We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WHAT A DUMP”

Motel 6 Florence Historic Downtown
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Florence Historic Downtown
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“WHAT A DUMP”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

mold and dust on furniture, bed spreads, curtains and chairs stained and dirty, safety lock broken and sharp, cigarette butts in non smoking room, water would not turn off in bathroom, pills in the parking lot, ironing board looks like Goodwill reject, pool was green slime, wifi didn't work, air conditioner ran but did not cool the room, there was a fight in the parking lot at 2 am and when I called the desk nobody answered (and remember the safety lock was broken). The sheets were clean but nothing in the rest of the room was. The bathroom light needed to be turned on from the sleeping area, switches in the bathroom did not work, light bulbs were missing from the lights, the smoke detector back was there but not the front part of it (maybe because of the restaurant being burned down that was a way to stop the noise. I tried to find another room but because this was a major event weekend nothing was available, when I asked about moving they had nothing else available. I almost think sleeping in the car would have been a better experience!

Room Tip: Stay away from this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    7
    2
    1
    22
See reviews for
9
4
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Being stranded in Florence due to RV problems, the manager at the garage recommended the Country Hearth Inn as it was the closest and also pet friendly (we have a cat).

When we arrived, the first thing we saw was the burned out shell of a restaurant adjacent to the hotel and on the same property. Shamika, the front clerk was very pleasant and helpful. That is the best thing I can say about our experience.

Taken from their current website "this South Carolina hotel features a daily hot breakfast and free WIFI". The breakfast restaurant was the one that had burned down (October/2013). Apparently it had closed in July of 2013. The WIFI never worked. I was told that they had problems with it since they started renovating.
"Guests of the Country Hearth Inn can take a refreshing dip in the outdoor pool". I realize it was March, but the pool water was a disgusting green and had things floating in it.
"Rooms are simply decorated and equipped with cable TV". Simply decorated means stained furniture and torn bedspreads. Also, half the TV channels were unavailable - the major networks, CBS, NBC, not premium channels.

We had arrived about 4:30 pm and apparently there were only three rooms made up. We were given room 145. It was a cold day and when we tried the heater, it barely worked. After an hour, the room was still cold. I then went into the bathroom. The tub was horrendous! The surface was worn and dirty, the flooring was warped. The entire bathroom was disgusting.

We went back to the from desk and were given another room, 235. This was marginally better. At least the heater worked. The bed was clean. I had to phone the garage to give them our contact information. The phone was filthy. The floor between the bed and night table had something on it - possibly paint chips. The hand basin needed replacing.

We ate at Maryland Fried Chicken across the street. The waitress told us to make sure our doors were locked and that we SHOULD be okay. Comforting words.

We stayed there because we were stranded and didn't know the icy at all.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank erica3363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

great barrington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stumbled into Florence, SC and stayed at Florence Hotel and we consider it a find! the rooms are newly decorated in great colors and spotless. Nice amenities in the bathrooms. Our room was cold, we arrived in the middle of the snow/ice storm in Jan. and they immediately transferred to another room. Having a good bar and restaurant downstairs, in the lobby, was a real plus since the roads were icy. (Which, of course, hardly ever happens in SC). The service at front desk was excellent, staff could not have been more helpful. Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be quiet. 2nd floor rooms have immediate access to a nice business center and gym...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel this past spring and enjoyed my stay, The service was friendly, the room was clean and had everything I needed. The price was reasonable and I had a very good nights sleep. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby F, General Manager at Motel 6 Florence Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your review of Country Hearth Inn - Florence. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very excited with all the changes that are now going on at our property. We have recently been purchased by a company out of Savannah, GA. and are starting major renovations throughout the entire facility. When you come our way again, hope you will plan to stay with us and see all the improvements being done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batesburg, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Please do not waste your money staying here. The rooms are filthy and falling apart. They advertise free wifi which they do not have. My wife and I stayed here only because I booked online and could not get a refund. They had a sign in the lobby that says 10% off meal with hotel ticket to the resturant next door which I soon found out to be more false advertising when we to get breakfast we were told no that is only for non hotel guest. The tub was rusty and nasty. We went and bought cleaning supplies to clean room just to make it liveable for two days. I will never stay here again

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby F, General Manager at Motel 6 Florence Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Michael - I apologize for the experience you had our Country Hearth Inn - Florence. As of Dec. 31, 2013 we are under new ownership, our home office being located in Savannah, GA. We are in the beginning stages of a total remodel of the motel which we are very excited about. If you are planning a trip to our area in the coming months, I invite you to come & give us a try. I can guarantee your experience will be totally different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I had a very nice stay at the hotel. The room was clean, very comfortable and had everything I needed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food at Horne's Country Buffet, which is part of the property, was very good, with many choices and very plentiful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailorgirl142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is my second time stay in this hotel, the staff is very friendly and helpful and this time the room is much better than 2 years ago. The food in the restaurant is good and tasty with very reasonable price. I can tell that the new owner worked very hard to make improvements and still work in progress, but the price is right so I will come back next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2nd_visit_customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
3.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center
1.1 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#1 of 41 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florence
3.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Florence
3.8 mi away
Affordable Suites Florence
Affordable Suites Florence
#20 of 41 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Florence Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Florence Historic Downtown

Property: Motel 6 Florence Historic Downtown
Address: 831 S Irby Street, Florence, SC 29501 (Formerly Country Hearth Inn Florence Hotel)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Florence Historic Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Florence Historic Downtown is located minutes from fine dining and attractions such as Francis Marion University, Florence Motor Speedway and the Darlington Raceway. Enjoy micro-fridge units and free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Florence Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing