We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shouldn't be listed as "Fairfield Inn"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed at this "motel quality" Fairfield Inn on March 14th. Will not again. We checked in late and front desk staff was very help full and she was very friendly.
We trusted the name so didn't read any reviews.
Marriott shouldn't have listed this under their umbrella!!!

Our family was very disappointed!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Shan-Mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ffi_flofi_gm, General Manager at Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Shankar R,
Please let me apologize for your recent stay at the Fairfield Inn Florence. Our hotel is one of the few "Original" Fairfield Inn's still in operation. Our brand has gone through some changes in the last 26 years. The Fairfield Inn Florence was recently purchased by new owners that are committed to improving the experience of all of our guests. We hope that the next time you travel through Florence you'll give us another chance to serve you.

Cordially,
Lee Kelly
General Manager
Fairfield Inn Florence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stay in over 100 Marriott properties per year (Platinum member) and really feel duped that I relied on the "seal of approval" in regards to this property. It is slightly above a Super 8/Motel 6 and accordingly is way over-priced. I should've checked the reviews, but typically with the Marriott name attached, you can feel somewhat comfortable that certain standards in cleanliness, etc are met. This place truly is a dump...for $100+/night!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hagaphus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ffi_flofi_gm, General Manager at Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Hagaphus,
Thank you for taking the time to report your opinions of the Fairfield Inn Florence.
This hotel is one of the few remaining "Origianal" design Fairfield Inns still in operation.
There have been a lot of design changes to the brand in the last 26 years.
Our hotel has been purchased by new owners that are committed to improving the comndition and amenities of the hotel.

I hope the next time you travel through Florence you'll give us another chance to serve you.

Cordially.
Lee Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I am a Marriott Platinum elite member so I stay in Marriotts quite often. This hotel appears to be an older property bought and renovated by Marriott. Ice machine on 2nd and 3rd floors was broken. Rooms are clean but basic, as expected for a Fairfield. 1st and 2nd floor rooms are outside entry which is extremely rare for any Marriott property, I was able to get an inside entry 3rd floor room upgrade because of my rewards status. I will give the hotel credit though and mention that their front desk staff is extremely upbeat and friendly, even at 11:30pm when I had no prior reservation. I would suggest this hotel if looking for a quick stop on a road trip to catch a couple of hours of sleep, but not for an extended visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmbbg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ffi_flofi_gm, General Manager at Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear mmbbg17.

Thank you for taking the time to post your feelings about the Fairfield Inn Florence. This is one of the few remaining "Original" Fairfield Inn designs that is still in operation. Twenty-five years ago this is what a Fairfield Inn would have looked like. Of course like most things our hotel brand has changed a lot since then.
This hotel has recently been purchased by new owners that are committed to improving our guests experiences. and our property.
We hope that the next time you travel through Florence you'll give us another chance to serve you.

Cordially,

Lee Kelly
General Manager
Fairfield Inn Florence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very old style hotel. Rooms very clean but many amenities old and not very functional. Toilet didn't work properly. Drain came off in tub. Heat and appliances noisy. Electric plug kept breaking the circuit with hair dryer.

Room Tip: Request 3rd floor for indoor hallway. Old hotel with outside access to rooms and outside elevator...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ffi_flofi_gm, General Manager at Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Carl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about the hotel.
Please fell free to contact me at the hotel at your convenience.
I would really like to know which room you stayed in so that I can have our maintenance staff repair the issues that you mentioned.

I also hope that the next time you travel through Florence that you'll give us another chance to serve you.

Cordially,

Lee Kelly
General Manager
Fairfield Inn Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Having stayed at various Marriott brand hotels, this is the first one that disappointed me for the following reasons: room smelled like cigarette smoke, heating unit was very noisy, room did not pass the Queen's white glove inspection, common areas were not clean (i.e. trash, empty soda bottles lying around, etc.), elevator was on outside of building which makes for a very cold trip to the breakfast room in the morning. Next time I'm passing through Florence, I will likely head over to the Hilton.

Room Tip: Try the Hilton!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KingAtlanticCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ffi_flofi_gm, General Manager at Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Fairfield Inn Florence.
The issues that you mentioned concerning the cleanliness and the heating unit are being addressed. I hope that the next time you travel through Florence you'll give us another chance to earn your business.

Lee Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We booked this room for overnight 3-4 January 2014, and paid Expedia for it. When our Visa monthly bill arrived, we found that personnel at Fairfield Inn Florence, SC had separately charged us for the same facility. We brought this to their attention in two separate phone calls, giving all details, codes, file numbers, etc., requesting that the equivalent credit be restored to our card, and they are giving us the runaround, not having made satisfaction as yet. We do not recommend this place in addition because of negligent housekeeping, inoperative TV remote, and tiny room size. Parking lot has sign at about every 6 spaces reading "User assumes all risks," which is not too reassuring concerning their own security (if they have any). Someone on the desk calls 5 minutes after occupancy asking if everything is OK, when we have not yet discovered any shortcomings. Then, at 1:30 a. m., the alarm, with volume turned to the max goes off. We had not set any alarm, and housekeeping should have seen that it was turned OFF before the next "guest" arrived.

Room Tip: Check a reputable source of reviews, such as Trip Advisor, and be sure to note where the motel ranks...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We picked this hotel because it is on I95, is part of Marriott , and because they accept dogs but it was the worst place I have stayed in many years. I should have read the TA reviews more carefully. It doesn't look so bad when you pull in, but the lobby is small and the first thing you see is a sign saying the wifi was broken. There is one crummy elevator and then an OUTSIDE walkway to the room. The only good thing I can say about the room is that the carpet looked fairly new, although it was really ugly. The walls were badly cracked, the furniture was shabby, the bathroom was tiny and old looking. The tub/shower had an old fiberglass liner and the sink was in the room in an alcove. The room had a musty smell and the heating unit didn't work properly. You could not adjust the heat, which was hot, but the only alternative was to turn it off altogether. The curtains didn't fully cover the window and there was traffic noise from the highway next to the hotel. Marriott should definitely take its name off this place. It is an embarrassment to the brand. And they charged $35 for our 10 pound dog, so it didn't even turn out to be a cheap rate considering the location. Don't stay here!

Room Tip: The first and second floor rooms have doors that open directly to the parking lot.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank NewYorkTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center
3.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
3.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#24 of 41 in Florence
195 reviews
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Florence
Econo Lodge Florence
#28 of 41 in Florence
209 reviews
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center

Address: 140 Dunbarton Dr, Florence, SC 29501-1991 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Florence)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £44 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Florence Hotel Florence
Fairfield Florence
Florence Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing