the power outlets next to the table were ingenious. While he tapped away on the keyboard I readied for bed.

When I was using the sink I had the misfortune of seeing a hair (most likely from another persons nether-regions from its nature and length) sitting idly on the sink. Now I have blonde striaght hair and so I am 99.9999% sure this was not mine. Nevertheless, I calmly disposed of it and went on with life. I was really too tired to care. After a brief check for other things I took a shower, water pressure acceptable and no smell to the water that I could detect.

This hotel has expensive (down?) pillows which are too soft for my taste but other than that the linens were ok. Honestly, I wasn't in the room but 10 hours and so I was not able to try out the TV or other amenitites.

My sister in law on the other hand apparently did battle with a number of critters. She chucked several roaches (yes, ROACHES) out the door and then got so freaked out she loaded her suitcase back into the truck to avoid taking any hitchhikers the next day. She also noted a number of dead mosquitos splatted to the back of the door. How they got there is anyone's guess. She could not sleep and tossed all night. She rode the remainder of the trip bleary eyed. So we had two wildly differerent experiences with two different rooms.

As all Choice hotels do, they served a continental breakfast until 9am that was passable and we pulled out at 9:45am.

I guess the bottom line is, stay toward the front, stay on the upper floor.

  • Liked — Useful power outlet placement above desk
  • Disliked — Bugs and errant hairs
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sock_girlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

We stayed at this Comfort Inn for one night at the beginning of July. We were traveling from Pennsylvania to Myrtle Beach and always stay in Florence, SC before heading to Myrtle Beach the following day. We had previously stayed at the Econo Lodge across the street last year, which was a HUGE mistake.

We arrived at the Comfort Inn a bit ahead of schedule and were able to check-in early without a problem. Our room was on the second floor. It was a standard room with two double beds (four pillows on each) and a sitting area. The room was clean. The A/C unit worked well and without incident. The bathroom was clean and looked well maintained. There was free HBO and wireless internet, which worked well.

The pool was closed when we got there. The manager at the front desk said they were working on balancing the levels of the chemicals. So, we went to supper and after we returned we gained access to the pool. The pool was very large, clean, and had a little patio around it. Our two childrren enjoyed the water, and we had fun swimming as well.

This Comfort Inn has outside and inside corridors. We had a room with an inside corridor. The only issue we had was that the door to the room would always stick and you had to throw your body against it at times to open and properly close it so it would lock. This was not a major deal to us though, just an annoyance.

The complimentary breakfast was nice. They had a waffle maker and your typical items such as juice, coffee, cereal, bagels, etc. The food was good and the area for breakfast was large enough to accomodate the guests who were eating. They had a television on the wall to watch while you were eating. You also receive free USA Today if you wish (always a nice touch).

Overall, this Comfort Inn is a nice place to stay for a stop-over on the way to another destination. It has a nice pool, is a good value for the money, and has clean, comfortable rooms. We would stay there in the future as we travel to Myrtle Beach. Of course, after you stayed at the Econo Lodge across the street, anything would seem better.

  • Liked — Location, Pool, & Breakfast.
  • Disliked — Some Areas Need a Little Updating
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Family122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2008

I found this a very clean and fairly well-run example of the Comfort Inn chain. I booked via Triple-A, and had no problems checking in. When I called from the road to tell them of my late arrival, the woman was very pleasant and said the room would be held all night (I had guaranteed with a credit card). On arrival at 10:10pm, check-in was fast and easy. Unfortunately the pool closes at 10pm and re-opens at 10am, so no refreshing dip for me! It looked fairly nice, though an apparent in-ground jacuzzi had been cemented over.

The room, and the hotel itself, appear quite clean. Standard chain motel decor (see photos). Curtains blocked light very effectively, room lighting choices were plentiful and working, the bed was very comfortable, and the TV worked fine. Various amenities such as ironing and board, hair dryer, coffee maker, and room safe are provided. DO NOT TOUCH the room safe if you do not intend to use it. I played with it to see how it worked and end up being charged $1.50 for some sort of "room safe warranty fee". This charge is not mentioned anywhere, and is a rip-off. I did not encounter any outside- or other-room noises on my Wednesday night stay, as I think most guests were fellow road-warriors trying to get some sleep at the Florence I-95 "pit-stop".

Sink and vanity area are outside the toilet/bath room for convenience. Shower worked fine, plenty of hot water, though a very lame Sunbeam showerhead provided reduced pressure and no "massage". Typical low-end soap/shampoo provided. I did not test their wireless network, but a public computer in an alcove off the lobby worked fine. Breakfast was standard continental fare, served in a fairly small room near the lobby. Everything was plentiful, and very clean. Check-out was also fast and easy, although the morning clerk was nowhere near as pleasant as the evening one.

All in all, not a bad overnight stop on the I-95 corridor in the $45-60 range. Somewhat nicer than the Motel 6 I stayed at in Florence in 2007, and worth the extra $15 in cost. The Comfort Inn works fine if you just need a nights rest and don't want to spend the $75-100 for the slightly nicer places. Just don't touch the safe, and scrutinize your bill before signing at check-out...

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Convenience to highway, Price
  • Disliked — Extra charge for safe, drab decor, pool not open early
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MrNuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2008

We stayed at the Comfort Inn in Florence for one night on a trip down I-95 and were pleasantly surprised. Checkin was quick and very friendly and everything was clean and comfortable in the room. The place is definitely worn but seems to be well kept. We would stay again. My only complaints are that the walls and windows don't do much to keep out the noise, so we could hear conversations out in the parking lot loud and clear in the morning. Fortunately, we didn't have loud neighbors during the night. Also, the wireless network was good for the most part, but dropped a couple times.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — Noise coming in from the parking lot in the morning
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jtdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Florence
Super 8 Florence
#22 of 41 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#23 of 41 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Florence Center
Ramada Florence Center
#24 of 41 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#18 of 41 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
#25 of 41 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Florence

Property: Econo Lodge Florence
Address: 1920 W Lucas St, Florence, SC 29501-1232
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Florence 2*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 95 just north of Interstate 20, the Econo Lodge(R) hotel is a wonderful stopping point for many destinations. This Florence, SC hotel is minutes from Francis Marion University, Darlington Raceway, the Florence Museum of Art, Science and History, the Florence Little Theatre, Darlington Dragway and the Florence Civic Center. Freedom Florence Recreation Complex is eight miles from the hotel. Several golf courses and shops are nearby. Many local restaurants are within walking distance, and several of Florence's fine dining restaurants are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Florence
Florence Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing