We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Florence
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

On Friday, August 16, 2013, me and my family of 5 (2 adults, 3 children, ages 7 & twins age 16) stayed at this hotel for a one night stay on our way to a Carnival Cruise in Charleston, South Carolina, and this was a good stop for us on the way, travelling from Virginia in the early evening, and because the Hotel has all Suites, it has room to fit a large family. The neighborhood feels safe to visit.

We were in Room 218. This Hotel appears certainly new and modern in its decor, it is a very pretty place, not elegant but has a "modern new age" appeal in its decor. The place was very clean and comfortable in its environment, clean bathroom and good shower, a mini kitchen area with a microwave and mini refrigerator and small cabinets, and two closets to store your clothing, with iron & board & hair dryer, work desk and chair, and only one big flat screen TV that can rotate to the sitting area or the bed room area. The Hotel has a free complimentary breakfast, which was very nice, clean, and tasty, with some hot items (eggs, bacon, potatoes, hot cereal, blueberry waffles), served from 6:30am - 9:00am (very early), so if you plan to have the breakfast you have to be up early to receive it or it is cleaned up and put away on time and you miss out. The Hotel also has a very small mini market to purchase snacks.

I would have given this Hotel an "excellent" rating over just a "good" one, but our sofa bed in our room was dirty when we pulled it out to use, not just the mattress itself was spotted with lots of stains, but also a dirty cover on it that had blood stains, the sofa bed mattress was not in good condition (you can feel the wires), but the sofa looked like it was fairly new. Good thing that we came prepared with a foam mattress cover which certainly helped to make the sleep better for my son. We arrived late in the evening and it seems like they don't have much staff on duty at this Hotel when we were there, only one lady was on duty for check in, as well as hospitality, and in fact the same lady was there in the morning for breakfast and check out. The one lady on duty appeared to be doing most everything, except there was other staff for breakfast. Due to the fact that they don't appear to have a lot of staff, when we needed room service to have the mattress cover on the sofa changed because of the blood stains we found on it, there was nobody around to answer the phone, so we had to take the blood stained mattress cover to the front desk. When we arrived at the front desk to get the cover exchanged, we had to wait for a long time (15 minutes) because no one was at the desk during that moment. When the lady did arrive back at the front desk she was very kind and apologetic about the mattress cover and the waiting.

Also, the room is nicely laid out but the beds are very small, (between the size of a twin and a full, it really looks like a bed for only one person, although it is said to fit two). We did sleep as two in each, but it was a tight fit for sleeping that way, no room to toss and turn for certain.

Other than the 2 issues I mention here, the Hotel is very nice, and was basically very clean, and the staff in the morning (breakfast and hospitality that had come in later), were very friendly to all customers).

The Hotel has a small indoor pool, and a small fitness room, and a self laundry room. The elevators were big and clean, and there are two of them that seemed to work very well and were never a long wait. I took some photos of the Hotel so be sure to see them. We did enjoy our overnight stay at this Hotel and we would stay here again if in the area, and we would also recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Better to have a floor that is not located on the ground floor because of traffic to the pool and br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeoniaNeveu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Great stayover.beds were super comfortable,rooms are clean and the staff were friendly.breakfast wasn't the best.that could be improved but everything else was perfect.I would stay here again.that did a great job designing this hotel.you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A great stop on our way to Myrtle Beach. We stayed for one night. The rooms were clean and updated, the beds were comfortable, the free breakfast in the morning was good, and the front desk and breakfast staff were excellent. Even the pull out was a decent sleep. We had 2 king rooms and asked for connecting room. My only issue was in getting the connecting rooms. We reserved online and requested connecting rooms, when we didn't have on arrival, but the front desk staff was able to correct. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7trose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay along hwy 95. It was clean and the staff was very nice. The room was updated and very clean. My only complaint was you could hear in the early morning a lot if the water running in the pipes...but definitely not a deal breaker. The breakfast in the morning was very nice. It was impeccably maintained by super friendly staff. Really was impressed. Great overnight stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcfrequentflyer36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stopped here for one night on our way to Hilton Head. Our room was ready and the front desk person was excellent. The room was as expected and plenty big for the four of us. Beds were comfy and my daughter said the pull out couch was as well.

Pool was fun with a much welcomed hot tub after a long day of driving. Breakfast was good and we were on our way!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I made the reservation on my iPhone while driving in with the family from Washington DC. 15 minutes after making the reservation, I called the property around 11:15 pm to ask them if they would please make up the sleeper sofa, because my kids were tired and would want to go right to sleep. The front desk clerk didn't bat an eye and told me she would make sure it was taken care of.

We got to the hotel just after midnight and checked right in. Apparently the hotel just completed a major remodeling and has gone non-smoking. The front desk clerk asked us to initial a form, stating that we would not smoke in the room. This was a first for me, but welcome since we don't smoke. We also asked for a bottle of water before we went up to the room and instead of getting one out of the pantry and billing it to our room, the clerk went to their kitchen and brought a free one out to us. We really appreciated the water and the clerk's generosity.

We went up to the room, which was very clean, complete with a made up sleeper sofa. The indoor pool near the lobby called to my children! After a good night's sleep, we enjoyed the hot breakfast downstairs and hit the road again.

This is a nice, well maintained Springhill Suites. Lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance in a good neighborhood. Excellent staff. If you're in Florence for business or pleasure, this was an excellent value and a quality stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Not only is the Springhill Suites in Florence beautifully maintained, clean as a whistle, and convenient to the highway...it is also blissfully quiet and relaxing. Although in proximity to I-95 with an easy on/easy off location, it is totally out of earshot of any traffic noise, so very easy to get a sound night's sleep!

While another guest complained about the room layout, I found it to be excellent. Kitchenette/sitting area is largely separated from the sleeping area, allowing one person to go to bed early and the other to stay awake and read or compute.

Charges are a bit steep considering that this hotel is in a small town, but other than that, I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MarkWeinberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Florence
Courtyard Florence
#3 of 41 in Florence
459 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#1 of 41 in Florence
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Florence
TownePlace Suites Florence
#10 of 41 in Florence
181 reviews
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Florence
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Florence
Residence Inn Florence
#9 of 41 in Florence
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Florence

Address: 2670 Hospitality Blvd, Florence, SC 29501-7808
Region: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#7 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £99 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Florence 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SpringHill Suites Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing