We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms”
Review of Super 8 Florence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Florence
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Saint John, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rooms”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a great place to stay on your way to and back from Florida from the north. Easy off and on to the freeway. You have to be aware, that the motel is behind another building out of site, and you may miss it from the road. We have stayed there many times on our trips to the south. It makes for a short day for your last day on the road, if you are headed to the Orlando area. Great breakfast. Waffles. Good selection. Only two concerns. The unit(125), that we stayed in, the carpet was very sticky. Be sure you wear your shoes, or slippers. Second, dining area wayyyyyy tooooo small. We were there at 6am, and had to stand to eat. Reception and eating area, need to be expanded for the travelers....Lots of eating places within walking distance and fueling stations.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the bottom floor, and be there early. If not, you might have to carry your lugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    103
    77
    48
    31
See reviews for
129
97
51
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I did not like the check in system, I understand security is an issue but how about a buzzer system rather than standing in a hallway and talking through the glass. The price was a little too high. The room smelled of smoke. The blanket on the bed was so thin, it was see through. The shower was stained, as was the shower curtain. The sink outside was a nice, clean area though.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessup, MD
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2012

For the price - you can't beat this one. The room was spotless and the linnens were just as clean. Quiet for the busy location- had a great nights sleep. Terrific waffles at the continental breakfast. They need to have a small refrig for the butter and milk. Only complaint and this not a big deal - if you're 6 fot 3 or more, the toilet seat is a long way down, and worse if you have bad knees. Don't pass this one up.

Room Tip: For the money, It just don't get much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I know you might be saying, this is just a Super 8, but it is a decent hotel with a good staff. We stop at this hotel every time we go up and down RT 95, which is about 6 or 8 times a year. Each time we have been very happy with the room, even though you can hear the noises from outside, it has always been clean and well equipped. Each room has a small refrigerator, and microwave. They have replaced all of the room air conditioners with new units that are quieter.
In the morning they have a breakfast bar from 6am - 9am with cook your own waffles, fresh fruit, cereal, juice and coffee and much more. The staff is very friendly and willing to help in every way. Give them a try.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktravels07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pfafftown, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We had checked in and my son was sitting in his car listening to music when a man, a woman and their large dog (like Old Yeller) approached his car to tell him he was in their parking space. My son apologized, moved his car and remained in his car. They walked over to his car, circled it a couple of times when the man said, "I know what you're doing here. You might as well give it up. I'm giving you 3 minutes to get off this property." My son tried to explained to him that he had no clue who he was or what he was talking about, that he lived in another state." Long story short, my son called the police, so they went into their room which was directly below ours, giving my son time to report them to the office and to come back and tell me what happened. He said the desk clerk appeared indifferent and told my son not to start any trouble on his property and that these people stayed there often. I had told him to asked for another room on ground level on the other side of the motel but the clerk sucked his teeth and was not going to comply until his co-worker intervened, because we had "messed up" the first room, requiring maid service before he could rent it again. The couple and their dog left before the police came, but we did get their plate number for the police. The motel personel never, ever checked on us or asked if all was well following the incident. On another note: I used Clorox wipes to clean the phone, desk, etc. because the room was dirty. A light bulb in both rooms were dead. The wall outlet was not secured, so it fell off when I plugged in my phone charger. The toilet handle was hanging out of the tank, so we had to push it in to flush the toilet. The room smelled like urination. The towel rack was hanging at a 90 degree angle off the wall. I kept expecting the towels to slide off into the toilet. LOL. Oh, we refused maid service to sleep in so when my son went later to get fresh towels, he met with nasty attitude. Total waste of money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pannfelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We stayed in this motel for 5 days on a golfing vacation. The room had a minifridge and microwave, and a comfortable bed. The heating and AC worked fine and the room was clean. The breakfast had hot and cold cereal, bagels,toast, and a working wafflemaker.
They could have had a minfridge for the milk in the breakfast area. We would definitely stay here again as it satisfied all our needs.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 42golf56_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

After traveling for hours, we checked in at around 11:30 pm. We asked for a room w/2 double bed, we ended up in a room at the back of the hotel. This is truly a prostiution ring. Not worth bringing your children to. You could hear women in high heels walking up and down the stairs, vehicles pulling in and out, knocking on hotel rooms upstairs and downstairs. So much activity, it's literally dangerous. Not worth your money for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank famof4ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8FlorenceSC, Owner at Super 8 Florence, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
As the owner of this property I can confirm that this is and has not been an issue at our hotel. We have no similar complaints at the property, through our Super 8 customer care or on JD Powers, where we are ranked as a consistent A level hotel.

We regret any circumstances that may have led to this misconception.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
#24 of 41 in Florence
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Florence
Econo Lodge Florence
#30 of 41 in Florence
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Florence Center
Ramada Florence Center
#26 of 41 in Florence
518 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#23 of 41 in Florence
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#17 of 41 in Florence
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Florence

Property: Super 8 Florence
Address: 1832 1/2 W Lucas St, I-95 Exit 164 Behind Shell & Huddle House, Florence, SC 29501-1230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Florence 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Super Eight
Florence Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing