We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ridiculous Road Noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
south carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ridiculous Road Noise”
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Just needed a place to get a "good nights sleep"....shouldn't have stopped here, because the road noise was ridiculous!! I think I have slept better in downtown New York City. Trucks were wizzing by all night long and there was no way to filter out the noise...When you pay over $100.00/night for a hotel room...I expect a decent sleep environment...don't stop here!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trexaiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    64
    17
    9
    15
See reviews for
64
40
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed here for 1 night while traveling. It was okay but not great.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jananddec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I don't travel or make online hotel reservations often and will be extremely careful next time I do. My family and I are traveling to MD and VA. I made an online hotel reservation at Holiday Inn E&S in Florence, SC on 7/18/2010 before our travels because I wanted to be assured a clean, comfortable room during our travels. This hotel seemed like a very nice place. Since then, our plans have changed and we will not be able to stay at the hotel. I called the hotel on 7/22/2010 to cancel my reservation for 7/30/2010. Much to my surprise I was informed that I could cancel my reservation but would still be charged $114 because I made reservations online for a non-refundable advanced purchase. WHAT? Where was that fine print or how could I have overlooked something as important as that? I talked to the Manager, Angie Barrentine, to see if she would please credit my account the amount they charged me but she refused and did nothing to help. I called Holiday Inn Guest Services and filed a complaint and will be writing a letter to Corporate and the Owner (franchise) to express my disapproval of their policy. I feel like I have been ripped off. I called way in advance to cancel so why should I have to pay for a service I am not going to utilize. If they wanted they could reimburse me but as Ms. Barrentine said, "If I do it for you I have to do it for everyone". I guess this happens all the time and they are making out on this on-line advanced reservation When I asked for the name of the General Manager, Angie refused to give me the name of the general manager and said she was it. SCAM! BEWARE TO YOU ALL!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
92 Thank lindamwarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for your review-
I do apologize again for the confusion in the ADVANCE PURCHASE rate that you booked. IHG has had the ADVANCE PURCHASE rate ever since I have worked with them (2003) and it has not changed in the past 8 years it has always been a rate you purchase when you book the reservation and there are no cancellations- if you do cancel your payment is nonrefundable.
The exact wording of the rate description online is "Take advantage of special savings when you book early. This rate is nonrefundable, requires full prepayment, and is charged to your credit card between time of booking and day of arrival. "
I do apologize again for this matter, and did offer to change your date of arrival but you declined.
Angela Barrentine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Off I-95 at exit 170, the hotel is nice, comfy, full free breakfast and room has all the extras you'd expect from Holiday Inn. I found it quiet, staff was very nice and professional and overall a pleasant experience. If you want to eat out or shop, you have to drive south about 9 miles for the Mall. I found it just a bit pricey for the budget traveler but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBA-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice VA
Level Contributor
220 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

So glad we finally found a decent motel along I-95. The last few, right off the expressway, have been pretty rough. This motel was about 1/2 mile off 95-20 so there was no traffic noise or congestion. Had young kids with us and didn't want to have to go back out for dinner. The ladies at the front desk provided me with info on 2 pizza places that delivered. The pool was fine and there was an outside patio. The room itself was small but clean w/good quality bedding and towels. Breakfast was adequate w/healthy choices and good coffee. I'll stay here again - an excellent 1/2 way spot between central Virginia and Jacksonville FL.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2RiceVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We were on our way to Savannah, GA and just got too sleepy to continue on. This HIE was right off I-95. We checked in a 1am and front desk was friendly. Our room was awesome! and the bed slept so comfy.
Breakfast was very good and had a little of everything. Nice stopping place at exit 170 if passing thru.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanwinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

I had to stay with my girls one night at some hotel,since we had a two day conference at the Florence Civic Center ,so I check some reviews from this hotel and others,since the other hotels had a lot of bad experiences and this had many good ones,well I decided for this one...for our surprise it was very neat ,just like the photos,I checked everything and it was very clean and smell very nice and fresh( since the room attendent did a very good job I left her a tip,try to do that people becouse they work very hard),the hallways were very clean and smell nice also...the indoor pool was smaller then I thought but it was nice and clean,the breakfast area was great and so was the hot breakfast...the only bad thing was that in the middle of the night other guest were slamming their doors or making noise and wake me up,but beside that every thing was great! I think I'll be staying in this hotel next time.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmaMyrtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
6.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Florence
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Florence I-95 & I-20 Civic Ctr
6.0 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#1 of 41 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Florence
Comfort Suites Florence
#11 of 41 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
9.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Florence
6.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327
Address: 2101 Florence Harllee Blvd, Florence, SC 29506-8245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence South Carolina.This premiere hotel is superbly located in the suburbs of Florence, SC, away from the hustle and bustle for a great night sleep but just minutes to Florence Regional Airport, area businesses, restaurants, attractions and shopping.A Great Business Location! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is well located to fine companies such as Peterbilt, DuPont, Smurfit-Stone Container, Crenlo, H. J. Heinz, Beneteau, FedEx, Roche Carolina, NuCor Steel, Koppers Industries, ABB, Maytag, IFH, Iron Mountain, Wellmans, Pee Dee Electric Cooperative, SteelFab, Johnson Controls, Pepsi, Blanchard Machinery and many others. The hotel offers the select services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our four-story, interior corridor hotel boasts 86 guest rooms & suites. Attention to detail provides the warmth and comfort of personalized service . . . for every guest, time after time. Packed with amenities! We offer the amenities and services needed to make your stay productive and enjoyable such as our heated indoor pool, complimentary 24 hr. business center with high speed Internet access, guest laundry, on-site fitness center, and meeting facilities but our finest attribute is our friendly staff. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Florence i-95 @ Hwy 327
Holiday Inn Florence
Holiday Inn Express Florence
Florence Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing