We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop over on the way to Florida”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Florence I-95 & I-20 Civic Ctr
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Hotel room was clean. We had a suite which included a pull-out sofa and (2) queen size beds, which were very comfortable. Little fridge came in handy to store our beverages overnight. The only problem was the vent was noisy. The breakfast in the morning was adequate, nothing special but it was conveinent, especially that we wanted to get on the road early. Front desk was pleasant. All-in-all it was good and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigi615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

If you choose this hotel, you won't regret it, even if you decide to spend more than one night here. Everyone was friendly. Rooms were very clean. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovepuntacana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed here for the second time recently. We had stayed here about six months ago and we were pleased with the property. We were making another trip so we decided to stay here again. The trouble began at check in. When we check in, we were given a room directly across from the indoor swimming pool. I asked for another room but was told that the entire hotel was filled so that wasn't possible. I found that hard to believe since we checked in at 5 pm and the parking lot was mostly empty!

We went to dinner and then I took my kids for an evening swim in the pool. There was a large group of kids staying at the hotel and they were some kind of sports team. My kids wanted to leave the pool because the other kids were very rowdy. Yelling and screaming, pushing and shoving, no parents paid any attention to the wild behavior of these children. They were too busy drinking on the adjacent outdoor patio. When I had my kids showered and in bed by around 8:30 we still had to listen to the the noise from the pool. There was no sound insulation between the hallway and our room. We'd been up since 5 am and I had driven all day long. I was tired and so were my kids. We wanted to go to sleep but that was impossible! I don't blame the hotel for the kids' poor behavior. However, the hotel security should have asked the kids to quiet down. Eventually at 10 pm, when the pool closed the security come out and told the kids to leave the pool area. I had hoped that it would quiet down then but a large group of adults then stood outside our door in the hallway and had a long (and loud) conversation. I tried to call the front desk to see if they could ask the group in the hallway to move somewhere else. I called 4 times over almost an hour and had a busy signal every time I called. Eventually I went out into the hallway in my pajamas and asked the group to move, which they did. But if the group, who had been drinking, had gotten angry, I am not sure what I would have done!

In the morning I went to the front desk to complain about the room and the noise. I was told that I should have stayed at a different hotel when I found out that the only room they had for us was across from the pool. That wasn't possible though since I had a pre-paid reservation with a 72 hour cancellation clause. I was told that the manager was not in the building and that I could call him the following week if I was upset. They did eventually refund a small portion of the amount we paid for the room. I left feeling angry that I was not treated with any respect when I brought a problem to the attention of the front desk. They had a poor attitude towards customer service. I expected better, especially since we had stayed here before and been very happy with the hotel.
I was tired all day long and had a hard time staying awake while I was driving. I felt like the hotel put my family at risk.

This is the last time we will stay in this hotel. There are plenty of other hotels nearby and we will try one of them next time. We make frequent north/south trips along I95 and this hotel has lost a good customer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dianemom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChadPatterson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Florence I-95 & I-20 Civic Ctr, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

I really appreciate you taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent stay. I want to personally apologize for the frustration you experienced while here at the hotel. I can assure you the hotel was full when you arrived, as most of the teams were at their ball game. Therefore, there was no other room to move you to at the time of your arrival.
We want our guests to be comfortable and satisfied above everything else. I am sorry if this was not your experience. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were.
Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns. We hope you will stay with us again so we can demonstrate our comitment to your comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Great location & staff. Was there with 4 softball teams, ages 7-14. Hard to keep that many kids quiet, but the hotel worked very well with everyone. Would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weaverbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way to Florida. Check-in went smoothly, rooms were very nice and clean and comfortable. Breakfast was awesome even had the new pancake maker.

I was not acknowledged as a priority club member and had to ask for my check-in bag but I think the clerk was new and learning, she seemed confused.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a hotel 1/2 way to Florida! Easy on/off from I95.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scrapbooker_in_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChadPatterson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Florence I-95 & I-20 Civic Ctr, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

Thank you for staying with us! I am glad to see that your stay was excellent. We try to ensure that all of our guests have a stay as wonderful as yours. I am sorry about the Priority Club confusion at check-in. I can assure you that we value EACH of our Priority Club Members! We do have a couple of new people on our desk... and I can assure you that on your next visit, there will be no confusion! Again, thank you for choosing our hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We spent a night here on our way to St. Augustine, Fl. The hotel rooms were very clean and comfortable. A must stay for anyone driving between MD and FL.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Nice clean hotel a little off I-95. Room was clean and comfortable. The TV was a flat screen with lots of HD channels. The breakfast was free, plentiful and good - it was more than a continental with hot food such as sausage and eggs. I would have preferred to spend less than $100 for the night but it wasn't much more and the breakfast made up for it. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogersVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Florence
4.5 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#1 of 41 in Florence
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Florence
Courtyard Florence
#3 of 41 in Florence
469 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Florence
Comfort Suites Florence
#13 of 41 in Florence
457 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Florence I-95 & I-20 Civic Ctr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Florence I-95 & I-20 Civic Ctr

Address: 3440 W Radio Dr, Florence, SC 29501-7812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#6 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £91 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Florence I-95 & I-20 Civic Ctr 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the difference at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Florence, SC! Location! Located in the heart of Florence, we are surrounded by many great restaurants and shopping such as the Magnolia Mall, Commons Place Shopping Mall, Outback Steakhouse, Olive Garden, Longhorn Steakhouse, and Chili's. Also, right next door, is the Swampfox Cinema and the Florence Civic Center. Centrally located between Florida and New York as well as a short drive to the Carolina's biggest cities: Charleston, Columbia, Myrtle Beach, Charlotte, and Raleigh. Packed with special amenities such as 37' flat screen HDTVs in all rooms, complimentary high-speed Internet access, indoor heated pool and hot tub w/patio for some R&R, free deluxe Continental breakfast, microwave/ fridge in all rooms and a host of others. Our staff prides itself on the warmest hospitality promise and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Florence I-95 & I-20 Civic Ctr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Florence Civic Center @ i-95
Holiday Inn Express Florence
Holiday Inn Florence
Florence Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing