We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one night. The location is quite convenient. It is right of 95. But the hotel itself is absolutely horrible. The reception person was mean and rude. Our room was supposed to be non-smoking, however it stunk like an ash tray. There is all kinds of weird and creepy characters lurking on the premises. The room was extremely dirty, there was a McDonald's food box on the floor from the previous guests. The lamp was broken. The coffee maker was so disgusting I didn't even want to touch it. The soap was so old, when I unwrapped it, it was all crumbled up. The hotel is not expensive, however not the cheapest one. And dirty room is a number one sign of the lowest quality. Very disappointing. Totally wasted our money.

Room Tip: The hotel only looks decent on the pictures. What you see is not what you are going to get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank omerta555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

omerta555,
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate the kind words about our convenient location. However, we are disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Our goal is to provide clean accommodations and excellent customer service to each and every hotel guest, so we are truly sorry that we did not live up to those high standards on this particular visit. We have shared your concerns with our General Manager so that necessary changes can be made to improve the overall experience for travelers. We appreciate your time and hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.
Sincerely,
Suburban Extended Stay Florence Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here for one night on my way home from FL. Average place, no problems. Rooms clean. TV's older, but didn't watch it much. Lots of good places around motel to eat. Check in was quick, employees helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonnietalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle K, Guest Relations Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

bonnietalk,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Suburban Extended Stay hotel in Florence for a quick stopover on your way home from Florida. We truly appreciate the kind words about our clean rooms, convenient location and helpful team. We hope that you had a wonderful time in Florida and that you will come back to see us again soon!
Sincerely,
Suburban Extended Stay Florence Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We have had the pleasure (?) of traveling between Colorado Springs CO and Holiday FL (Tampa/Clearwater area) three times in the last six months as we transitioned to living in Florida and have a handful of motel stories - most funny now - as a result of those road trips. We recently drove straight through to Pittsburgh PA for a family situation and planned to stay over one night on the return trip. Based on our recent experiences, we expected to stop in at least three different options before deciding where we would stay. Suburban Extended Stay was our first stop and we did not have to look any further. Miss Lovoris took only a few minutes to get us checked in and Miss Lillian and MOD (sorry, didn't get a name) checked us out just as quickly in the morning. The room was spacious and CLEAN, spoke with several other staff members who were all courteous, polite and proud of their work. Travelers, please understand this is not a day spa but a clean place to stay on what is probably not a planned driving trip. Roaches? We didn't see a single one - and living in FL, we know roaches. If you have any disappointments at this motel, talk to the staff and they will fix it one way or another.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dean R,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Suburban Extended Stay hotel in Florence during your travels to and from Florida. Lovoris, Lillian and the rest of our team will be absolutely delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We truly appreciate the kind words about our spacious guest rooms, clean hotel and helpful team. We cannot thank you enough for recommending our hotel to fellow travelers. We wish you the best of luck in your new hometown and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Suburban Extended Stay Florence Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

As a business traveler this hotel offers exactly what I need at a price that I want to pay. The rooms are clean with some minor blemishes here and there. Plenty of storage for clothes, television and desk, table and chairs for two, even a small kitchenette area if you're so inclined to cook your own food. The fixtures are dated but completely usable. I saw reviews that mentioned roaches, but in my 12 day stay here I didn't see any. I will say that living in the South, especially this part of the state many places are prone to Palmetto Bugs, which one would expect to see in the Palmetto State. They look very similar to roaches and they can fly, and there is hardly any amount of pesticide that you can spray that will get rid of them. They are a frequent guest in hotels, businesses and private residences and people who live here will tell you to just get used to them. That being said I also did not see any Palmetto bugs here, but this is winter and not really the season for them. I enjoyed the Quiznos that is attached to the hotel, this was especially convenient when the snow started coming down and I didn't want to drive somewhere for food. But at the same time there are a plethora of restaurants within walking distance. If you are looking for a hotel to spend your honeymoon then no I wouldn't recommend this. But if you're like me and you just need a clean place to lay your head down for the night then I really cant complain.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hi Josh B,

Thank you very much for your four star review! We appreciate the kind words about our clean rooms, unique amenities and the Quizno's restaurant located on site. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and cannot thank you enough for recommending our great value to fellow travelers. Our team works very hard to provide a positive overall experience for hotel guests, so we look forward to sharing all of your feedback with them. Thanks again for your time. We appreciate it and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Suburban Extended Stay Florence Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Awful location, the staff can only do so much, you can not blame them, but our check in process was horrible, we asked for a double bed suite, were given room 126 which is a standard efficiency, with a roach in the bathroom, we asked for another room, clerk moved us to 128, which key did not work, twice, finally clerk had to let us in with maintenance key, the room had not been checked in for a while due to the appearance of the toilet water, and after settling in, roaches were crawling on night stand and bathroom door, Asian and German which carry diseases, after all that finally the next clerk moved us to room 180, which we were told by front desk manager that it is a non-smoking room even though it stunk of smoke and had an ashtray in the room, but still no roaches. Truly the worst stay we have ever had.

Room Tip: Avoid completely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Hi jojo34219,

Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. Our goal is to provide comfortable, clean accommodations to each and every hotel guest, so we are very sorry that we did not live up to those high standards on this particular visit. Thank you for reaching out to our team while you were here and for accepting our sincere apologies. Because of your feedback, our pest control provider was able to come in and solve the problem quickly and efficiently. We appreciate your time and hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Suburban Extended Stay Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Roaches everywhere! Was nice other than the roaches! Stayed here before, & had no bugs, but this time they were crawling all over! Yikes! Scared to go to sleep. :-( I guess you get what you pay for. I didn't want to spend a fortune for staying a few hours. :/ But maybe I should have.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Hi Cindy1259,

Thank you for your review. We were very disappointed to hear about the inconvenience that you experienced on this particular visit. Thank you for speaking with our Front Desk Manager about your stay and for accepting our sincerely apologies. We take pest concerns very seriously, so we appreciate you bringing this to our attention so that we could resolve the problem immediately. Thanks again for your time. We appreciate it and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Suburban Extended Stay Florence Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My Son and I travel frequently for business to Florence and stay here. Spent a couple of weeks here last spring as well as other times years past. There is very visible security officers about the premises which makes me rest easy, the desk staff is great and the rooms are clean with good amenities. The price is great! We often stay for up to a week and there is a restaurant on premises as well as a McDonald's and a couple others close by. We'll be headed back the 2nd week of January and always know we'll get a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: If you are going to be there for a several days or longer the kitchenette rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1traveleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

1traveleer,

Thank you very much for sharing such positive feedback about your recent experience at the Suburban Extended Stay Hotel in Florence, South Carolina. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms, our unique amenities and the restaurants located on site and nearby. We cannot thank you enough for recommending our hotel to fellow travelers and we look forward to seeing you again during the second week of January!

Sincerely,
Suburban Extended Stay Florence Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Florence
Econo Lodge Florence
#28 of 41 in Florence
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Florence
Super 8 Florence
#23 of 41 in Florence
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center
6.3 mi away
Florence Inns & Suites
Florence Inns & Suites
#25 of 41 in Florence
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Hotel

Address: 1914 W Lucas St, I-95 & Us 52, Florence, SC 29501-1232
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £35 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Extended Stay Florence
Extended Stay Florence
Florence Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing